Grandoe Makalu Gore-Tex® Mittens - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Extreme winter weather calls for serious mitts -- like Grandoe's Makalu Gore-Tex® mittens. Designed and engineered by world-renowned Mt. Everest climber Neal Beidelman, so you know your hands will be nimble and warm.

Average Rating based on 185 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 19 »
  • 1-10 of 185 reviews
  • Reviewed by Nomad from White Salmon, WA on Monday, January 06, 2014
    Based on the specs, I expected these to have real shearling. Instead it was synthetic. For this reason I'm returning them. Otherwise they seem very well constructed.
  • Reviewed by Ryan from WISCONSIN on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    As others have mentioned, order a bigger size. I measured into smalls, ordered mediums and needed larges. When you have the liners in, your thumb movement is limited, but I knew that going into it - these are meant for warmth. These by far are the warmest mittens I've ever had and I searched forever to find a solution for my cold hands. I take the liners out when I shovel and my hands are still plenty warm. Buy these and you won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed by M. Stevenson from Maryland on Wednesday, October 09, 2013
    While I have no doubt that they Mittens would be very warm, the drawbacks were more than I wanted to deal with. The gloves themselves were very bulky, which made them less "attractive" then they appear in the photos. Also, I generally wear XL Gloves as I don't like them too tight (but I do have the hands that would measure to between an L and XL). These Mittens, in XL, felt short, as if the cuff rested at the end of my palm and not at my wrist. I really wanted to like these, but I have other Grandoe and Gortex Gloves, and knew that I would rarely if ever opt for these, they are just too bulky for the kind of athletic outdoor use I would be wanting them for (snowboarding primarily).
  • Reviewed by pjj1951 from Virginia on Friday, June 14, 2013
    These come with the outer and inner mittens., The inner fleece mittens are very, very thick. The outer shearling mitten is extra large to accomodate the inner mitten. I could not get a grip on my ski poles due to the bulk. I ended up taking the inner mittens out and getting some fleece mittens that were 1/2 the thickness and it worked pretty well, although I would seriously consider buying a size smaller than you usually buy and trading out the inner mittens for either fleece gloves or fleece mittens that are not as thick as the ones that come with these mittens. If you are looking for warm mittens to use in outdoor activities which do not involve exertion, these would fit the bill.
  • Reviewed by Eric G from Southern Cal on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    I bought these looking for a gortex over mitt for winter mountaineering and snow shoeing on very cold days.( I have not used them yet.) the construction seems very solid and and well made. The outer mitt seems like it would be warm enough on its own for most winter conditions. The removable inner mitt is crazy warm, putting both together I have no doubt will be more than adequate for extreme sub-zero conditions. I plan on using them as an over mitt with my neoprim gloves and keeping the inner mitt in my pack as a back-up. I was very impressed that THEY COME WITH A LEASH on each over mitt. The fleece fur on the top is probably a little more flashy than I care for ( i'm sure my friends will give me some grief for being a fur bunny) however, I do believe that in extreme conditions it will be a god send. I am moving to Washington state this summer and plan to put these mittens through their full paces this winter. If they are anything less than I expect I will post a follow-up review. ORDER ONE SIZE UP( I am glad I did.)
  • Reviewed by HikerMiker from Phoenix,AZ. on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    Outside in the cold? Snowboarding,skiing,or just plain snowshoeing?These mittens will even make Ms. Piggy jealous,so be careful.They're big enough to fit over your coyote gloves and keep those fingers good and warm.
  • Reviewed by HikerMiker from Phoenix,AZ. on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    Outside in the cold? Snowboarding,skiing,or just plain snowshoeing?These mittens will even make Ms. Piggy jealous,so be careful.They're big enough to fit over your coyote gloves and those fingers good and warm.
  • Reviewed by Andy the Sailor from Canada on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    Excellent qualiety.
    Tend to fit a bit small even for the XL.
  • Reviewed by floridajoe from Florida on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    These mittens are just as you would imagine from the picture. Quality soft shearling on the back. Soft leather palms. A ripstop and gore tex shell.
    There is also a thick removable inner mitten.

    Buy larger than you think.

    I measured my hand at the knuckles. 3 1/2 across and 1" thick.

    I just make into an XL pair.
  • Reviewed by Bob from Colorado on Saturday, March 09, 2013
    Yongest son received a pair at xmas for skiing. Worked great. Visited his older brother away at school in Steamboat Springs. After a day on the slopes he wanted a pair also. Received his pair via ups a few days later. These are made much better than the $70 double nylon mittens both son's had previously. Very solid construction. Warm, water and wind proof. Treated the leather with a little mink oil for longevity and softness. They should easily last for more than 2 seasons unlike their older mittens. Can remove the inner insulating mitten in warmer conditions.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 19 »
  • 1-10 of 185 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.