GoLite Tara Lite Trail Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Inspired by the Tarahumara tribes of Mexico who run longs distances in thong sandals, GoLite's Tara Lite trail running shoes fuse signature BareTech® technology and an aggressively lugged with a sleek hydrophobic upper and a unique internal thong post for lateral stability.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Reviewed by river from calif on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
    thats it......is light...looks like designed to wear without socks....i sent it back
  • Reviewed by Skibird from Cold mn on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    Having burned my feet my left foot didn't fit well
  • Reviewed by cassvilleokie from Missouri on Monday, January 27, 2014
    Have a major injury to one of my legs, usually it hurts just to walk. With these shoes absolutely no pain at all, walked all over the volcanoes in Hawaii, on the beaches, all over Pearl Harbor and no pain what so ever. I would recommend these shoes to everyone. Just took about a day to get used to the thong then awesome.
  • Reviewed by TJK from Wyoming on Friday, December 13, 2013
    I have been running for nearly 30 years and these are one of the best shoes I have used over that period of time. I do not mind the thong at all and have a pretty good cache of the funny socks to accompany them, though I wear them in summer sometimes without socks. Actually I wear these shoes most of the time; running, sports, hunting or just as regular shoes and my feet have benefitted from their fit. The winter real cold and snow is the only thing to force me out of them and into boots.
    Good for wide feet, and/or those with foot problems (bunions, etc). I run on all surfaces with them but they work best off pavement.
    People actually give positive comments on the sweet look of my shoes. I don't care about that, they just work for me.
  • Reviewed by Jon from Michigan on Monday, July 22, 2013
    I was expecting a much, muh lighter shoe than these actually are. I thought they would be minamilist style, but they are far from it. They actually feel heavier than a standard running shoe. In addition, the "flip-flop" style strap (internal thong post for lateral stability) that geos between the big toe and second toe is extremely ackward. The only socks that you will ever be able to wear with these are the ackward socks that are provided. I would strongly recommend against buying this shoe.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aptrail from Philadelphia, PA on Thursday, June 21, 2012
    I have run in my Tara lites on fairly technical single track trail, including rocks, roots, mud, hills. Except for the loose fit, I really like them. I have noted mixed reviews about the thong construction. While I do not like flip-flops, I have found these very comfortable. I use toe socks with them and have found that combination to be very comfortable. I just ordered another pair, 1/2 size smaller.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Trail Running
    • Cons: Loose fitting, Thong design is weird
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy on and off, Good Traction, Great sole, Great Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Efishant from Chicago on Thursday, April 05, 2012
    The toe divider inside requires that you wear their split toe socks. This was easy to get used to but ya gotta buy more socks if ya wanna wear them a lot!
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: All Weather Conditions
    • Cons: Toe divider inside
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Good Traction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Sashitos from New York on Friday, March 09, 2012
    Really awful shoes.
    1. The split toe thing: unless you are a flip flop junkie you are going to hate the split toe part.
    2. Split toe shoes requires split toe socks (prepare for 10-15 bucks a pair)
    3. Shoes actually came with socks !!! nice surprise in the box but shoe size 8.5 socks were size 5 (useless)

    The tie on the back (heel )is useless too as it doesn't make the heel part tighter. (as it should ) there is no difference between open tie (velcro) or closed (pulled to max). The main tie goes through the split toe. So to make shoes fit tight you need to put extra stress right between your toes. So the only way not to have pressure between toes (split part) is no have them loose. very uncomfortable to run in loose shoes.
    Now running in them was out of question. So wore them to the gym (3- hour martial arts class) My feet never sweat like that before. I felt that shoes were full of water. It;s amazing that breathability of these is close to zero. It's like wearing rubber shoes.

    After 2 weeks I still could not get used to them and stopped wearing them completely.
    Bottom line: Good idea, Great Design, but very poor engineering.

    Why 2 stars not 1? if you love thongs and have wide feet and wide heels, and would not have pressure between toes when tied, and do not mind sweaty feet. And already own bunch of split toe socks.... You'll be OK with them
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Cons: Poor Stability, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by toganet from Buffalo, NY on Thursday, March 08, 2012
    I bought these looking for something that tended toward the "barefoot" end of the spectrum, but that did not give me "gorilla feet." The presence of the thong running through the shoe was the wildcard -- I had no idea how I would react to that. I only wear flip flops once in a while and find them hard to move quickly in. Once I had these shoes on my fears disappeared. The thong is actually a brilliant way of adding stability to the shoe without adding bulk and mechanical restriction. Now my foot is more responsible for its own stability, which gives me a greater feeling of control and a feeling of "connectedness" with the shoe.

    This shoe does fit a little large -- I had to order a half size down -- and there is not much adjustment in the velcro straps. (I find the heel to be a little too large for my narrow heel). Also, the thong requires you to either be barefoot or to wear tabi or toe socks. (GoLite kindly provides one pair of tabi socks). If I were to wear these barefoot i might go a full size down from my regular running shoe size, YMMV.

    Overall I love this shoe and will probably order it in black if I can find it somewhere. I get lots of comments on it, and they are comfortable to wear all day long. I haven't done any real distances run-wise, but I can tell they they will help me in transitioning to a mid-foot strike without forcing it. Already I feel muscles in my feet being worked that had been getting off easy.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Road Running, Walking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snowbound from DC on Tuesday, February 21, 2012
    Fairly lightweight slip on trail runner with good tread for off road running. BUT, be aware that this shoe uses a thong between your big toe and the next just like flip flops or the Tarahumara Indian sandals. If you have not heard of the Tarahumara or this running approach, pick up the book, "Born to Run," by Christopher McDougall. I would strongly suggest you try on a pair and run a bit in them to make sure they're for you. Also, a great pack item for emergencies when heavier hiking gear breaks down.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: All Weather Conditions, Mixed Terrain, Trail Running
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable, Good Arch Support, Good Traction, Lightweight, Rugged
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.