Customer Reviews Of:
Grandoe New Hurricane Gloves - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Grandoe New Hurricane gloves utilize GCS® (Glove Component System), which incorporates a zip-out liner for maximum versatility.

Average Rating based on 30 reviews 4.466666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave the skier from Philly on Monday, March 2, 2015
    Just got back from Revelstoke & Sun Peaks where the temperature varied from 21-38 degrees Fahrenheit. The gloves felt bulky with the liner in limiting your dexterity, however I used them mostly without the liner and was pleased. I didn't get a chance to test the gloves in temperatures below 20 degrees with the liners.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kritter from Colorado on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    These are the same style I have worn for over 30 years. I still have my first pair. These appear to have stronger stitching in the fingers, are warm and comfortable. What more can I say about a glove that I have put to use three days a week skiing for over 3 decades.
  • Reviewed by ana from maine on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    These seem warm and well-constructed. The leather is good quality, but will probably need to be treated because it gets really soaked (hands still dry, though, with waterproof membrane). I was skeptical about the zip-in liners, but they work well and go back in smoothly. Great buy at STP price.
  • Reviewed by Andrew in Chicago from Schaumburg, IL on Saturday, March 8, 2014
    I researched to find gloves that would be good for skiing and they are. The temperatures are consistently below freezing and the gloves do an excellent job of keeping my hands warm and the gloves are waterproof, yet breathable.
  • Reviewed by Dave the Wrench from Michigan on Monday, March 3, 2014
    These are my second pair of Grandoe Gloves in about 7 years. Tough and warm are 2 words to describe them.
  • Reviewed by Frank from Connecticut on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    Good warm, dry gloves. I like the option to remove the liner. Not for real hard use, but great for snowblowing, shoveling, skiing etc. Fit is good for me. They are, like most gloves, a little snug at first but they broke in quickly and are now comfortable. Quality is much better than most gloves I've considered. I doubt I would pay full price, but Sierra Trading has good prices and discounts.
  • Reviewed by wisc.tj from Wisconsin on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    Every thing I hoped they would be. Very warm in this sub zero winter, water proof, fit is very good. Soft supple feel. Just a great glove.
  • Reviewed by Paulinks from Kansas on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    I finally selected this glove based on the large number of reviews. My hand measured 9", I ordered large, and the fit is good. For some reason I feel like the fingers or a bit long for me but so what, they're gloves. I will never go skying, just spend time outdoors in temperatures well below freezing. These are well constructed, handsome gloves. My only complaint is that with the liners in I can hardly grasp anything, that is, I can hardly bend my fingers. With the liners removed I find them good down into the 20's. I also have a thinner pair of poly liner gloves that help with the bulk issue and also extends the warmth. A highly versatile, quality constructed, warm glove.
  • Reviewed by Breezin' from Chicago on Friday, January 24, 2014
    Bought the XL, usually wear an L-XL so fits true to size. Wore during -2% in Chicago this week - didn't feel a thing. A bit bulky but will keep you warm during normal activities. Love the fit!
  • Reviewed by Skiing Family of 5 from Massachusetts on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    Well over 10 years ago, I bought these gloves for my husband. He has worn them to shreds and finally agreed to a new pair. I searched stores and couldn't find anything comparable. I was so excited to find them at Sierra Trading Post! The gloves have changed slightly since his original pair (more leather/ less fabric on this new pair and the zipper is slightly different), but all probably for the better, and certainly the quality is no less, and likely more than his original pair.
