Hanwag Dakota Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Versatility is the middle name of Hanwag's Dakota Gore-Tex® hiking boots. Supportive, flexible and completely waterproof, they perform like champs whether it's a week-long backpacking trek or a short hike over mild terrain.

Average Rating based on 35 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 35 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirt Road Living from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    I am a forester in Pennsylvania spending 6 to 8 hours daily walking rough terrain. I have tried many brands of boots.
    Hanwag craftsmanship was evident right out of the box. So good I ordered a second pair. Some of the reviews recommended
    ordering a half size larger so I did. I'm between a US 9.5 and 10, so I ordered the 9 UK. I think I would have been fine with
    An 8.5 UK (9.5 US). But with 2 two pairs of socks they feel great. Lightweight and the vibram sole is great for slippery rocks
    and logs. I will be looking for a Hanwag winter boot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lost Hop from Great Plains/Wyoming on Monday, April 28, 2014
    I was looking for a lighter alternative to my heavy all-leather backpacking boots for when I'm a carrying a lighter load.
    These Hanwag's appear to fill that need.
    Very comfortable with reduced weight but good support.
    I haven't owned them long enough to evaluate longevity or waterproofness.

    Be sure to correctly decipher the sizing chart.
  • Reviewed by deer shed hunter from wisconsin on Tuesday, April 1, 2014
    great hiking shoes for the spring . lots of support and very comfortable right from the start.kept my feet dry as well
  • Reviewed by rotartiller from Alabama on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    I ordered the 42(US 10) and 43(US 10.5) Euro sizes just to be sure of the fit. I had measured my feet closely and fell somewhere around a US 10 and maybe a little more. The 43 felt good but had excessive heal slippage which would probably get worse the more I wore them. The 42 feels a little snug on the top outside of both feet and the toe box is not as roomy. So, they are running pretty close to true to size. They are loosening up bit by bit and I hope they loosen up some more before I get serious with them. Smartwool PhD socks with thick padding seem to help. I have been walking in them between 2 and 4 miles a a day for a week or two. I put green Superfeet in them and the jury is still out on whether they will stay in or not. The lacing system is very good and the tongue is a full length leather gusset of ample thickness. Anyhow, the overall quality is good and the weight is 1.5 Lb per pair lighter than the beloved 16 yr old Scarpas that came before them. As I get older I find it prudent to shed pounds wherever possible. Scarpa's abysmal customer service steered me away from them on this purchase. I know I won't get 16 yrs out of these but then again I didn't pay 300 bucks for them either. If I get anything over 5 I will be happy with them.
  • Reviewed by Kevin from Massachusetts on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    These are high quality boots. I was very impressed. I wear a size 8.5 US and based on other reviews here, I ordered the UK size 8. They fit perfectly.
    Thanks.
  • Reviewed by Sierra Stream Crosser from CA on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    Well made boot with good torsional rigidity. Comfortable, flexible, sturdy. Insole is lightweight and should be upgraded for long term comfort with heavy pack. Like it better than the Danner Rimtrail because of the sturdy soles. They were less expensive than other boots. 9.5 EU was about a 10.5 US in size.
  • Reviewed by bobcat_pass from Montana on Monday, February 17, 2014
    These boots seem to be very good. I ordered the same size as what would show on a commercial foot size measurement device and they seem to fit fine. I also bought some sole softec thin footbeds. The footbeds were cut to match the existing insoles.

    The Hanwag boots have good arch support and my foot can be laced tight to the sole. Also the laces go almost to the toe, allowing for some width adjustment.

    I gave away the Asolo boots to a rehab outfit, as they had poor traction on ice/snow. The traction for the Hanwag boot seems much better.
  • Reviewed by frankie from South Carolina on Friday, February 14, 2014
    Bought these boots last year, been on several hikes in the mountains, winter/summer.
    They fit great, on size and so lite and comfortable I was elated.
    After hiking all day my feet felt like I had just put them on, remarkable.
    No sore feet, or ankles, no chaffing, no cold feet, no hot feet, no stink, no brag just fact.
    Wow ! What a great boot, I recommend them to everyone I know, thank you Hanwag.
  • Reviewed by bobcat_pass from Billings, MT on Monday, February 10, 2014
    A few years ago, I bought some of the other name brand boots embellished with all kinds of stripes and became concerned about getting mugged for them. A homeless man just stared at the boots and said, "Those are really nice boots." They had no traction on ice. I finally just gave them away.

    I have flat feet, narrow heel, and wide instep, had a bad horse accident that messed up one foot, consequently, I need a soiid-shanked boot to offset having no arch support.

    As the the foot is effectively lashed to a very solid shank sole, addition of the heat formed molded insole, greatly reduces potential for sprained ankle. The lacing system seems effective, as i heated the insoles in the oven, put the insole in these boots and then laced the boot and walked around, to mold the insole to the bottom of the foot.

    So far the use has been for shoveling the sidewalk and walking the dog in the snow.. Sole is fairly wide at instep.

    A few years ago, I bought some of the other name brand boots embellished with all kinds of stripes and became concerned about getting mugged for them (a starving man knows nothing). A homeless man just stared at the boots and said, "Those are really nice boots." They had no traction on ice. I finally just gave them away
  • Reviewed by sarge from new york on Tuesday, February 4, 2014
    I recommend ordering 1 to 1.5 U.S, Size larger. These are the best boots and 100% waterproff. Bought this pair for work.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 35 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.