Hanwag Dakota Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Versatility is the middle name of Hanwag's Dakota Gore-Tex® hiking boots. Supportive, flexible and completely waterproof, they perform like champs whether it's a week-long backpacking trek or a short hike over mild terrain.

Average Rating based on 35 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 35 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirt Road Living from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    I am a forester in Pennsylvania spending 6 to 8 hours daily walking rough terrain. I have tried many brands of boots.
    Hanwag craftsmanship was evident right out of the box. So good I ordered a second pair. Some of the reviews recommended
    ordering a half size larger so I did. I'm between a US 9.5 and 10, so I ordered the 9 UK. I think I would have been fine with
    An 8.5 UK (9.5 US). But with 2 two pairs of socks they feel great. Lightweight and the vibram sole is great for slippery rocks
    and logs. I will be looking for a Hanwag winter boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lost Hop from Great Plains/Wyoming on Monday, April 28, 2014
    I was looking for a lighter alternative to my heavy all-leather backpacking boots for when I'm a carrying a lighter load.
    These Hanwag's appear to fill that need.
    Very comfortable with reduced weight but good support.
    I haven't owned them long enough to evaluate longevity or waterproofness.

    Be sure to correctly decipher the sizing chart.
  • Reviewed by deer shed hunter from wisconsin on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    great hiking shoes for the spring . lots of support and very comfortable right from the start.kept my feet dry as well
  • Reviewed by rotartiller from Alabama on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    I ordered the 42(US 10) and 43(US 10.5) Euro sizes just to be sure of the fit. I had measured my feet closely and fell somewhere around a US 10 and maybe a little more. The 43 felt good but had excessive heal slippage which would probably get worse the more I wore them. The 42 feels a little snug on the top outside of both feet and the toe box is not as roomy. So, they are running pretty close to true to size. They are loosening up bit by bit and I hope they loosen up some more before I get serious with them. Smartwool PhD socks with thick padding seem to help. I have been walking in them between 2 and 4 miles a a day for a week or two. I put green Superfeet in them and the jury is still out on whether they will stay in or not. The lacing system is very good and the tongue is a full length leather gusset of ample thickness. Anyhow, the overall quality is good and the weight is 1.5 Lb per pair lighter than the beloved 16 yr old Scarpas that came before them. As I get older I find it prudent to shed pounds wherever possible. Scarpa's abysmal customer service steered me away from them on this purchase. I know I won't get 16 yrs out of these but then again I didn't pay 300 bucks for them either. If I get anything over 5 I will be happy with them.
  • Reviewed by Kevin from Massachusetts on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    These are high quality boots. I was very impressed. I wear a size 8.5 US and based on other reviews here, I ordered the UK size 8. They fit perfectly.
    Thanks.
  • Reviewed by Sierra Stream Crosser from CA on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    Well made boot with good torsional rigidity. Comfortable, flexible, sturdy. Insole is lightweight and should be upgraded for long term comfort with heavy pack. Like it better than the Danner Rimtrail because of the sturdy soles. They were less expensive than other boots. 9.5 EU was about a 10.5 US in size.
  • Reviewed by bobcat_pass from Montana on Monday, February 17, 2014
    These boots seem to be very good. I ordered the same size as what would show on a commercial foot size measurement device and they seem to fit fine. I also bought some sole softec thin footbeds. The footbeds were cut to match the existing insoles.

    The Hanwag boots have good arch support and my foot can be laced tight to the sole. Also the laces go almost to the toe, allowing for some width adjustment.

    I gave away the Asolo boots to a rehab outfit, as they had poor traction on ice/snow. The traction for the Hanwag boot seems much better.
  • Reviewed by frankie from South Carolina on Friday, February 14, 2014
    Bought these boots last year, been on several hikes in the mountains, winter/summer.
    They fit great, on size and so lite and comfortable I was elated.
    After hiking all day my feet felt like I had just put them on, remarkable.
    No sore feet, or ankles, no chaffing, no cold feet, no hot feet, no stink, no brag just fact.
    Wow ! What a great boot, I recommend them to everyone I know, thank you Hanwag.
  • Reviewed by bobcat_pass from Billings, MT on Monday, February 10, 2014
    A few years ago, I bought some of the other name brand boots embellished with all kinds of stripes and became concerned about getting mugged for them. A homeless man just stared at the boots and said, "Those are really nice boots." They had no traction on ice. I finally just gave them away.

