Customer Reviews Of:
Giesswein of Austria Ammern Slippers - Boiled Wool (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Giesswein's Ammern slippers literally surround your feet in temperature-regulating, ultra-soft boiled wool for the toasty, comfortable experience your feet crave.

Average Rating based on 29 reviews 4.620689 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mew5280 from Denver on Monday, December 24, 2012
    I've had these a couple of weeks. I first ordered the size 36 which is the normal European size I wear in other brands but it felt too small so I returned them for the 37 which is much better. My normal US shoe size is 7 medium.

    I love boiled wool slippers over any other material for it's durability, comfort and warmth. I love the rubber soles on these so I can run outside if needed. The arch support is amazing as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by B-Love from Columbus OH on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    Very well made. I don't expect an arch in a slipper, so that was a plus---I have very high arches. I was also impressed with the seam in the upper part. The two pieces were fitted together and sewn without a raised seam that could rub against your foot. I am impressed and pleased with the purchase.

    Those from colder climes may want to purchase a size larger, to accomodate a pair of socks, as these do not have backs. As it is, they are perfect for Ohio winters.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kitty Cat from NYC on Thursday, November 22, 2012
    Order came quickly - slippers were well packed with intersting information about wool.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cold feet from sacramento, ca on Thursday, November 22, 2012
    I love these! Very warm--my feet are always cold but these are great. Good support. They stretched considerably so they're a little schlepier now than when right out of the box. Soles are quite thin--these are not indoor/outdoor. Haven't washed them yet but am glad I can since I wear them a ton.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Suzy from Westrn Massachusetts on Monday, November 19, 2012
    Love these!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Indies from Seattle on Saturday, November 10, 2012
    Great slippers and useful sole.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Soft
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JG from Western Washington on Wednesday, November 7, 2012
    They are a nice boiled wool, but run a bit small with too much arch support for a slipper. It was almost painful. They went back.
    • Cons: Too Much Arch Support, Uncomfortable
    • Pros: Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by S from Lake Limerick, Shelton, WA on Sunday, October 28, 2012
    When they first arrived, they felt 1/2 size too small, tight. Next size up was not available. Decided to keep. After wearing, they now fit perfect. Glad I kept them.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Cute, Durable Sole, Quiet, Soft, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PerfectCircle from Seattle, WA on Friday, October 26, 2012
    This is my third pair of Giesswein slippers. The other two pairs are still in use; I just like to be able to rotate between multiple pairs now that winter is here and I live in them when I'm at home. They breathe and always feel wonderful and welcoming when I slip them on. Sierra TP has them at amazing prices.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cute, Durable Sole, Quiet, Soft, Warm, Warm But Not Roasting
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Professor from Northfield, MN on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    Not at all stylish, but very comfortable and just about right for wearing in the house during mud and snow seasons here in Minnesota. I wouldn't mind a thicker sole or even more arch support, but these are definitely several notches above regular, flimsy slippers.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable Sole, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Starfire2453 from Upstate New York on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
    I want more styles of this brand slipper! These are the best ever!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Cute, Durable Sole, Quiet, Soft, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by RockyMtnGal from Colorado on Wednesday, October 17, 2012
    These are fabulous! I ordered the Giesswein Inns Deer Cabin slippers for myself using a discount code and ended up buying another pair at regular STP price, as well as ordering two pairs each of this style for my husband and son -- 6 pairs of Giesswein slippers altogether. The design is attractive, the deep blue color is tasteful, the arch support is amazing, and I could go on. I am SO glad that I ordered multiples of each style, but these look and feel like they're made to last. No more made-in-China slippers for us!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Durable Sole, Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by SRT from Pittsburgh, PA on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    Most comfortable slippers I've ever worn. I don't want to take them off! I wear an 8.5 and the size 39 is perfect.
    • Best Uses: Comfort, Home
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold Feet from NY on Wednesday, December 29, 2010
    Great indoor slipper. Sole has a thin rubber covering so only quick trips to the mail box. Excellent support for a wool slipper. Comfy and snug - no slipping.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by country girl from helvetia , oregon on Wednesday, October 27, 2010
    These are durable enough to wear outside , and I may do so in warm dry weather , but they are so nice I want them to last , so I will stick to indoor use to avoid washing . The carmine shade is not colorfast . I have a wide foot and these slippers fit me perfectly .. a snug and comfortable cradle for my feet . I like that there is no thick fleecy lining as those tend to wear thin quickly . These are plenty warm and soft with just wool and I especially like the rubber soul- I mean , sole!! Clearly the company takes pride in their products. Glad I bought two pair .
