Giesswein is an Austrian company specializing in traditionally styled European slippers, jackets and sweaters. Characteristically found in Tyrolean textiles, boiled wool is the fabric of choice for Giesswein slippers and jackets. Giesswein slippers and jackets are beautifully designed and made from softly felted boiled wool – natural, healthy, breathable, washable, warm in winter and cool in summer. Since 1954, Giesswein of Austria has established a tradition of meticulous quality, hard work, and respect for nature, a sentiment borne out by a ... Learn more about Giessweinlongstanding devotion to environmentally responsible production. ... Less
Average Rating based on 73 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 73 reviews
  • Reviewed by Please Pen from Wisconsin on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    My elderly mother loves these. The boiled wool adapts well to her arthritic feet. They fit nicely around her ankles and won't fall off like so many slippers. I feel good knowing she has a reliable and safe pair of slippers. They are great as everyday house shoes. I mean EVERY day. We couldn't be more pleased.
  • Reviewed by quasicon from CO on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    I really wanted these but the 38 was just too big for my size 7. Unfortunately I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by RuralGrl from San Francisco on Friday, March 07, 2014
    These are fantastic! As another reviewer mentioned, the ankle cinch keeps them from falling off when you use the stairs (and I'm always running), they're very warm, and the arch support is substantial. The soles are rather thin, however. I do need more cushion underfoot, and the removable insole allows me to add a gel insert underneath. Now they're perfect! In German-sizing slippers I normally wear a 35 or 36, and I tried these in a 36 but I had to exchange for a 37. Am now wearing these in the house every day and am very happy with them.
  • Reviewed by Anne from Massachusetts on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    My 5-star rating really reflects them with the modification I made - I changed out the supplied insoles for fuzzy insoles from the foot-care section of my local store. Obviously some like the included insole, but as I always wear slippers without socks the suede surface felt clammy underfoot; also, after wearing them for a while, I found the arch support was just a little too THERE, in places my feet would prefer no contact.

    With fuzz underneath and soft wool over the tops, these are like wearing super warm & comfy socks that also have tread & work when I have to run outside for a minute.

    I had some old Giesswein slippers, like these but with a knitted cuff, in size 39, my usual size. 38 was the largest in stock at STP when I bought, and it seemed my 39s had extra room, so I got them. At first I wasn't sure - I felt my big toe was going to poke through - but they did stretch just enough to fit perfectly, not too tight but with no slop so they don't move on my foot when I walk. They couldn't be better! (Well unless they came in red like my old ones.)
  • Reviewed by The squirrel girl from California on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    I liked them at first, until i spent a day wearing them around the house. They're cute, the insoles are superb BUT....the upper wool portion is very scratchy over time. They may be ok if you're wearing them over leggings or jeans where there is a barrier in between skin and sock but without it you may get a rash. I have non-sensitive skin, and virtually nothing irritates my skin, but these did after a few hours and my legs were red all the next day.
  • Reviewed by Lynn from Oregon on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    I received these slippers and they're the best! They are warm without being hot, and the drawstring keeps them on snugly. I can run up and down stairs without them coming off. These are worth every penny. I'll never buy another cheap slip on slipper.
  • Reviewed by Happy feet in CA from CA on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    Perfect- warm, right on size, easy to put on and take off, at unbelievable price! Keep my feet toasty warm in an unheated room in California.Thanks!
  • Reviewed by NH woman from New Hampshire on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    Warm, fit well, good arch support, nice grippy sole but not TOO grippy. I also like the pull tabs on top to adjust the fit. They look great, too!
  • Reviewed by Borrego Badlands from Altadena, CA on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    These Austrian (not China!) -made "Lodge Slippers" are high quality and make perfectly good street shoes with full sole that can be worn anywhere you might where UGG-style boots. These lovely wool-upper boots belong outside a Lodge. I've rec'd many compliments on these charcoal wool boots walking around S. California in the "winter." The toe box on this boot is not pointed, but shaped naturally, and wide enough that no toes get pinched. The wool is soft and stays up if tied below the knee over jeans or leggings. It can be scrunched down, as fashion dictates.The soles are non-slip and there's an inner arch support that I find comfortable, but I believe can be removed if it is not needed. Grab a pair of these boots while still available. Great price and incomparable comfort and in current style, too. Beware, though, the hanging pom-poms look great, but will attract attention from playful cats!
  • Reviewed by STP Shopper from Ohio on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    These wonderful slippers deserve five stars, but they were much too big for me. I bought size 36, supposedly size 5-5.5, but the slippers came off my heels with every step I took. (They are not available in size 35 or I would have bought them.) The inside of the shoe is plastic and gives good support. I recommend these for someone else, and can say they are substantial slippers rather than merely slip-on slippers.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 73 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;