Grandoe Arctic Down Mittens - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Grandoe's Arctic down mittens have a sheepskin leather palm and a Dri-Gard® waterproof breathable membrane for exceptional warmth without overheating.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by OutdoorsInStyle from Southeastern Pennsylvania on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    So many winter clothing items are designed for active use, such as skiing, running, etc., but it's difficult to find items that will keep you warm enough when standing/sitting still for long periods, such as watching outdoor sporting events (football games) or standing on a street corner for 2 hrs every morning as a crossing guard (my situation). These mittens are so warm that if temps go above freezing, my hands start feeling slightly sweaty! On more frigid mornings (we've been down to 19F recently), they are just perfect, with only my thumb feeling a bit cold near the end of my shift. One morning I wore those thin, stretchy knit gloves inside these mittens for extra warmth, but it seemed to backfire - fingers stay warmer when in direct contact with each other. The palm grip is wonderful, almost sticky. As a woman with a 7-inch measurement around my knuckles, the men's Small fits nicely with enough room to keep my thumb in the main compartment if needed on colder days. Highly recommended!
  • Reviewed by EllenM from Connecticut on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I am a woman who bought the men's mittens so I can put a heat pak in them. They are only a little big on me, and I have average-to-small size hands for a woman; the mittens are made in China, and I think they use Chinese men as models (I've found this problem with other apparel). The mittens feel cozy .and look well constructed and insulated, but I haven't worn them outside yet, which is why I reserved the fifth star (not really accuate, but I don't want to mislead anybody who just looks at the stars).
  • Reviewed by Bill from Pennsylvania on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    Used during March trip to Katahdin in Baxter State Park. Probably not enough for above tree line travel but very nice for the trudge/ski in to camp in cold conditions, seemed to be sized smaller, order larger to accommodate liners or light wool mittens, works well with an external breathable shell to extend protection. Did not test in wet conditions nor was camping. Was fairly pleased with the performance, nice to also get them at a good sale price.
  • Reviewed by Colorado homeowner from Colorado on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    We received these mittens before our last snowfall so my husband was able to use them then. They kept his hands warm, which is quite a feat! Since the temperature was not below 15 degrees and we don't know how they'll do when it is even colder, I gave a four-star and not the full five-star rating. We have hopes they will perform great at colder temps.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wattage from Rochester NY on Saturday, January 12, 2013
    Warm and comfortable but we've gone through a warming trend since I got them so I have not had too much opportunity to wear them
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Milestogo from Tucson, AZ on Friday, January 11, 2013
    Have really cold fingers (Raynaud's Syndrome)and these mittens, with the addition of chemical hand warmers, are the only ones so far that keep me comfortable. They are big and pretty bulky and look a bit like boxing gloves. I use them when winter hiking-I imagine that those without my problem would save them for skiing or outdoor sports in extreme temperatures. They make my hands too clumsy to drive-wouldn't recommend them for that. But if you need warmth in cold temperatures, these will so well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dr Bushwack from Southern Vermont on Thursday, January 10, 2013
    Great for long backcountry skiing and cold Alpine days when trapped at a lift served area
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dpbroc from minneapolis MN on Friday, January 04, 2013
    I had hoped this was all down, but it seems warm enough at -15 while walking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sjbeem from Centennial, CO on Saturday, December 15, 2012
    I purchased these mittens for my 20 year old son who suffers from Raynaud's Syndrome. We tried gloves but, his fingers were still getting numb and cold. He takes a bus several times a week to get to work, and in Colorado in the winter, you need something warm. These are perfect. I went with down mittens because they are typically warmer than synthetic gloves and I believe these to be worth every penny. He has not had any symptoms of Raynaud's in these mittens and some of the mornings have been really cold!! Excellent purchase, I could not be more pleased.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by snowshoe guide from CO on Sunday, March 11, 2012
    Used the gloves when snowshoeing and they kept my hands warm
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.