    I have flat feet, narrow heel, and wide instep, had a bad horse accident that messed up one foot, consequently, I need a soiid-shanked boot to offset having no arch support.

    As the the foot is effectively lashed to a very solid shank sole, addition of the heat formed molded insole, greatly reduces potential for sprained ankle. The lacing system seems effective, as i heated the insoles in the oven, put the insole in these boots and then laced the boot and walked around, to mold the insole to the bottom of the foot.

    So far the use has been for shoveling the sidewalk and walking the dog in the snow.. Sole is fairly wide at instep.

    A few years ago, I bought some of the other name brand boots embellished with all kinds of stripes and became concerned about getting mugged for them (a starving man knows nothing). A homeless man just stared at the boots and said, "Those are really nice boots." They had no traction on ice. I finally just gave them away
  • Reviewed by sarge from new york on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    I recommend ordering 1 to 1.5 U.S, Size larger. These are the best boots and 100% waterproff. Bought this pair for work.
  • Reviewed by mountain guy from Montana on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    These were a gift for my son who was thrilled with the idea of such a highly reputed brand. These have not tarnished that Rep one iota. Though still fairly new, they are proving to be very high quality, thoughtfully designed and well engineered.
    Thus far, he is very pleased with them and he has a good number of high end boots. I should mention we live near the mountains in Montana and spend a great deal of time scouting, bow and rifle hunting, as well as camping/hiking in rugged, unforgiving terrain. His approval is based upon this level of experience.
  • Reviewed by MTDreams from Bozeman on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    NOTE: Product not field tested yet. Know that this is a first impressions review. I will follow up once I have broken them in.

    SIZING:

    I wear a 10.5 US and use orthotics with aggressive arch support to counter suppination. Boots for me must have the interior room for inserts. This is why I put ORTHOTIC in the review - to help those who are looking for reviews matching their needs.

    After spending hours, like I do, reading reviews all over the net I decided to purchase these site unseen. Again I wear a 10.5 USA (9.5 UK per the chart). Per other reviews [saying the UK size did not exactly match the US size - people kept getting boots too short] I ordered these in a 10 UK. The label on the inside (of the boot) says they are UK 10 EUR 44.5. My big toe reaches to just under the rubber toe Rand. Perfect - Thank you reviewers!

    NOTE: The reviews were right about the insole. The insole which comes with these is pretty low quality. I don't plan to move my professional orthotics in and out of these constantly so I bought the SUPERFEET GREENS. There is plenty of interior room for "lifts" like these without creating hot spots.

    WEIGHT:

    These boots are light. I was concerned that the light weight would mean they were not serious boots. Concerned that they would be like a WALMART boot twisting and flexing like loose rubber. To my surprise they are supportive like boots should be. Twisting and flexing by hand doesn't create much movement, if at all. The fact is they are solid boots which don't weight me down. This is a bonus which I was not expecting.

    APPEARANCE:

    I got these in the Brown. The look is exactly what I like in a boot. Traditional and serviceable. There are makers out there who have gone so Bankok [...] in their styling (Merrel is one) that I can't even consider their boots. When I put the box on the table and pulled them out both my wife and 9- year old said "wow, those are nice looking boots". I agree. Nice, heavy brushed rubber toe and heels hands. Double stitching on all stitches. They look good and solid.

    FEEL:

    Being an orthotic wearer my feet put pressure on shoes in different ways. I find that I can tell within the first 10 seconds whether a shoe will work for me or not.

    These felt great straight from the box. Forming and supportive but comfortable too. I can tell there will be little break in period. Like I said I threw in a pair of SF Greens without finding any detriment to comfort. I have worn them for a few hours running around town with the SF Greens in them. I have found no hot spots. They feel just right.

