Goodhew Carlsbad Socks - Merino Wool, Lightweight (For Men)

2nds, barely perceptible blemishes. Carlsbad lightweight socks from Goodhew might look like they're made for the office, but natural merino wool brings a load of performance features along with it. It's a temperature-controlling, odor- and moisture-resistant fiber that's perfectly suited for any season and activity.

Average Rating based on 79 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 79 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by frankns from frankns on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    These seem like winners. Close to the SmartWool socks, but possibly a little more fabric, a little higher quality. If you haven't tried merino wool socks, this would be a good place to start.
  • Reviewed by Charlie the woodcutter from Wisconsin on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    Very poor socks, if you're going to wear shoes! They ride down into your shoe, disappointing.
  • Reviewed by popbop from worldwide on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    I ordered these socks thinking they were wool dress socks.I was a bit surprised when I got them at the thicker bottom that tends to get fuzzy in comparison to the smoother cleaner texture of the rest of the sock. As a dress sock, this wasn't what I expected. However, as a dual-purpose hiking/dess sock, this extra thickness and padding on the bottom (the ad refers to "arch support band") tuned out to be a nice feature.

    I've owned thin merino wool socks by a top-tier brand that quickly wore through with holes at pressure points in my feet. I welcome the thicker layer of material at the bottom of this sock and hope that it will provide longer life in comparison.

    I've been wearing them a great deal for the last week to try them out and so far I'm please with them. I can't really speak to cold weather performance as it doesn't get all that cold down here in Florida.

    I like my gear to serve multiple purposes. And, I can see this sock doing double duty as a dress sock and light hiking sock. Cold weather can be accommodated with my wool or nylon sock liner. IN short, I don't' feel the need to carry another of socks in my pack simply for hiking -- which I don't do a lot of anyway, unless you consider walking everywhere in Tokyo hiking.
  • Reviewed by Doro from Illinois on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    Great socks, easy to get on, fit really well, and feel good. I'm female, and wear feminine clothing, but in the winter men's socks are perfect with
    slacks, and with boots. I buy them for my grown sons AND for myself.
  • Reviewed by Rockpick from Kentucky on Wednesday, February 12, 2014
    I've worn these three or four times now and consider them an excellent quality sock. They're well constructed and live up to the Goodhew name. My only gripe - keeping them from a 5-star rating - was because I have lots of trouble keeping these socks up. They want to bunch and don't seem to have the elasticity needed to stay up on my ankle/calf.

    Overall though, I'd buy again.... couldn't begin to find a blemish on my pairs.
  • Reviewed by momof5 from South Bend on Sunday, January 05, 2014
    Good sock. Works for work! Doesn't wash as well as smartwool though.
  • Reviewed by Abigail from Washington on Thursday, January 02, 2014
    These are great socks - beautiful wool
  • Reviewed by Washingtonian from Washington state on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    As others reported, these run very small. Sent them back for larger size. Nice, good quality socks.
  • Reviewed by Comfort Carl from Pittsburgh, PA. on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    These made in the U.S.A. socks come highly recommended. They are tightly woven enough to stay in place on your leg, without binding your circulation. Since my feet perspire, I need the type of moisture management that this merino wool (72%) sock provides. The foot bed, heel and toe are cushioned so in our home I can walk without shoes or slippers, which I feel helps with more foot ventilation. The company, (Goodhew), says you can turn the sox inside out to machine wash in warm water. I would still let them air dry versus, putting them in the dryer, because of the Stretch Nylon(21%) and the Spandex(7%). For winter weather use these are a keeper.
  • Reviewed by old grey hiker from Texas on Monday, December 23, 2013
    I've purchased several pairs of these socks, and they're excellent: comfortable and long-lasting. I've worn them to the office and for hikes in the woods, in warm humid weather and on cold, snowy days: they're comfortable in every situation.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 8 »
  • 1-10 of 79 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.