Haglofs Boa Hooded Soft Shell Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Haglofs Boa hooded jacket is a basic soft shell with optimum breathability. The wind-resistant, four-way stretch fabric has a DWR treatment and lets you move freely during a range of activities.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Taras from New York on Saturday, April 04, 2015
    Reale good looking jacket and comfteble
  • Reviewed by Choochoo from New York on Thursday, February 19, 2015
    This is a very versatile jacket that I can use for high energy output activities like ice climbing (when it's not too wet), cross country skiing, trail running, backpacking, etc.). It's pretty wind resistant and sheds a light rain (but not a sustained rain storm). If I anticipate really bad weather I'll grab my hardshell instead.

    The fit is very trim. I'm 5'8", 140lbs and wear a size Sm in most jackets (Marmot. TNF, Patagucci, Rab etc.) and this Haglofs jacket fits well in the body, shoulders & arms. And because the jacket material is so stretchy there's lots of "give" if you need more room in a particular area or when placing my ice tool over my head.

    Note, though, that it fits quite close to the body. For a 20 degree F day, I'd wear a base layer, thin/lightweight micro-fleece, a 60g mid-layer like a Nano Puff and this Haglofs Boa soft shell. Anything more wouldn't fit under the jacket. But that layering system works great if I add a puffy over the Haglofs when I stop at the belay for anything down to 0 deg F or even slightly lower if it's not too windy.

    Likes: very light (about 1 lb in size Sm), I like the green color (stands out, but may show dirt easily), very stretchy, very breathable, 3 way adjustable hood (and I like how the hood draw cords can be adjusted from the outside and doesn't hit your face), hood fits under my helmet. Easy to put on and take off, doesn't snag against my other layers.

    Dislikes: hem is little short, so it just barely stays under my climbing harness & a chest pocket would be nice.

  • Reviewed by koda from Buffalo on Friday, February 21, 2014
    Love this thing. Stretch fabric is awesome. Sizing is a size small to me. I'm 5'9" 180lbs & I bought a XL. I have a wide back / shoulders. It fits well.
  • Reviewed by KEV from Nebraska on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    I'm 5'7", 150 lbs, 32"Waist, 43"Chest, broad shoulders. XL fits perfect when worn over insulating layers and isn't too oversized as to feel tent-like when worn with just a t-shirt underneath. Haglofs size chart indicates XL @ 110cm = 43-inch, which is spot on. Nice taper to the body, but I wouldn't call it athletic, which in this garmet I did not want anyway. I dislike bonded fleece softshell so this unlined garment is exactly what i wanted. It allows me to control the insulating layers and not have the heavy, restrictive, cumbersome feel of bonded softshell. I can go from just a t-shirt underneath to a Rab Photon or Generator (133g and 100g Primaloft respectively) without compressing the insulation. It even fits over a 170-gram primaloft Loki Lodur jacket or Austrian army issue wool sweater, at which point it gets a little snug, but I can still move freely due to the stretch fabric. Wore it in a steady freezing rain (34-degrees F) which later turned to snow without getting wet, which is amazing considering you can hold this up to the light and see through it. Wind resistance is acceptable for not having any windblock membrane or face to the fabric. Hood isn't perfect, but on a miminalist jacket like this I'm surprised they even put a 3-point adjustable hood on it to begin with. Most jackets in this class don't have any hood adjustments or just two in the front. Only two pockets but they are nice and big. Easily holds a beanie and light gloves with room left over for your hands. Only problem is the angle they're at makes it slightly awkward to walk around with your hands in them like typical handwarmer pockets, but since they're hand/cargo pockets I can deal with it.
  • Reviewed by PNW guy from PNW on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    Excellent simple shell! Sizing is right on for standard US sizing. I am an XL in this jacket a with other top brands. Light, breathable, stretchy, very water resistant and wind resistant. The ultimate spring and fall shell/jacket.
  • Reviewed by Dr. T from Colorado on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    Very well built and thought out piece. Has thumb hole which I love. The hood has two separate adjustments for a tight fit for all sizes. I am a little over 6 foot and slender at 170 lbs. the medium fits me prefect. Plenty of length for longer arms. The material is lightweight and durable. This will be in my pack often. Kudos to haglogs on this one!
  • Reviewed by Stephen from DE on Tuesday, March 05, 2013
    Nice cut for a soft shell, good choose in the spring
  • Reviewed by JC from Knoxville, TN on Friday, March 01, 2013
    The sleeves are super long, but the torso was pretty short on me. Also felt like the chest was smaller than the measurements stated. Ended up sending it back the same day I got it. Tried the brown color, which looked different than it appreared online.
  • Reviewed by Steve from NEPA on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    This is unlike any jacket material I have ever used. Stretchy and comfortable with the feel of crepe paper and the elasticity of an ace bandage. I gave an arm the shower test and the material kept all the water on the outside. Used with a mid layer this can be comfortable to near or just below freezing. Tapered design and stretch material makes moving about very comfortable even with broad shoulders.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Buying it all for Christmas from Midwest on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    Feels true to size, and is a great-looking jacket. The materials and construction appear to be of high quality. This was purchased as a gift, so I have not used it, but I tried it on and it has a tailored fit but not a tight taper to the waist. Approximately a Patagonia fit, not a 66 North. Very light, so I would not recommend it as a snowsports shell, more a light alpine outer layer.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #