Gregory Z65 Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. Gregory's Z65 backpack utilizes JetStream LTS construction for the more comfortable, less burdensome pack trips. Dual-density lumbar foam pad transfers weight from your back to your hips, and the adjustable waistbelt has a plastic HDPE stiffener for a better carry.

Average Rating based on 42 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 5 »
  • 21-30 of 42 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Woody from Minneapolis, MN on Monday, July 23, 2012
    This pack is great for 4-6 day treks. I bought this pack for its extra capacity and the ability to hang extra gear on it. I can hang a drysack with my sleepingbag or clothes on the bottom with the tie-downs. I also like the center pocket to stow gear for easy and quick access. Overall a very capable pack.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backpacking newbie from Durham, NC on Monday, April 30, 2012
    Gregory has a history of making good, sturdy packs, and this is no different. My wife and I just got into backpacking 4 months ago, so this was my first pack. I bought it based on a suggestion from a close friend that he had always been happy with his Gregory packs. I read as much as I could, but given that I had never really been backpacking, I wasn't completely sure what I was looking for. That being said, I got lucky with this one and am very happy with my purchase.

    Adaptability:
    The pack has multiple cinch points that allow you to carry as little gear as for a day trip or as much as you need for a multi-day trek. Our longest trip so far has been a four-day, three-night Appalachian Trail trip in early February. My wife has the women's version of this pack, the Jade 60; unfortunately, she's quite a bit smaller, so I carry much of the load, including the cooking set, stove, and entire tent. With all that gear and my clothes, I never maxed out the volume of the pack. My starting weight was 45lbs, and although it felt heavy, it was never uncomfortable.

    We have also now been on several day and overnight hikes, and regardless of what we pack, I can cinch it tight so the load doesn't shift and the center of gravity is right where it needs to be.

    Two things to keep in mind with this pack: First, if you're a pocket person, this might not be the pack for you. There is one large pocket where the majority of the gear goes. In addition, there is a front zip pocket and another pocket on the top of the pack that are easily accesible and large enough to carry extra layers or keep your food easily accessible. There are also two hip belt pockets which are very convenient. A pocket specifically for the sleeping bag would be a nice addition, but I don't mind sparing the additional weight. If you're a pocket person, the Baltoro is probably a better pack for you, but it comes at a cost of a couple extra pounds.

    All things considered, I'm extremely happy with this purchase.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Cons: Not Enough Pockets
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-Oriented, Practical, Weekend Warrior
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Adaptable Size, Comfortable, Durable, Easily adjustable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mill creek paddler from Sioux City, IA on Wednesday, March 21, 2012
    This pack is the best one I've used! The frame fits me really well - I am a 5'5" woman, so that the load is easy to carry. Pack is light. The mesh back and straps do seem to limit that sticky, sweaty feeling of carrying a pack for hours. I haven't had it long enough to test durability. Hydration access is great, front zip access is exceptional, there's room on board for accessories like my hiking poles. The belt has these neat mesh pockets, and I can't decide what to put in them, but I like them! GORP would go nicely in there...

    I am training with this pack, intending to backback with it in Alaska this summer. So far, so good. Mountains, here we come!
    • Best Uses: Day hikes, Overnight backpacking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Convenient Access, Great Features, Lightweight, Roomy, Tight Stability of Load
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Biph1 from Subic Bay on Tuesday, July 05, 2011
    Purchased for a Grand Canyon Rim to Rim hike in May 2011. This backpack performed flawlessly! Amazing comfort, easy to pack, comfortable with just under 40 lbs of gear and water. Easy to access all my equipment once it was packed.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Suspension, Large Capacity
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NWHiker from Portland, Oregon, USA on Tuesday, February 22, 2011
    Will be used on the PCT in 2011. If could be slightly lighter, but its comfort makes up for it.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes, Light Loads, Wet Weather
    • Cons: Heavier than I prefer
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Large Capacity, Stable when loaded
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Good Dad from sacramento on Thursday, October 07, 2010
    I bought this for my daughter for a trip to Nepal. She will be going on 2-3 day hikes from a base hostel and it should fit the bill pretty well. She said it was really nice, but it appears to only have one way in, so she'll need to pack it so that the stuff she might need while hiking is on top. She didnt want a lot of compartments because it's easy to miss-place things with too many compartments.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes, Light Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Off Trail from Dallas,Tx on Wednesday, September 01, 2010
    Held enough gear for a four day trek through John Muir Wilderness. Everything worked great, packed 30-35 lbs of gear with no problem. Best feature is full front access to main compartment, makes loading sleeping bag a breeze. Jet Stream suspension kept me comfortable and dry through long hikes.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trigger the one trick pony from Wenatchee, WA on Wednesday, September 01, 2010
    This pack is very comfortable loaded down.
    Seems pretty durable. Easy to access.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MLR from Freeburg, MO on Thursday, July 22, 2010
    I have really enjoyed this bag so far, have taken it on a lot of small trips about to go on a 8 day/ 65 miler with it and am stoked about it.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NewEnglandHkr from Western MA on Friday, July 02, 2010
    Top of the line pack at an amazing price point. Similar in form/function to the Z55, this is the z65 2009 model. I prefer the 'trampoline' ventilation system on this 2009 model versus the redesigned 2010 version. I've taken it on short overnight hikes and found it to be very light weight and comfortable. No noticable pain points. Since this is a top loading pack, access to the bottom (aka - sleeping bag) is a bit of a pain but this is a minor inconvenience to me. A very good pack that I would highly recommend.
    • Best Uses: Day Hikes, Extended Hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Suspension, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 5 »
  • 21-30 of 42 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.