• Gloverall Reviews

Gloverall 4.159926 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 19
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Monday, February 10, 2014
    I was so impressed with this jacket! It is well made and absolutely beautiful! I wanted a navy one and, when it arrived, it was too big. I had to return it and buy a red one instead because there weren't any smaller sizes left in the navy but the jacket is so beautiful I had to buy the red one (admittedly I don't wear bright colors so this will be a stretch for me). I just love the jacket so much I had to have it!
  • Reviewed by Anonymous from Syracuse,NY on Friday, February 7, 2014
    My 16 year old pea coat bit the dust and so I ordered this Gloverall pea coat. I simply LOVE it. Fits perfectly- looks good-
    plan to wear it for the next 16 years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Spud LaRue from Skagit Valley, WA on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    I love this coat! It's warm and comfortable, with lots of room for winter wear underneath. A tremendous value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Massachusetts on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    The wool is a nice quality and the coat is lined
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Parridge from Kentucky on Friday, January 4, 2013
    I have bought two of these for my daughter and she likes it immemsely. Sizing seems to be a problem. This time around the coat was missized as far as the tags went. The tag in the coat said one size, the tag added to the label said another. Had to send it back because it was way too big.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BIG DADDDY from WEST HAVEN CT on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    the coat arrived loose in a box.it was covered with human hair and feathers.customer service was good.accepted return w\o complaint or fees.i was told it never should have been sent in that condition.the rep was apologetic and came across as concerned.if i had not been a customer for many years and have bought many products w\o a problem i would never buy another item ST.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by YukonDavid from Yukon on Monday, October 29, 2012
    returned
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JML from Pittsburgh, PA on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
    Go down one or two sizes. Shoulders are still large, sleeves are short. For example, I wear a 40-42 coat, but the 38 fits. Sleeves are the right length for my 33" sleeves, but will be short for many others. Interior lining poorly sized in arms (too long, and will have to be tacked). Excellent fabric, though.
    • Best Uses: Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jean from Baltimore, MD on Monday, January 2, 2012
    The coat length is longer than I expected but that is ok. The sleeves are long but the upper sleeve can be tight.
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Reviewed by martha may from Grand Rapids, MI on Sunday, January 1, 2012
    I expected much more from Gloverall, def. not the high end side of them I'm used to. Disappointed, wish it was an actual gloverall quality.
    • Cons: Cheap Buttons, Poor Quality
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by robby from lakewood, ca on Wednesday, December 28, 2011
    This was a gift for my girlfriend. She is on the shorter side. As it was recommended in product overview, I ordered one size smaller. I was happy to find this pea coat that's made in England. She loves it.. and has been wearing it everyday since I gave to her.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cheryl from Mobile, AL on Wednesday, December 21, 2011
    My daughter loved it. She didn't want to take it off.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by flyfisherman from Austin Tx & Hastings UK on Sunday, December 18, 2011
    British clothes for British bod, 5'7" 44 chest, perfect fit, room for a bulky sweater beneath. Other's have had issues with this coat, can only say, buy your culture, this is mine and I am delighted as it is true in every regard:
    classic style, fabric and fit. Daughter 5'6" thinner than I has worn these for
    decades (women's version) & finds her new one from Sierra perfect as always.
    Again, buy the brand that fits your bod and Gloverall fits ours.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pennymarie from Montana on Thursday, December 8, 2011
    I was disappointed in the fact that the right pocket lining was ripped.

