In 1977, Wayne Gregory founded Gregory Mountain Products in San Diego, Calif. Since designing his first backpack as a Boy Scout at the age of 14, Gregory's soul ambition has been making backpacks. Gregory designs backpacks based on a combination of customer feedback and field research. Gregory always wants to improve upon fit and materials to make a more durable, longer-lasting backpack. The company has pioneered many backpack firsts such as being the first to build backpacks with different frame, harness and waist belt sizes; the first to ... Learn more about Gregory develop a waist belt system that adjusts to fit different hip angles; and the first to create a center-locking bar tack. Because of these innovations, Gregory backpacks have been accredited in a wide range of publications, such as: Backpacker, Alpinist and National Geographic Adventure. ... Less
Average Rating based on 726 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 73 »
  • 1-10 of 726 reviews
  • Reviewed by Hiker Biker Gal from Florida on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    This is a very nice daypack or light hiker pack. The yellow is a little les bright than it appears on the website. A good color though, with steel blue accents. I initially ordered the women's version....that was only for very teeny tiny ladies, or maybe youth. This one is perfect for my 5'10", 155# frame (inseam 33"). This is my first Gregory pack. I hiked the AT with a ULA Catalyst and loved it, but got this for a smaller fast pack. Fairy basic allocation of space, with an open pocket on the front, main compartment has a hydration sleeve, bladder hook and two small Velcro loops for the bladder at the top, and elastic loops on both shoulder straps for the bladder tube. There is a good sized small top access pocket with a covered zipper as well. Shoulder straps and waist belt have small pockets, very adequate light padding, and sweet ventilation. I'm very pleased with this pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rocky from Ohio on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    Have not not had the chance to field test this bag yet but just from overall appearance I would the following thoughts. The hip padding on the hip looked very good, but the chest snap had no up and adjustment, the back padding looked adequate. This is not a big bag, great for a minimalist, not for taking all the comforts of home with you on a backpacking trip. Water bottle holders a little short, not for tall bottles. Would describe myself as a comfort driven minimalist
  • Reviewed by dodgeballqueen from Charlotte, NC on Monday, July 21, 2014
    Awesome bag, just disappointed that my Lenovo G770 (17") laptop didn't fit inside!
  • Reviewed by Lhe from Seattle, WA on Friday, July 18, 2014
    This bag is lightweight, comfortable and good for bike commuting. The main part of the bag is sturdy, waterproof TPU tarpaulin...BUT the accent colored part of the bag is not even close to waterproof. One of the most critical parts of the bag, the top, is just canvas. It will probably withstand a light rain, but water will likely pool there, and slowly seep into the bag. Also, there is an accent colored split in the front of the bag, also not waterproof. I'm undecided as to whether I'm going to keep it...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karin from Chico,California on Wednesday, July 9, 2014
    Fit is awesome and it is big enough for my pilgrimage without being bulky.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NorthernGal from ON, Cda on Wednesday, July 2, 2014
    PROS...superb construction; light as a feather; side mesh pockets are deep enough & snug enough to effectively contain a water bottle; comfortable waistbelt to keep strain off back and keep pack moving with you (was a must for me; not many small packs have a belt); a travel tripod can easily be carried inside or outside the front stretch pocket; plenty of room to carry a day's needs. I'm only 5' tall & this pack is small enough so I forget I've got it on, but it can hold all that I want to bring along on a day of hiking & picture taking.
    CONS..??? None
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by marymaryquitecontraryf from Beartooths of Montana on Monday, June 30, 2014
    tried this on in Cody and had to had it
    can't wait to put it to good use
    it is quite an upgrade
  • Reviewed by Lawrence Walker from These days, Yellowstone National Park on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    The Gregory Fury 24 is very light for its size and quality of construction. The Fury is a "soft" pack, without a lot of structure, though the materials are top notch. Compared to other daypacks, it is pliable and form-fitting. I like the slim side/waist belt pockets that are svelte enough to not get in the way. I like the depth of the side pockets that are serious about holding what's put in them. I like the meshy and suave materials throughout, with top-notch workmanship, as in all Gregory packs. The only difference from what you see online: the color is a bit paler and a more greenish/yellow tint than the bright yellow of the website photo. I'm a pack fanatic. I have a good many packs, daypacks especially. At first I thought the Fury series was just too wimpy/flexible, but now I like the sleekness and svelteness of these packs. I am keeping this one and may go for another of the four sizes (16, 24, 32, 40) as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by francesca from new york on Thursday, June 26, 2014
    I tried about a dozen day packs before choosing this one. I wanted something that was small and snug, but could fit a decent amount of hiking gear/groceries/weekend-away-stuff, etc, and something with which I could both bike and hike The design is perfect for people with small backs and shoulders (I am about 5'2"), and it is the right balance of durable, yet very lightweight. The compartments are separated well to distribute weight, and the stuff pocket on the outside is good for helmets, jackets, extra water bottles, and whatever else you want immediately accessible. The internal cinching at the bottom and the lashes at the side also help keep the bag from sagging when only partially full. Lastly, you can slide a 13" laptop into the internal pocket when you're not using a water bladder there. Perfect!

    (Note: I also tried the newer Gregory Maya packs (both 16L and 22L) and neither were as comfy as this older 18L. They have a stiffer foam panel at the back that digs into the shoulder blades a little. Though they are more attractive packs, in the end this older model won over with better fit/functionality.)
  • Reviewed by Happy Camper from Kentucky on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    I bought this bag for a family trip to an amusement park. Perfect for carrying all kinds of necessities such as water bottles and rain ponchos. I love the water proof side zip pocket for cell phones.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 73 »
  • 1-10 of 726 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;