Grizzly Shane Waxed Baby Canvas Coat - Flannel Lining (For Men)

Closeouts. Gear up for a season of cold-weather work in Grizzly's Shane coat, constructed of rugged waxed baby canvas, with toasty synthetic insulation and comfortable flannel lining.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
  • Reviewed by John from Upstate NY on Monday, March 4, 2013
    This is a great jacket. Very rugged and nice soft lining. As others have said the waxed finish does have an odor initially, but it does go away after a bit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JJfromTtown from Tuscaloosa, AL on Monday, December 10, 2012
    Warm, comfortable, durable, and was a very good price. I like the rugged work coat look that it has. Came with some kind of foul smelling oil saturating it. After numerous washes the harsh chemical smell is mostly gone. Would have gotten five stars if it didn't come with a persistent stench.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tony from Brisbane, Australia on Tuesday, July 3, 2012
    Jacket seems to be quite warm and I love the very casual look of it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Austin, TX on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    I really do like the way this coat looks and fits but I can't get past the smell. It smells like a wet canvas tent. I spoke with customer service about suggestions for remedying the smell issue and they suggested that I wash it. So I have washed it twice and it still is unwearable. Not sure what i can do with it.
    • Cons: Stinks
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cut, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ashd from Mpls, MN on Friday, January 13, 2012
    I purchased this coat for my dad as a gift, to be a working in the garage-to-running errands coat. It's really very nice and heavy, very durable. The bonus is that it looks really nice, not like a work coat at all! The lining was nice and soft too. My dad really liked this coat! I only gave this 4 stars, however, because of the fit. My dad is a pretty standard L, but this coat in a size L was a little too small everywhere and the sleeves were extremely short. I exchanged for an XL, and while it looked a little boxy on him, he said it was more comfortable than the L. The sleeves were still a little on the short side in the XL, but were long enough to warrant keeping this nice coat. Bottom line is, I would recommend this coat to anyone....as long as you don't have longer arms!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Reviewed by J Dubya from Annapolis MD on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    I always like to have reviews to go off of before I purchase an item so I thought I would add.

    So, I just received the jacket today and let me tell you this is everything Ive been looking for in a coated canvass jacket, Minus the Smell of the coating.

    I bought the Java, which I thought was black but its more like a super, super dark brown, close enough to black that Ill keep it because I like the jacket so much, and I'm a picky person.

    Its pretty heavy so I can imagine that it will be toasty as a bear in the winter months. Heavy duty canvass with a nice wax coating, zippers and snaps are heavy duty. A nice fluffy Flannel lining inside.

    It just has a rugged look to it but no so much that if you wore it out around town that youd look like a construction worker.

    It no like a carharrt jacket or anything.

    The fit is nice, not very baggy, more form fitting which I love.

    Im 5,10, 180lbs and I went with the large, fits perfectly.

    All in all, if youre in the market for a canvass jacket this is a top choice.

    FOLLOW UP:
    Ive had this jacket for 4 or 5 days now and the only major problem I have with this jacket is this:
    Whatever this jacket is coated with, wax or oil, smells very very strong and it is not a great smell. Ive had it hanging out for days and I have even washed it in cold water and hung it to dry. I am hoping that this smell will fade away or I WILL be returning it. Other than that I like the jacket.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Coating Smells
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Cut
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by az wandering from tempe, az on Monday, December 19, 2011
    Really nice jacket with a nice pockets. It's very warm, my first week with the jacket I went camping in the snow, with night temps in the high 20's I stayed warm with just the jacket and a flannel shirt on.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Outdoor Activities, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cut
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lex from Oil City, Tx on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
    I want to love this jacket but it STINKS like OIL! It's OILED and not "WAXED". I've washed it (so can't return it) and it stills smells bad. This is THE jacket that I've been looking for, but I am so disappointed. The oil smell is so bad that I can't hang it in the closet or on the coat hook next to me at the office. I really like the jacket, but will have to keep washing it until one day it stops to reek!
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rose M from Pickett, WI on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
    Sleeves fell short for my 6' 190 lb husband. Returned.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kneebumps from Sydney, Aust on Monday, May 23, 2011
    The jacket is a slim cut, if you want to wear a fleece under the jacket, make sure it is a thin fleecy, or up size the jacket. I'm a size US large and for the winters we have in Australia, I don't need to wear an extra thermal layer, just a long sleeve tee, making the cut of the jacket ideal.Be aware, a waxed cotton jacket is heavier (and what I was after) than a synthetic constructed jacket. I've worn it out in 32F and its warm...bargain!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Outdoor Activities
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.