In 1977, Wayne Gregory founded Gregory Mountain Products in San Diego, Calif. Since designing his first backpack as a Boy Scout at the age of 14, Gregory's soul ambition has been making backpacks. Gregory designs backpacks based on a combination of customer feedback and field research. Gregory always wants to improve upon fit and materials to make a more durable, longer-lasting backpack. The company has pioneered many backpack firsts such as being the first to build backpacks with different frame, harness and waist belt sizes; the first to ... Learn more about Gregory develop a waist belt system that adjusts to fit different hip angles; and the first to create a center-locking bar tack. Because of these innovations, Gregory backpacks have been accredited in a wide range of publications, such as: Backpacker, Alpinist and National Geographic Adventure. ... Less
Average Rating based on 692 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 70 »
  • 1-10 of 692 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DCer from D.C. area on Thursday, April 17, 2014
    I am writing a review after using this backpack in a week-long trip. First and foremost, I was looking for a backpack - big enough - to carry on a plane overhead compartment. Having read limited reviews on the ability of this pack to do that, I was pleasantly surprised to accomplish that. Big plus there!

    Everything else about this pack is top notch - the ripstop nylon seems very sturdy, as well as the zippers and re-enforcement clips. The only reason why I did not give it 5 starts is its lack of a pocket on the underside of the top compartment. That pocket could be relevant to deter water, or to store documents in a more secure manner. Most other packs that I compared it against (in stores or while looking online) have a pocket there, including the same-year Z35 that I saw in a store. Other than that, I am very satisfied with this pack so far.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bekah from Tennessee on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    I haven't used it yet, which is why I gave it 4 and not 5 stars, but it looks to be a great pack. This is my first pack to own, as I am just getting into backpacking. Tried it on in a competitor's store (at a much higher price tag) and loved the back support this one offers. I will mention that I have mild scoliosis in my back, so if you are looking for a pack with great back support, this one, in my opinion and for my back, fits nicely. It has lots of great compartments to it; if you have backpacked a lot already you will probly know that just by looking and reading about this pack. I will say also that in the picture it looks like a stone gray color to me, but when it arrived, it is actually more of a green-gray, which I really like a lot better. So, a simple review since I am new to backpacking, but a satisfied customer so far!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 73 Start from Colorado on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    I haven't tried this pack in the field yet, but the design and feel of it is great. The materials used are nearly ballistic, and the stitching seems appropriate for heavy packing. Adjusting the pack for comfort is simple, and the harness padding is plush. Additionally, the price is rock-bottom outstanding, plus the pack comes from Sierra Trading Post! Who could ask for more? At this point, I agree with all of the five star reviews.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Devon from Virginia on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    I got this (which is the 2009 model) because it was $100 cheaper than the 2014 at a local store. But having used both a bit, I think I should have sprung for the new one. The new one could be the one bag to do it all, but I don't think this older one really is.

    The bad: The ventilation on this model isn't great. My mid back is fine, but the foam on the lower back doesn't ventilate at all. The front access is okay, but the zipper is on the left top and right sides, so you don't gain much access to the bottom of the bag which isn't much better than a straight top-loader. For contrast, the new version zipper is left BOTTOM right, which allows you to just get at stuff at the bottom of the pack without opening the whole front. The front pocket does store some stuff, but if the main bag is pretty full you can hardly access the front. Everything in it is either stuck on the sides or gets pushed out as soon as you open the zipper. Hip pockets fit my headlamp, but not my cell phone (newer large smartphone).

    The good: The straps are pretty comfortable. I'm a little fat, so properly load bearing waist straps always squish my belly. This one still does that but is less intrusive than some other bags. The load lifters are easily accessible while wearing the bag and allow you to get that weight off your shoulders.
  • Reviewed by TN Hiker from TN on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    Nice and light weight, but shoulder straps didn't fit as well as I would have liked, maybe because I'm petite. Really liked quality.
  • Reviewed by sandy from Washington, DC on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    This pack was really comfortable from the start; even before I adjusted the straps. The maroon and red color combination is very nice. It has a lot of pockets. The only (very minor) problem is that the side pockets for a water bottle are a little deep and it's a little awkward to get the bottle out,
  • Reviewed by heyltd from Tucson, AZ on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    Watch out, you can fit tons of stuff in this and so you will be tempted to do so! The size small fits me really well (I'm 5' 5 1/2" and 145 lbs with a 17-inch torso). I like the angled water bottle pocket that allows me to take out the bottle while I'm hiking. I've only used it on one overnight so I can't speak to the durability.
  • Reviewed by Amac76 from Ellicott City, MD on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    Great backpack for multiple day hikes. Lots of pockets and pouches for all the extras I like to take along. Comfortable on shoulders and back - great padding on straps!
  • Reviewed by Cait the overnighter from California on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    It's not as light as other packs and it's only a 50 liter but for a overnight pack it rocks! I love the lower back padding and the durable yet light outer fabric. I've had packs that chaff my hips and back, this one does not plus it kept my back cool through the aerotech mesh. I took it on an 16 mile out and back trip straight up a Mtn on the first day and it was perfect. I kept my poison oak covered clothing in the outer pouch open to the elements and my clean clothes in the outer most concealed pouch. There are a lot of straps to catch on brush and the bottom strap that I usual use to strap down my tent was not big enough to hold it. The bladder pouch has a great design with a hose hole on either side. All in all I recommend this product., Gregory always surprises me in their attentiveness to details and comfort.
  • Reviewed by NC Hiker from NC on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    I'm no backpack expert, but I really love the features on this pack. Big enough for a long day hike and carry everything you'd need. super-=comfy-- went 9+ miles up & down the other day with it for first time and was so much happier than with my old packs. All components good quality, well thought out. Would definitely go with a larger size Gregory pack for any overnights If I ever get up the courage to go real backpacking!)
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 70 »
  • 1-10 of 692 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;