    The North Face, Lowa and Asolo all fit me like a glove. Others manufactures are too tight or become too tight once an orthotic is in. I now have a new manufacturer who I can go to for boots!

    TREAD:

    Vibram. I have to say my first impression is that the treads are not very deep though. I worry that could lead to early loss of tread (as they wear down on the trail). But we'll see. The lugs appear aggressive enough to provide traction. Again I'll log another review once I have broken these in on the trail. These can be retreaded.

    So there is my initial impressions. I'm quite happy with the purchase so far.

    If you wear orthotics you should know that the UK sizing may be a little off so look to go up a little. For me they are able to receive the inserts while still fitting comfortably.
  • Reviewed by Oregon tree farmer from Western oregon on Sunday, January 05, 2014
    Great fit out of the box. I work these boots hard as a tree farmer in the Oregon mud. 3 months so far. If they continue to hold up they will be my best boot buy in the last 10 years.
  • Reviewed by Billygoat42 from California on Wednesday, December 25, 2013
    This is my third pair of Hanwag boots. They remind me of the great Sundowner Vasque boots of 20 years ago. They are light but give excellent ankle
    and foot support. I wore them for the first time yesterday and I wore them in town, they are so clean it was hard to consider them on the ranch. The toe
    box seems to be tighter than the other styles of Hanwag that I have purchased. I will wear a lighter weight sock until they are fully adapted to my feet and
    then we will see. It is a horribly warm winter in North State California, but the boots did not seem hot, nor did I sweat in them and there was no chaffing
    at the heel or ankle. Another good aspect is they are not overly stiff or klunkish. I am 72 years old but my legs did not weary from wearing them. Great pair of boots
  • Reviewed by PAI from ZHEJIANG on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    it's doing well in a lonely village in southern china,supportive, flexible and completely waterproof. Hiking isn't popular in china ,but it have a very good prospect .
  • Reviewed by Paul the Detectorist from East coast Va. on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
    I look forward at the end of the day to take off my work shoes and put these shoes on. A little stiff at first , but what shoe isn't? I wear size 10.5 and after reading other peoples reviews I ordered size 11. A perfect fit. I haven't put them to the waterproof test but, they are well made and if they don't pass I will be surprised. I am often in the field or woods,and no problems with durability.
  • Reviewed by Wildjuan from Loleta, CA on Sunday, October 20, 2013
    These boots seem to be all that they are cracked up to be. Great support, very sturdy and so far very comfortable. Tired of all of the cheap junk from China? Germany knows how to make a better boot!
  • Reviewed by gukamuk from usa on Monday, September 23, 2013
    I purchased these for Geology field camp in the spring. Then practically lived in them for 6 weeks. Could not be happier. Much roomier than Asolo and other yellow label boots. Feel great all day long and in the morning couldn't wait to put them back on. GREAT product.
  • Reviewed by sarge from new york on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    I am glad I read the reviews and I order an half size large. The do fit and they appear to be well worth the money. And most importantly-Not Made In China.
  • Reviewed by Sierra Roadrunner from High Sierra's on Sunday, July 21, 2013
    I was looking for a comfortable boot with a wide toe box and the Hanwag Dakota is right on the mark. I have been wearing the first pair I bought almost daily for the last six months, and just recently ordered another pair while they were still available. The lacings are easy and solid, and the boots are wearable without any issues right out of the box.
  • Reviewed by Fishcane from Michigan on Wednesday, July 17, 2013
    These are nice boots. I have a fairly narrow heel, and wider toe area, and Hanwag's allways fit great. I have about a 100 miles on the boots, took about 15 miles to break in. Fit great, good support, I really like the extra hieght of the boot, and the traction is very good.
  • Reviewed by KY Hunt Guy from Kentucky on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    Great fit. Very supportive at the ankle. Just walking around, very comfortable, but have not had a chance to put them to a real test.
  • Reviewed by Casual hiker from Madison, WI on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    Boots appear to be well-made but have had problems with the fit. I ordered my size, a 10, but both boots fit uncomfortably tight at first, especially the left one; which is peculiar as my right foot is slightly larger than my left. I crammed a smooth, fist-sized, oval-shaped rock into each boot for a week and the fit was much improved. However, after the first full day of wearing the boots after the rock stretching there were abrasions on the top left side of my right foot. However, I did not notice any chafing while wearing them. Have placed the rocks back into the boots in the hope I might actually be able to comfortably wear them again some day. Had hoped to wear them on my trip next week to Sedona, AZ but can't trust them now. I also find the boots to be quite stiff with no flex in the footbed and somewhat clunky.

