Goodhew Expedition Socks - Merino Wool, Over-the-Calf (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Your quest for cozy comfort and coverage ends here with Goodhew's Expedition socks, featuring moisture-wicking, breathable merino wool in an over-the-calf height.

Average Rating based on 55 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 55 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ackkat from maritime northeast on Monday, October 6, 2014
    Good stretch for high wool content with that cozy wicking terry-like weave inside the foot. Not baggy in toe or heel at all for a unisex sock. I am a woman, shoe size 9 and bought the recommended size. I need very cozy wool socks in the winter of different weights for different purposes and footwear. These will be the ones for hiking boots and clogs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PW Runner from New York on Wednesday, September 24, 2014
    Can't wait to try them out in my ski boots or just my boots for getting around the snow. They are thick and warm and fluffy. Happy with this purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Iceage46 from Indiana on Thursday, April 17, 2014
    The size M/L was a little big for me (size 9 F) But they shrunk in dryer and fit well now.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by swampmama from New England on Saturday, April 12, 2014
    Bought these for my husband for skiing and other outdoor winter activity. They're warm and reasonably thick, though he wishes they were a little thicker. They're as advertised, though, and very good winter socks.
  • Reviewed by Abuelita 84115 from Utah on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    Nice & warm.
  • Reviewed by Short distance runner from Idaho on Sunday, February 9, 2014
    I have worn these on many dog walks, down hill and cross country skiing.So far has held up well and nice and warm. Nice thick socks.
  • Reviewed by tphnurse from Morrisville, PA on Friday, January 24, 2014
    These are super thick, super soft and cushiony and cozy warm. All I expected! Great to wear in all my boots that I bought a size bigger so I could wear cushy socks!!!
  • Reviewed by NorthCascadesMan from Washington on Monday, January 20, 2014
    These are good socks. Ordered another pair after using 2 older pairs for a couple years now in my mountaineering boots. They have held up well to serious abuse and are just as good as the Smartwool Mountaineering socks. The L/XL fits my size 11.5/12 feet well.
  • Reviewed by Frank Kalich from Lawrence Kansas on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    Wish I had bought more, which I will if they get back in stock. I have merino wool socks which are labeled midweight that are pretty heavy. However these are heavier than those, but it is not like they are slippers or anything, I think anyone could wear them in their boot provided the boots, I am a solid 12 in a boot (I have some 13 boots as well) and these are fine in my size 12 boots. The quality seems good. I have bought some socks in the past that are low quality, even though merino wool. Cheap ones, you get what you pay for when you get the real cheap ones. But these are definitely good quality. Get some more quality heavy weight socks STP! I guess they are hard to find on closeout, but give it your best try, as you see, they sell out quickly.
  • Reviewed by Tug Hill Adventures from Montague, NY on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    Great socks for snowmobiling. My wife loves the over-the-calf protection.
  • Reviewed by James from Kansas on Friday, January 10, 2014
    Heavy weight merino wool socks. Great for cold weather hiking inside boots. Great price.
  • Reviewed by Niagara Birder from Lake Ontario, NY on Friday, January 10, 2014
    Gave these a try and I am very satisfied. Heavy weight, real substance, but not overly bulky. I usually change socks daily, and
    yesterdays socks seem flat in the morning, but not these. They are still warm and cushioned. Over calf is a little short, but elastic is broad enough not to constrict leg--no problems. I have hopes that the heel will not wear out but time will tell. You need enough room in your boots, but I am about as happy with these as I could be, and the price was good too.
  • Reviewed by Sal from WI on Tuesday, January 7, 2014
    Exactly what I was looking for! Thick, soft sock. Perfect for skiing and snowshoeing. Love them!
  • Reviewed by CTcoldweatherluvr from NW CT on Monday, January 6, 2014
    These were a gift for someone and he is very happy with them!
  • Reviewed by The Hiking Pawn Man from Springfield Mo on Friday, January 3, 2014
    These socks are very nice and fit well. They are very warm, in fact maybe even too warm just for everyday wear around town. But on long walks they are the right choice on cold days.
  • Reviewed by Susan O. from Maryland on Friday, January 3, 2014
    I get these for my son who goes to school in Massechusetts. He now has 3 pair and loves them. They wear well and really keep the cold out.
  • Reviewed by Wine Will from Gold Country, CA on Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    Thick weave - not for ski boots, but cozy and comfy for snow boots, etc.
  • Reviewed by Shoe Lover from New York on Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    Perfect for general wear as well as for hiking. Thick enough as a cushion but not overly thick that it binds in the shoe.
  • Reviewed by Kenyon Polartec Power Stretch for Women from Michigan on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    Very warm and comfortable! Washes great.
  • Reviewed by RidgeRunner from Knoxville, TN on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    NIce thick warm sock and wool. What more can you say. Excellent.
  • Reviewed by Paleogirl from Florida on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    I sent these and several other pairs of warm socks to my Sister and Brother-in-law when the cold snap came through. the temperatures had dipped to 30 below in Eastern Oregon, which is unprecedented. Both spend quite a bit of time outside caring for livestock, yet did not have nice wool socks. I wear wool all year around - light in the summer, heavier in the winter. There is just no beating them. So, according to my family, these socks worked well, helping to keep their feet warm at 0 and even -10.
  • Reviewed by Prashant from Mumbai,India on Monday, December 23, 2013
    Ordered the expedition socks for an upcoming winter trek to Himalayas
    The fit is perfect and will easily accommodate 1/2 liners

    I have tried the socks with hiking shoes Asolo Neutron and it's comfortable.
    I am giving 4/5 not because it lacks anything specific but can upgrade once I am done with the expedition in Jan :-)

    Cheers!
  • Reviewed by NamMedic 7071 from Pennsylvania on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    Just a nice heavyweight merino wool sock .. and made in the U.S.A. !!
  • Reviewed by TCKinFC from Virginia on Sunday, October 13, 2013
    These socks are so soft and warm, I didn't want to take them off. Love them!!
  • Reviewed by H-Dog from Howard, Colorado on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    These are stretchy, cushy, and big enough for my size 13 wide feet. They are a very thick sock which is what I was looking for.
  • Reviewed by JB from Hayward Wi. on Wednesday, June 19, 2013
    I am a dog walker,and consider myself an all weather operation. These socks will really help, and I own other Goodhew products and am happy to get them while in stock...
  • Reviewed by doc34 from ptown on Friday, May 17, 2013
    These have been durable and well sewn. Very pleased.
  • Reviewed by Cold Oct til May from North Carolina on Tuesday, April 9, 2013
    Wool still rules. These socks have no problems.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by elkhunter from Cannon Beach, O on Monday, February 25, 2013
    I am hard on my feet and need the extra cushion some claim to be heavy and are thin these are thick, need more.
  • Reviewed by Mo from Napa, CA on Tuesday, February 5, 2013
    I have been purchasing a wide variety of wool socks from STP for a long time. These are just a little better than average to me. They are ok, but not top of the line, like smartwool.
    So I expected these to be a little cheaper. They are just a tad smaller than I expected for 'XL' size. (12-14 M) but they fit me fine, as I am 12-1/2mens US. If I was a 14 these would be too tight.
    I would only recommend these to a friend if they where cheaper.
    I have gotten better wool socks from STP for this price range. But these will work, if it's all you can get.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 55 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.