Hanwag Dakota Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof, Leather (For Women)

Closeouts. Hanwag's Dakota hiking boots feature a super-sturdy, waterproof breathable design that lasts season after season of trail-mucking, backcountry adventures, thanks to a Gore-Tex® membrane and lightweight nubuck leather and mesh upper with extra padding around the ankle.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by NYC mom from New York City on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
    I wear a US 7.5 dress shoe and a size 8 boot. Ordered UK 5.5 (US 7.5) and while my foot slides easily in and is snug in the heel, there is too much padding in the toe box. My toes feel compressed. The boot is very well made and I'm sorry they do not fit!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lablady from Upstate New York on Wednesday, October 01, 2014
    The past several pairs of hiking boots I've owned have been Asolo Gortex boots. I wore them a lot, actually wore one pair out completely, and they were *almost* perfect for me. I have a very high arch, and even though the Asolos have some good arch support, probably great for most people, I need a little more. These Hanwag boots were available at an affordable price with a substantial discount email coupon from Sierra, so I bought them. Wow, just what I wanted! Perfect arch support for me, great fit, very light and comfortable. I haven't been hiking in them yet but I have confidence that the boots will serve me even better than the Asolos.
  • Reviewed by Yoga Wanna Be from Minnesota on Monday, March 10, 2014
    I received these boots (after having to return the first pair to size up like many others) in early November, just in time for the first big snow fall. I've worn these boots all winter long through -40 windchills and 5 feet of snow. I've officially retired my Sorel snowboots for any snow less than 5 inches, because I love these boots and the ankle support they provide. I wear a pair of thick smartwool socks which help keep my feet warm enough to get through a 45min walk with my pups. I also like that the soles are not as large as my snow boots and that I can put my stabil-icers on to give traction on glare ice. For snow, slush, and just patches of ice, these boots have been great!

    I definitely recommend like others going a size up so you have the recommended amount of toe room for more rugged hikes. Nothing worse than jamming your toes into the ends of your boots the whole time, especially when you can prevent it by sizing up.

    P.S. I have bunions and the toe box is wide enough to not restrict my toes even with thick socks on (but definitely size up!)
  • Reviewed by Hanwag from Hanwag on Friday, January 31, 2014
    This pair of outdoor boots from Germany, really comfortable. Worthy of a German technology
  • Reviewed by Hunter Girl from Aspen, Colorado on Monday, July 22, 2013
    I do about 10-15 backbacking trips during the year (For scouting/ hunting) and thus have gone through many boots, but NOT one pair can compare to these. I have serious knee / hip problems and its hard for me to find a boot that supports me enough- but they DO IT! When I go hunting, I have to backpack out about 100 lbs of meat on my back for about a 5 miles (off the trails) hike and these boots support my body enough that I can last 7-10 days in the backcountry without any problems. They run a lil small (I got a 1/2 size bigger) and they fit great with 1 layer of wool socks. They are 100% waterproof and very strong. They are a lil stiff until you break them in fully- which takes a few good hikes.
  • Reviewed by h12 from NY on Tuesday, June 04, 2013
    These are probably going to be the best boots I have ever put miles on. It is extremely rare for me to find a shoe that supports my very high arches and need for a wide toe box. These fit like a glove and seem like they are going to provide great stability to prevent internal or external rotation for ankle stability. They traction on the treads is fabulous. I can hardly wait to start day hikes. Be sure to downsize. I had to downsize a whole size. STP was great about the exchange.
  • Reviewed by Jim from Upstate New York on Sunday, May 26, 2013
    These are, without doubt, the finest boots that I have ever owned. I have gone through boots by Danner, Asolo and Lowa and these are most clearly of a higher quality. I just ordered a pair of Hanwag Bergler Bio boots and I can not wait to get them!!! Try Hanwags you will not regret it!!
  • Reviewed by Katrina from Idaho on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    Light but sturdy, I normally wear an 8.5 or 9 in ladies, the 7 in this is still large, but worth wearing with thicker socks as I love the width.
  • Reviewed by Connie from BC, Canada on Saturday, March 16, 2013
    I was advised on the STP site that these boots run large so bought a half size smaller. They fit perfectly. I have balance problems and these boots have a very sturdy footbed. They are also lightweight and that is a combo that is not easy to find. They keep my feet dry in wet grass while I am out tracking with my dogs.
  • Reviewed by Katrina from Idaho on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    These boots run very large, my 8.5's were listed as a UK 42.5, in opposition to a previous reviewers of 41.5, Im on my third pair trying to get the sizing down, but I believe the boot well made, and the toe box roomy which is most important aspect to me.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.