    After I bought the boots, I did find a review of them on another website that mentioned that these boots run small and they suggested ordering one-half size larger than your normal size. Had I know this beforehand, I would not have ordered the boots. Wish footwear sellers would check the actual size of the boots before they send them out to ensure they are the size they claim to be. Would save a lot of time, money, and disappointment. Have a feeling I will be looking for a new pair of boots but it won't be from an online seller.
  • Reviewed by Jonny Runner from Colorado Springs- Pikes Peak Hike on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    Did not take long to break this boot in. Took it on a mountain hike and it fared well. The sold is very firm and will hold up to the pounding this boot can take. Gore-Tex is a pleasant bonus.
  • Reviewed by Outdoor Gary from WI on Monday, March 18, 2013
    They seem to be a good booot. I wear a US size 11, I ordered a =Us size 11 1/2 and glad I did. Could almost go to a 12.
    Will follow up after I wear for some time in the woods.
  • Reviewed by roy o'seco from Aridzone on Monday, March 18, 2013
    After trying many different models and brands of boots, I found these European made boots to fit well and to be sturdy and supportive enough for the sort of hiking i do, which is often on rough trails or off trail across high desert terrain, down into canyons, and back up onto rocky brush and cactus festooned mesas; beautiful country that is tough on boots and feet. They also have a reasonably sized toe box and stabilize the foot well enough for most types of hiking. I'm sure I'll appreciate the goretex liner, which makes a boot warmer and sweatier, ( change socks frequently to prevent blisters) when I get into the high country, the snow, and in crossing shallow streams.
    STPs customer service is outstanding as is their sale pricing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by k2013man from salt lake city, ut on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    I was a little concerned about the fit and comfort, the boot seemed a little narrow. I had exchanged this boot for a larger size as my first purchase of this boot was a bit too small. My worries quickly disappeared during my first outing on a crusty snow-packed trail. The boot became more comfortable as I hiked along - my concerns turned into smiles.
    Another great quality/value purchase from STP!
    Please note that the exchange was quick and simple.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Out in the boonies from Southern California hi desert on Tuesday, January 22, 2013
    If these boots had a safety toe I would wear them at work, favorite hiker to put on after work or on the weekend.
    From walking around a cabin on 5 acres in the boonies to going to town, I enjoy the super quality feel and fit of these boots.
    Obviously from the build they are going to last a long time, I invested in two pair to "switch off days" for drying time which enables footwear longivity.
    I have worn several decent boots from various makers and this is the "king of the hill"
    You may forget they are on your feet but when you look down and see them, it makes you smile.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by spike from Boston on Monday, January 21, 2013
    Hope it makes it to top of Kilmanjaro nexxt month
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stan the Runner from Clinton, NJ on Friday, December 21, 2012
    I had a pair of Raichle boots for over 10 years that I absolutely loved. I used the Raichle's everywhere and I've been looking for nearly 10 years for a boot of similar quality and comfort (Raichle quit making it). After reading the reviews of the Hanwag Dakota Hiking Boots I thought I'd try them out. As soon as I put them on I knew they were excellent. Very comfortable, high quality stitching, good toebox, durable materials. I loved the boots instantly. I've worn them for two solid days around the house to try them out. Awesome feel, no blisters at all. I haven't tried them on trails but I usually know from wearing boots around the house how they are going to fare. I think these will be excellent and may replace my beloved Raichle's. I can't wait to hike in them.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 35 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.