    I
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deb from Portland, Maine on Thursday, October 20, 2011
    I wish that Sierra Trading post had sent the size I ordered. They sent a coat two sizes smaller than I ordered. Unfortunately, my size is now out of stock. It was a nice coat. Good color, weight and style. As others mentioned, you probably want to change the buttons.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Cheap Buttons
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Nice Color, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Great Laker from Michigan on Monday, June 27, 2011
    The fabric on this peacoat was soft, substantial, and of high quality. Unfortunately, poor tailoring pretty much ruined the product as the body was too large and the sleeves were too short. My wife told me it made me look like I gained a lot of weight. Very unflattering for what one would expect to be a stylish coat. Also, the lining was not smooth for easy on/off. My old British-made by Tibbett peacoat (also purchased from STP) was unbelievably well made but is now wearing out. STP: How about some more wool coats from Tibbett?
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Andy the Great Laker from Michigan on Saturday, June 18, 2011
    This wool/blend peacoat has a nice hand; unfortunately, that isn't worth much if the tailoring is so far off. The body is huge but the sleeves are short. It's a shame to spoil what could have been a fine quality garment with shoddy workmanship and poor quality control. I have an older British-made peacoat (made by Tibbett and purchased through STP)and the tailoring and quality of the wool are perfect. This Gloverall product proves that all British-made coats are not of equal quality.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Nice Color
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big wave dave from Rhode Island on Monday, May 16, 2011
    Was expecting a fabric similar to a pea coat, which this was, in part replacing. The coat has a softer hand, a more supple drape and a general "fleece"ier quality to it. This may have led some of the reviewers to describe it as thin or flimsy. I disagree. The weave is tight. Ordered it during spring, but confident that it will perform as expected and hoped for: as a blanket with some shape and some sleeves. It is not performance, "I'm gonna climb up a mountain and then ski down it" wear. It IS " I live in a town that gets cold and I want sometime long enough and warm enough and good looking enough to get around in that town" wear. It works for a public transportation commute, a holiday party, or standing around somewhere cold, like a February cookout or some mid-winter outdoor theater.
    Also, the cranberry is redder than pictured.
    Gripes? The wife could have gone for a zipper.
    Sizing notes: my wife is heavy chested, and somewhat broad shouldered. Alot of coats that are not cut JUST RIGHT end up looking a bit like a church bell on the bottom half or entirely shapeless. This is not a tailored coat, but it manages to hang in way that presents itself and the wearer in a straightfoward, not trying to hard, and therefore not failing kinda way.
    The hood is adjustable and seems functional, but when tightened down, it does look either cute or silly, depending on your mood.
    Would give it 5 stars if the hood was either detachable or more elegant.
    If the hood was detachable or worked a bit better, it give 5 stars.
    • Best Uses: Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Nice Color, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jay from bedminster on Friday, April 22, 2011
    gloverall is a well made coat. i was very dissappointed to send it back. i am a 42 in american sizes. it appears i might be a 44 in english sizes. the sleeves were a bit short.
    i don't know if that should be the case. i would love to try a 44 in that color and length.
    so IF YOU CAN FIND ONE IN 44, or IF YOU THINK I SHOULD GIVE THE 42 ANOTHER SHOT.
    i really want one. and i rather pay your prices, even if it isn't as cheap as the one your were selling. i know i can go right to gloverall but i appreciate how service driven you are.
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather, Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Extremely well made, Good Cut, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sister Rita Francis from Oak Brook IL on Friday, April 22, 2011
    Replacing a Gloverall duffle I've had for a long time. This doesn't measure up to my old one.
    • Cons: Not Warm, Poor Quality
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by plevee from Oregon on Tuesday, April 19, 2011
    Nice duffle but on my last high end duffel the hems were invisible and there were sleeve flaps with toggles. This has stitched through hems and no sleeve details.Still a nice duffle and good value but I miss the details.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Contumacious curmudgeon from Guelph, ON on Thursday, March 17, 2011
    No heft[...] No zipper. Enough said.
    • Best Uses: Warm summer nights
    • Cons: No Zipper, Not Warm, Summer wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Looked good, Minimal storage space, Super lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EP from Andover, MA. on Monday, March 7, 2011
    Classic coat that is adaptable to casual or more dressy occasions. It is some what large in the shoulders which is more in keeping with the European design
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mactigger from Grand Rapids, MI on Sunday, February 27, 2011
    Wish I could have kept it, but it didn't fit my body type. Usually wear an 8p or 10p. The 8 was too long in the sleeves and broad in the shoulders, and started to feel snug across the hips. Almost like how a man's coat fits. If you can wear it, it will never go out of style as it is classic, classy, well made and feels like cashmere, even though it's only wool.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Boxy Cut, Poor Fit, sleeves too long
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Classic style, Feels like cashmere, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm, well made
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DebKNY from Chicago, IL on Tuesday, February 22, 2011
    I had been wanting a duffel coat for a few years, and finally remembered to order one in August, when it was too hot to try it on. I love this coat and look forward to wearing it for many years to come. I can wear it day and night, and it never seems out of style.

    That being said, there are a few things that I think would make this coat superior:
    - Lining in the arms, so sweaters don't get caught;
    - An inside zipped breast pocket for cel phone, wallet etc.;
    - Better leather toggles. The horn buttons are nice, but the leather is just downright cheap.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Cheap Leather ties
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by White Birch from Baltimore, MD on Monday, February 7, 2011
    Overall I was disappointed. The material was much thinner than I expected and the buttons were unacceptable. Also, the hips were cut too tight.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Cheap Buttons, Poor Fit, Thin material
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Nice Color
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Disappointed from Cape Cod, MA on Saturday, February 5, 2011
    This duffel coat is not the classic Gloverall quality but is light and flimsy. British sailors would have frozen if their coats were this light!
    • Cons: Extremely thin cloth, Not Warm, Poor Quality
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by worldtrotter from Spain on Friday, January 28, 2011
    Great garment for this winter
    • Best Uses: Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Cheap Buttons
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nan the golfer from Bryson City, NC on Friday, January 21, 2011
    This coat is warm without being too bulky. It looks great on and is well made.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Special Occasions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CC from PA on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
    The fabric seemed a bit light weight.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 19
;