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging, Warm Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Durable Sole, Easy wash, Hold the foot well, Natural materials, Quiet, Removeable insole, Soft, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kris from MD on Thursday, October 21, 2010
    I have had a pair of these slippers in the past that lasted 4 years of daily use 9 months a year before splitting at the seams. These new ones are terrific and just like my old pair. I wear a 6.5 and bought the European size that translates to 6/6.5. They were slightly snug the first wearing but mold well to your feet and have been perfect since then.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Pros: Comfortable, Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dora the dot from Los Angeles CA on Thursday, October 21, 2010
    Very nice and warm ,Giesswein is around for a long time i had slippers when i was a kid years ago.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Home
    • Pros: Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by outlier from sonoma county on Monday, October 18, 2010
    I've never been one to wear slippers and have always worn wool socks w/clogs around the house, but these Giessweins are such an improvement! They're the first thing on in the morning, and almost the last thing off at night. And no, I don't wear them all day, but I've stopped wearing outdoor shoes inside now and wear my new slippers instead.
    Note to self: Buy a second pair.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Greeneyes from St Louis, MO on Thursday, October 14, 2010
    I have been a boiled wool slipper addict for about twenty years, since first trying them in Europe. These Giessweins are very good. The sole is indoor only, but has a thick layer of non-skid material, more than just the little dots you sometimes see. I got the cherry red color, which is beautiful. I've found it best with this style of slipper to aim for a snug fit on purchase, because they stretch out a fair bit in the first weeks of wear.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Cons: Sole Wears Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cute, Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mountainfrog from Redmond, OR on Tuesday, October 12, 2010
    Bought these as a gift for my mother inlaw for x-mas. However, the slippers are narrow and may be too small. Still a great buy and may have to go to someone with a smaller foot.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Cons: Runs Small
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cute, Quiet, Soft, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chitown from Chicago, IL on Tuesday, October 12, 2010
    These are a little snug, but I expect that they'll stretch as I wear them. They are super cute, warm, and comfy.
    • Best Uses: Home, Lounging
    • Pros: Cute, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boots from Yorktown, VA on Tuesday, October 12, 2010
    After a short break-in period, you will never want to take these off. Awesome arch support and they mold to your feet. Hands down the best slipper my mom and GF have ever worn. Must be the wool but they are warm without making your feet sweat. They are washable and can be worn outside. Mom and GF both wear 8 1/2. I went with EUR 40. They fit perfect. An absolute steal at half price. Wish they had men's sizes. I had to pay full price for mine from a diff store and I would/will pay twice that when/if these ever wear out. BTW, mom is 82 yrs old and is never happy with anything on her feet. These are the ONLY exception. Buy a pair if STP ever gets anymore. You owe it to yourself.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging, Outdoors, Warm Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Quiet, Soft, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maggie from Arlington, va on Saturday, October 2, 2010
    Arch support feels a little stiff but I am getting used to it, and I need it, being flat-footed and spending a of of time in the house lounging in slippers. Nice and warm without being too warm as sheepskin slippers can be. A bit utalitarian looking.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Cons: Not very cute
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Durable Sole, Quiet, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cold feet from portland, OR on Friday, October 1, 2010
    These slippers are fantastic and are almost identical to other high-end boiled wool slippers. they have a coating on the sole (unlike the other brand) so you can go out and get the paper without getting them all wet. best part is, they're less than half the price of the other brand. thanks stp! I'm ready for the next 6 months of cold wood floors this winter!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable Sole, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Practical person from Worcester, MA on Friday, October 1, 2010
    Good value
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Cons: Runs Small
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Durable Sole, Quiet, Soft, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Beth from Wisconsin on Monday, September 27, 2010
    Warm house slippers. They look pretty good, too. Red color is pretty.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Home
    • Describe Yourself: Style Driven
    • Pros: Comfortable, Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RJ from Supeior, WI on Saturday, September 25, 2010
    Good looking, very comfortable. Some stretch which allows me to wear them with or without socks.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Lounging
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cute, Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kla from Terrebonne, OR on Tuesday, September 21, 2010
    I wear these slippers around the house. They slippers are quiet on our wood floors, they are comfortable, and can be worn for short trips outside.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable Sole, Quiet, Soft, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Martha Able from NY NY on Saturday, August 7, 2010
    Comfortable slippers ;
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Comfort, Home, Outdoors
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort Driven
    • Pros: Arch Support, Comfortable, Durable Sole, Quiet, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by: