Haglofs Soft Shell Jacket - Windstopper® (For Men)

Closeouts. Wind screeches to a halt once it reaches Haglofs' Gore Windstopper® soft shell jacket that also sheds water, offers exceptional breathability and enables complete freedom of movement.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews 4.333333
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by Silktap from Hunter, NY on Friday, February 14, 2014
    The craftsmanship is exemplary in this soft shell jacket. I took it with me to Vermont last week and in sub zero weather skiing with only an under armor turtleneck, and a light vest underneath I was kept comfortably warm on the chair! The green color is bright and the functionality of this soft shell jacket is worth every penny. The fabric is quite soft and pliable!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EdY from Wilmington, NC on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    Top notch quality is immediately apparent. This is the perfect jacket for aerobic exercise in colder & inclement weather. Sizing is not skin tight, but there isn't much excess bulk. I'm 6'0" and 185 and the large fit perfect with room for a layer underneath. Pit zips extend usage considerably. Green color is great for visibility. The only negative is that the main zipper is difficult to start.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aaron B. from New Hampshire on Thursday, November 29, 2012
    I had bought this jacket after some considerable waffling between it and a few other soft shells on STP. This one ultimately won out as I had another Haglofs jacket (the Cuda), and I really liked the styling and color of this jacket.

    I had marked this as 'fits true to size', because "feels too small" would be misleading, however, it is definitely an athletic/euro cut and sizing. So, for example, if you're used to the room provided by a Columbia XXL, you will find this jacket to be tight. So, given how warm it is (or isn't), the XXL would be about the right size for someone who usually buys XL's and plans to layer underneath for extra warmth.

    As far as layering is concerned, it does not feel as warm as my Cuda jacket, likely because it's not as effective at blocking wind. The outer material is almost soft, definitely not fleece, but not hard like a shell fabric. People have claimed it's waterproof, and I can't say it's not (haven't worn it in the rain or snow), but it doesn't feel like it is, due to how soft the material is. Once you are layered up however, it's warm enough for being outside socializing or waiting in a lift line, and the jacket is plenty warm when you're actually moving around. It also features very wide cuffs, designed to fit over the tops of gloves. These work very well, and do a great job holding onto gloves.

    The zipper is my only issue with this jacket. It's a very fine-toothed zipper, and is on the left size (seen in the US as a womens jacket, but is actually another common euro design feature), and getting it zipped quickly can be a challenge. Even with both zipper halves held at the end of the zipper firmly, it can take a try or two to get the zipper started. I'm not sure why this is, but it is, and is something it looks like others have said as well.

    Overall, I really like this jacket, it has great styling, is warm enough for most days, and I've received many compliments on it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pw_garfield from Oceanside, CA on Saturday, February 18, 2012
    I really like this Jacket, when walking the Dogs the morning's, I appreciate the high visibility around traffic. Easy to modulate temperature with pit zips when exercising. Comfortable wind proof jacket.The sleeves while initially seem a bit long, fit well when reaching overhead, and do not pull down the arms.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cool Windy, Hiking and Camping, Walking the dogs
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Highly visible, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adam J from Morgantown, WV on Sunday, February 5, 2012
    This is a really solid jacket. I actually purchased this because I had been given a Mountain Hardwear Brono jacket as a gift and the area around the armpits were too tight. I upgraded to this jacket and it fits really well. The material doesn't seem quite as tough as on the Brono, but it looks really good and seems to repel wind/light rain well.

    I really like all of the features of this jacket. The only place that it falls short is the main double-zipper. It takes a lot of effort and concentration to zip. It will never be able to be done with one hand. The only other gripe I have about this jacket is that Haglofs accommodated for large bellies in this jacket, so it seems a hair big on the frontside.

    Overall though, great piece of gear. Very comfortable, other zippers are great, and the adjustable wrists are an added bonus.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Climbing, Hiking and Camping, Springtime
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Hard to Zip, Made for big bellies
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Stylish, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Steve from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    Exceptionally well made jacket. Nice weight, beautiful stitching, smooth outer layer, but not quite as nice interiorly. European zipper side is mildly problematic as well as the fact that it catches on the inner flap canstantly as you draw it to your chin. While windroof, you will feel the cold (below 30F) after a short while. I add a fleece sweatshirt and everything gets comfy for even colder temps and higher winds. Color is vivid and I find the arms to be a little tight from the biceps to the forearm. All in all a beautiful shell worth keeping.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: European side zipper, Needs more pockets, Tight bicep to forearm, Zipper catches fabric
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Excellent craftsmanship, Lightweight, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BenQ from Greenville SC on Thursday, January 5, 2012
    Very functional cut. Good form fitting jacket with longer cut in back to allow good coverage when bending forward such as is necessary for cycling. Pit zips provide extra ventilation. Zippers are less than perfect and require 2 hands - one to pull the jacket tight and one to pull the zipper. Not as smooth as zippers on my other technical jackets and pants. The bright green color is very attractive and provides good visibility for cycling.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dblblk from mammoth on Monday, January 2, 2012
    impressed with the windproofing
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking and Camping, Skiing/Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Zipper hard to start
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kiljoy from spokane on Friday, December 30, 2011
    for [$] I expected a top of the line jacket. We live in Spokane, wa so the winters are below freezing. I also ordered a similar arc'teryx jacket slightly cheaper and it preformed like a winter weight ski jacket with out the bulkiness of a ski jacket. If you live in mild winters 40-50 degrees this would be a nice looking jacket, if i found it on sale for less than $100 I would be
    • Best Uses: Above32F, Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not warm
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PS from Nyc on Thursday, October 27, 2011
    Great foe aerobic activities or light work in moderate temperatures
    • Best Uses: aerobic exercise, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #