Gregory Maya 18 Backpack (For Women)

Closeouts. Lightweight and designed to fit a woman's body, the Gregory Maya 18 backpack has an internal compression system that reduces pack bounce and Aero-Mesh padding to help you stay cool on the trail.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yue from Pittsburgh on Monday, May 25, 2015
    I bought this pack for my mom. She always hike during weekends. She loves this pack. It is good for 1 day hiking,
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by vireyda from New Mexico on Sunday, February 15, 2015
    This pack is perfect for a daypack. It's fairly lightweight (I barely even notice I'm carrying it) it never rubs or chafes, and it's got a surprising amount of space inside it. The hip belt is very comfortable as well, with no weird fabric rubbing. You could easily carry your 2 liters of water and add lunch, some rain gear, a camera and some more odds and ends. For a lightweight pack, this pack has plenty of features and comfort. There are lighter packs out there, but you could just wear a string and sil-nylon bag if you want to go that light.

    I would recommend this pack for any woman.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by City Mama from Seattle on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    I ordered this pack because I wanted a smaller, women's day pack for carrying things for myself and my kids on short hikes and outdoor trips. I am 5'4" and weigh 120 pounds. Overall, this pack was a bit too small for me. I would have liked it to sit lower on my hips and the shoulder straps came in a little tight around my neck. It's internal capacity was also not quite enough for the diapers, snacks, coats and other necessities I carry for me and my two kiddos. That said, this is a sturdy, well-made pack with lots of extra pockets and places to hold your belongingsas well as the option of a hydration pack. If it was just a bit longer in the torso and I was only packing it for myself, I think I would have kept it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Judy hiker from NY on Saturday, January 24, 2015
    I purchased this to replace my old 20 liter Fen daypack from EMS. I did a lot of research and when I read several reviews deriding this pack for working only for " short people" I knew I had to try it! I am 5' tall and am constantly annoyed by products designed for "tall people", like overly long base layer bottoms and pants whose articulated knees fall closer to my shins, for example. Also, my backpack is a 50 liter Gregory and I knew that the quality was going to be great.
    The initial plan was to snag this on sale and wait until I had thoroughly worn out my old pack before putting the new pack into regular use. However after trying the Gregory pack out on a couple of 8-10 mile hikes, I found it to be so comfortable that I could not bear to put on my old pack again! The design of the straps ( there is a solid panel of fabric across the top of the back shoulder area that branches into the straps), the contours of the straps, placement of sternum and hip belts, and the slightly shorter torso length made all the difference. The way the pack hugs the body and " moves with you" made my hikes, which were on slick, icy, snowy and rocky trails, much more enjoyable.
    I was concerned that this daypack had two liters less capacity than my old pack, but I got everything I needed for a day hike into it easily. I had a full 2 liter camelbak, lunch, snacks, first aid kit, a mat to sit on while taking a break, and a spare icebreaker base layer.
    The pocket design is quite nice, especially the small removable interior pouch that securely snaps into place.. It's great place for money or anything you don't want to lose or misplace. The pockets on the hip belt are great for snacks and the side mesh pockets on the side work well for water bottles, but I used them to put my compact hiking poles when I was not using them. Also, for us left handed people, the hydroport can be fed through either the right or left side. There are also nice little carry loops that one can attach small carabiners to. This was a perfect spot to store my micro spikes so that they did not damage my pack.
    The pack also has a nice streamlined and elegant look. The helium gray color is very nice and I don't have to worry about the pack color clashing with whatever else I am wearing so that I don't look like a color blind nincompoop on the trail.
    All in all, a stellar purchase. Thanks STP!
  • Reviewed by Dana from NJ on Thursday, December 11, 2014
    Very nicely made and the perfect size for a day hike. I like the pockets and the water bottle side pockets. The hibiscus pink is a pretty color. It's more of a redish kind of pink. It's definitely more of hydration pack than a backpack or daypack. I was expecting a little more support and structure. The pack is flexible enough that you can roll it up. It works good for holding a jacket and water for long walks with my dog but I probably won't use it for more than that.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Northern Gal from ON, Cda on Wednesday, July 2, 2014
    PROS...superb construction; light as a feather; side mesh pockets are deep enough & snug enough to effectively contain a water bottle; comfortable waistbelt to keep strain off back and keep pack moving with you (was a must for me; not many small packs have a belt); a travel tripod can easily be carried inside or outside the front stretch pocket; plenty of room to carry a day's needs. I'm only 5' tall & this pack is small enough so I forget I've got it on, but it can hold all that I want to bring along on a day of hiking & picture taking.
    CONS..??? None
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by francesca from new york on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    I tried about a dozen day packs before choosing this one. I wanted something that was small and snug, but could fit a decent amount of hiking gear/groceries/weekend-away-stuff, etc, and something with which I could both bike and hike The design is perfect for people with small backs and shoulders (I am about 5'2"), and it is the right balance of durable, yet very lightweight. The compartments are separated well to distribute weight, and the stuff pocket on the outside is good for helmets, jackets, extra water bottles, and whatever else you want immediately accessible. The internal cinching at the bottom and the lashes at the side also help keep the bag from sagging when only partially full. Lastly, you can slide a 13" laptop into the internal pocket when you're not using a water bladder there. Perfect!

    (Note: I also tried the newer Gregory Maya packs (both 16L and 22L) and neither were as comfy as this older 18L. They have a stiffer foam panel at the back that digs into the shoulder blades a little. Though they are more attractive packs, in the end this older model won over with better fit/functionality.)
  • Reviewed by Katie from Seattle on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    I love this, small pack. Perfect for shorter hikes or days at Disneyland. It will not carry everything you might ever need, if you tend to overpack, it might help keep you to essentials. For hiking I comfortably pack water, DSLR, survival kit, extra layer, and lunch. For theme parks I packed water and DSLR and added everything through the 14 hour days: snacks, light sabers, souvenir t-shirts, bubble guns, and mouse ears. It was also perfect for taking on rides (not big and bulky). and expanded to hold our layers as the tepms changed morning, afternoon heat, and chilly (by comparison) nights.
  • Reviewed by Abe from Taiwan on Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    well design, great color
  • Reviewed by Trulyb from Asheville, NC on Sunday, April 22, 2012
    I do a lot of day hiking in the SE and SW US, and I always carry at least a small daypack with hydration, especially when I'm in Arizona. While this pack doesn't come with a bladder, it easily accomodates my Camelbak bladder. This has become my favorite daypack because it carries higher than the unisex daypacks I had been using. This places the weight squarely on the hips and waistbelt, not my shoulders as with my past packs. This is a big plus to me since I tend to have tight shoulders after carrying much weight hanging off them. As for there not being sizes to choose from, I didn't find it a problem. I'm ordinarily a M in womens packs, with an 18-19 inch back measurement, but this little pack accomodates my back just fine. Some folks may not like the length of this pack, if they're much taller than I am (5'3") or very long waisted. I am relatively long waisted, but still this pack places the weight on my hips and the waistband, where it belongs. I happen to like the color, but if you don't or if this one sounds too small for your needs, STP also has a slightly larger capacity Gregory womens daypack that you can get at the usual STP great price. I think most women will be as happy as I am with the features and fit, but you can decide that for yourself. As for me, I've been using this pack since summer 2011, and it is holding up great. I got my first one elsewhere for more $, and I'm glad to see it here for less, as usual.
    • Best Uses: Day hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-Oriented
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Great Features, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #