Gregory Z65 Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. Gregory's Z65 backpack utilizes JetStream LTS construction for the more comfortable, less burdensome pack trips. Dual-density lumbar foam pad transfers weight from your back to your hips, and the adjustable waistbelt has a plastic HDPE stiffener for a better carry.

Average Rating based on 40 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 40 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BC resident from British Columbia on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    Perfect for the West Coast trail, lots of padding and storage
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by crystalkwan from Georgia on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    Purchased for 2-3 day backpacking trips. First use was an overnight 10-mile backpacking trip in NC. Pack has plenty of room, easy access points and the straps on the bottom were perfect for my sleeping pad. I am F / 5'7'' / 125 lbs / 27'' waist so I ordered size S. For comfort I give it 4/5, since I felt that I could have tightened the waist strap and shoulder straps one more cinch to make it sit more comfortably, and because the side pockets that are large enough to hold a water bottle aren't easily accessible while wearing the pack. The waistbelt pockets provide easy access to smaller items, but for size reference, I couldn't completely fit my phone (Galaxy S3) in them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Devon from Virginia on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    I got this (which is the 2009 model) because it was $100 cheaper than the 2014 at a local store. But having used both a bit, I think I should have sprung for the new one. The new one could be the one bag to do it all, but I don't think this older one really is.

    The bad: The ventilation on this model isn't great. My mid back is fine, but the foam on the lower back doesn't ventilate at all. The front access is okay, but the zipper is on the left top and right sides, so you don't gain much access to the bottom of the bag which isn't much better than a straight top-loader. For contrast, the new version zipper is left BOTTOM right, which allows you to just get at stuff at the bottom of the pack without opening the whole front. The front pocket does store some stuff, but if the main bag is pretty full you can hardly access the front. Everything in it is either stuck on the sides or gets pushed out as soon as you open the zipper. Hip pockets fit my headlamp, but not my cell phone (newer large smartphone).

    The good: The straps are pretty comfortable. I'm a little fat, so properly load bearing waist straps always squish my belly. This one still does that but is less intrusive than some other bags. The load lifters are easily accessible while wearing the bag and allow you to get that weight off your shoulders.
  • Reviewed by Robby7194 from Atlanta on Wednesday, January 01, 2014
    For the cost, this pack is great for camping.
  • Reviewed by OreoLove from Washington on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    I've never really shopped online and was a bit hesitant but everything went fine and I got what I ordered just in time :)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tiger from vancouver,bc,canada on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    this one is the best one for me after compared many backpacks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Madfrisbee from The Hills of Missouri on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    I love this pack already. The airflow on your back is revolutionary, and it rides securely, with great stability and confidence, while still flexing enough to make it comfy.

    I also love the horseshoe-shaped zipper that lets you open the main compartment all the way up.

    The sternum strap slides up and down on these awesome rail thingies - it's the best sternum strap design I've seen.

    The mid-sized capacity is perfect for most multi-day hikes and minimalist weeklong-plus excursions.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brian B from ML Kansas on Saturday, January 12, 2013
    Just one big pocket. Couple of small ones on the belt. 40-45 lbs max load. I like suspension
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MyHeadisFed from Virginia on Thursday, November 08, 2012
    Great price on a great pack. Very comfortable up to 40 lbs, wouldn't go much beyond that. I like the simpicity of the compartments so I don't lose my gear in a million pockets. Would like to have a sleeping bag access zipper, but I can make do without it.
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads
    • Cons: No Sleeping Bag Zipper, Not Enough Pockets
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Large Capacity
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Survivor D from MI on Friday, November 02, 2012
    I've been happy using my Gregory Z-35 as a day pack, and airline carry on. I wanted something that would work for multi day treks. This Z-65 does it all with comfort and style. It fits under the seat on even the small planes, but you can tie a tent and a sleeping bag on and go for several nights with all the gear/food you'll need safe inside. I have to say Gregory makes a comfortable, great quality product.
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, School, Travel, Wet Weather, Works As A Carry On
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 40 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.