Gronell Scalorbi Hiking Boots - Leather (For Men)

Closeouts. With rugged leather construction, cushioned ankle support and a lugged rubber outsole that offers dependable traction, Gronell Scalorbi hiking boots stand up the wear and tear of life on the trail.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Reviewed by NH and MD conservation corps member from MCC, Maryland on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
    I purchased these boots for trail work because of their price and their ability to be resoled and maintained for years. They looked great out of the box, STP worked with me to get the right size, and didn't require much time to break in. However the fit has never felt quite right, the lack of padding in the tongue makes it uncomfortable to tighten the laces, and the boots leak like a sieve when in water that reaches the bottom of the tongue. More disappointing is the fact that the eyes and grommets that hold the laces began to rust after about two months, and with only sporadic use. I've reached a point now after 8 months where I have to decide if I want them repaired with quality materials, or if its time to fork out for something better (I think I choose the latter). I expect a lot from my boots, and these have survived some rigorous work, but passable is the best word I can use to describe my experience.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jfonsite from Cleveland GA on Wednesday, February 20, 2013
    Cheaply made boot. I wouldnt recomend to anyone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NavyDavy from Soquel, Ca on Monday, February 04, 2013
    This is the first time that I have bought European boots and I was hesitant to pull the string on these boots. However, I an satisfied that I made the purchase. They are very nice looking boots and with a short break-in period I think they will be excellent for hiking. They are not insulated so if you are looking for cold weather boots these are not the ones. Converting the size from European to American was a bit unsettling but there is a conversion chart that guides one through to the correct size. I could have ordered a half size smaller but with good socks these boots will be just fine. I recommend them for anyone who needs good foot support when hiking.
  • Reviewed by Pole on the run from Calgary, Alberta on Friday, November 23, 2012
    After a first full season of some hard scrambles these boots are so worn out they may not last another full season.This is simply unacceptable. Outsoles are made of some rubber that wears out easily. Leather is too soft.

    In my earlier review I gave these boots 4 stars and I wish I could edit it now. I am giving them 1 star now to account for that review.

    Needless to say I am very disappointed and regret buying these boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mokiti from Richardson,TX on Monday, November 05, 2012
    STP should indicate that no inside sole is supplied, so get a size larger to add a good inside sole for foaming.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Cons: Difficult Laces, Too Stiff/Not Flexible
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by j7f3 from Calgary, AB on Monday, May 14, 2012
    Bought them only a few weeks ago. Wore them on one hike and one scramble in the Canadian Rockies thus far. These are pretty decent boots and I do not know where all this negativity is coming from. Laces are useless - true - but that's not a big deal. You will also likely need to get decent insoles. But the leather is supple, the fit is pretty good, I am still breaking them in but so far so good. And traction on steep scree is excellent despite no-name outsoles. Far better than on my older Vibrams.

    Overall, this is a tried and true conservative design. No GoreTex and other useless 'technical' gimmicks. Just 100% leather in and out, thick outsoles, slim toe box that works great for using those small footholds.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Cons: Difficult Laces
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adam from Cairns, Qld, Australia on Saturday, March 03, 2012
    Lovely traditional boots.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cabbage from ky on Monday, December 05, 2011
    They did not appear well made and the soles --ugh --really flimsy. Returned and ordered alico. As usual great service from STP.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Light Loads
    • Cons: Not Durable/ Wears Easily, Not Water Resistant
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Screen7 from Los Angeles, CA on Thursday, November 17, 2011
    The midsole is a bit flimsy for serious hiking, but for light loads and day hiking it's a beautiful boot.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Light Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Traction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Canoe2Can from Pennyslvania on Wednesday, November 16, 2011
    This was a big disappointment. I was undecided between this and the Alico Tahoe, so I bought both. Within a minute, I made my decision. The leather on these boots is very thin, more like dress shoe leather. And they are large and sloppy feeling. They did not hold my heel in place at all. I can't comment on their performance because I am sending them back immediately. For the price and considering the reputation of the maker, these were very disappointing.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking
    • Cons: Not Durable/ Wears Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.