  • Reviewed by ElmerFudd from Wisconsin on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    They look better than they perform. They're adequate for moderately cold weather, but aren't exactly waterproof as advertised. They are bulky and one would assume they would perform better. Sizing is accurate.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LHK from Ruidoso, NM on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    Loved the looks, feel and quality but VERY disappointed in the warmth factor! Would not recommend for cold weather skiing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by O from Beaver Creek, CO on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    Arrived in 3 days
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by No Pain, No Jane from Lakewood, CO on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    I utilize these gloves for winter sports such as skiing, snowboarding and snowshoeing. I love the versatility of having warm gloves in the cold (below 0) mornings and being able to adjust as temperatures and body heat increase. My main concern when buying these were with the zip out liners. Typically I have found liners difficult to reinsert and keep oriented. No issues at all. Cuff adjustments are simple and comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Dog from Dillon, Colorado on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    Med Fit small because of the inner liner. Needed a large.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by n/a from colorado springs colorado on Tuesday, January 15, 2013
    I fast walk at 6:30 am every morning.When it gets below 25º I wear these gloves. You do not have to curl your fingers up for the first ten minutes to warm them up.They keep your whole hand warm and they stay warm the moment you put them on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by none from new mexico on Friday, December 28, 2012
    He loves them, fit perfectly and oh soooo warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob from Westminster, MD on Wednesday, March 21, 2012
    I expect to use these for winter photography. I will have to remove the right glove to use the camera but that is better than always having cold hands.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Severe cold
    • Cons: Too Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Good Grip, Well constructed
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GG Texas from Abilene, Tx on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    Gloves are very warm and really like the zip out liner. Bought these for ski trip to Wyoming, but haven't used for that purpose yet. Will update after use, but find them to be very warm.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Rainy Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Good Grip, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BriR from WI on Wednesday, January 4, 2012
    These gloves in size Large seem true to size. They are warm and waterproof and the leather is of very good quality. I found that they are not really warm for stationary activities in sub-20's temps, but are warm if you are active in those temps. All in all, an excellent glove.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Commuting
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Durable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gone Hiking from Maryland on Monday, January 2, 2012
    I wore these hiking on a very windy 30 degree day. I didn't need the liner. Hands stayed warm but sweat started to soak through to the leather palm. Dexterity is poor e.g. unzipping my backpack I had to take the gloves off. These are cold weather gloves and may not be breathable enough when hands sweat.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ishant44 from aberdeen sd on Tuesday, November 22, 2011
    gloves fit well even without the liner which adds a little bulk the outer shell is warm enough to be worn for most uses
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Going Out, Rainy Weather, Snowblowing
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Pros: Dry, Durable, Good Grip, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uncle Bobby from Wrightwood, CA on Wednesday, November 9, 2011
    Bulky...but warm. Without the liner bulk is not an issue. Too good a value to pass up with 35% off and free shipping. Better product than my last ski gloves. Treat them/seal them and they will serve you well.
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Warm, Zip out liner
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TNLover from Crossville, TN on Wednesday, September 28, 2011
    bought these for the winter but are very comfortable and warm. look forward to using this winter
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Durable, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Japan skier from Australia on Saturday, April 30, 2011
    The geatest warmest ski gloves ever.
    The second lining can be zipped out for a cooler feel on a warm day.
    Completely water proof.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Durable, Good Grip, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chuck from Sacramento, CA on Friday, April 15, 2011
    This is my second pair of Grandoe GCS gloves. The first pair (Primos from about 10 years ago) were duct taped on fingers and thumbs because I liked them so much. I expect to do the same thing with these. I would have preferred the nylon of the Primos on the back of the hand to the leather of these Hurricanes, but that is of minor concern. I am very satisfied with them. Note that I use them without the liners most of the time. The liners go in only when it is extremely cold.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Palm feeling when skiing
    • Cons: Bulky with liners
    • Describe Yourself: Performance oriented, Picky, Practical
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Applies without liner, Dry, Durable, Good Grip, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by T & T from St. Anthony, Idaho on Tuesday, March 8, 2011
    Great!!!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Commuting, Going Out, Rainy Weather, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TD from Boston on Monday, February 28, 2011
    Needed warm waterproof gloves, these are great!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Going Out, Rainy Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Dry, Durable, Good Grip, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Killington Kate from Plymouth Vermont on Monday, January 3, 2011
    This is my fourth pair of Grandoe Component system gloves. Keep them coming!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Skiing
    • Describe Yourself: Skier
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Culprit from Centennial, CO on Monday, October 18, 2010
    These are great gloves. In seven years, I've owned 3 pairs and they've all delivered well. I would recommend sealing them with a product like Sno-Seal.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Dry, Good Grip, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Sort by: