Customer Reviews Of:
Gregory Fury 40 Backpack

Closeouts. Built for light and fast adventures, Gregory's Fury 40 backpack keeps you organized and prepared without weighing you down, thanks to an anatomical back panel that provides support without a heavy internal frame, a stretchy front stash pocket, plenty of lash points for your gear and ventilated, padded mesh harness system.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.333333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by SJG from NYC on Tuesday, April 28, 2015
    I should have gone by the other reviews and not the item Specs listed on the site. THERE IS NO FRAME TO THIS PACK. That could be fine. I like soft minimal packs for certain applications. But in my opinion a 40L pack is just way to large for this type of design. The Fury comes in smaller sizes and they may be just fine. But this one is huge and is therefore completely formless when not full. It will roll up and collapse on itself. When full with gear it's just too heavy to not have a frame. Also, the straps are very thinly padded. Again, that's fine on a smaller pack but for the types of loads you can fit in this pack you will probably want a little more padding. The shoulder straps have mesh stretch pockets which are really small and narrow. I'm not sure what you can fit in them but anything beyond some pencils or a small maglite just wouldn't work.

    I'm not going to completely trash this pack though. The construction is top notch. Despite my comments above there are some really thoughtful aspects. For example there are side compression straps that can be routed either inside or out of the mesh side pockets which is brilliant. You can chose to really cinch down what you have in those pockets or cinch down the pack while allowing easy access in and out of the pockets for water bottles, etc. The straps, mesh, pockets, buckles and clips seem great. The waist belt clips on the side instead of in the front. It's more like a seatbelt in that way and maybe this is a good idea. I haven't seen it before.

    If you have a large but light load then this might be the pack for you but for most people I'd suggest sizing down to a smaller frameless pack or go with one that has a frame.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Slm-c from CT on Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    Like the prior reviewers mentioned, this pack has no external or internal frame. Even after I measured my back, when the pack went on it buckled. Three stars for quality of material and pockets as well as zippers.
  • Reviewed by JPH from Central AZ on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    No secret to anyone that STP is my favorite store. Just took this out on a 3-day, 2-night in the Grand Canyon and could not be more satisfied. Very pleased with the capacity and the design, including pockets and straps. Very good ride. I like the stretchy side pockets for 1 liter bottles, but I seem to tear holes in these on rocks etc. regardless of the pack (same on a Marmot I have). Maybe could use a little more padding on shoulder straps, but overall these are minor glitches
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Darren from Texas on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    Great pack IF you're looking for a near-frameless 40L. Heads up, light and fast overnighters/weekenders or super efficient thru-hikers, this might be the pack for you. Has the great Gregory quality and fit that you'd expect, but they should probably call it a frameless pack, so you're not surprised.
  • Reviewed by zhi from del on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
    it is a good backpack,very light and comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Woodstraveler from Maine on Sunday, January 26, 2014
    I have been fortunate to have to wear a pack for most of my jobs - ranger, ski patroller, backcountry caretaker, guide, etc. I was also fortunate enough to be able to test packs and give feedback to designers. I have worn the same day packs for the past 15+ years. One for hiking & carrying a heavy load, tools, etc. One for skiing & keeping weight centralized. Etc. Most of my co-workers use ultralight packs and I thought it was time to upgrade.

    The Gregory Fury 40 is lightweight and a dream to carry. I am 6'3" and the L is long enough for my 23 1/5" back. The lightweight straps all make sense in their design, angle & function. The outside pockets are handy & work well XC skiing (haven't used the small pocket on the shoulder strap - yet.) The backwards top pocket took a day to get use to, but now that even makes sense. The accessory loops are very lightweight and I am not sure how long they will last, but the pack has a lifetime warranty. If they break I think they will replace them, but if they wear out. The 2 outer sleeve pockets are great for stuffing your shell, or layers.

    It is hard to buy a pack online without trying it on, looking @ the features, quality, etc. Gregory has a long reputation for quality & innovation. And, STP is hard to beat for price..
  • Reviewed by Charlie from Maryland on Friday, January 3, 2014
    Great deal on a name brand pack
  • Reviewed by Paul in North Carolina from North Carolina on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    This is a great pack for a weekend trip or just throwing some clothes in for a trip.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hamm's from Northern Rockies on Monday, February 4, 2013
    Very happy with light simple design. Good ventilation. I hope durability is good.
  • Sort by: