Customer Reviews Of:
Hanwag Escalator Cocona®-Lined Trail Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Fusing the flexibility of a light hiker with the support and protection of an approach shoe, Hanwag Escalator trail shoes have a breathable Cordura® mesh upper and a quick-drying Cocona® lining that's ideal for technical hikes in hot weather.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.090909 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by World wide hiker from Adelaide AUSTRALIA on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    Great shoes, strong, but light and very eye catching. Great support. A lot has been said on various sites about the fit, check out the fitting guide, forget whatever size you normally take and read the guide, its not that hard.
  • Reviewed by visitorsb from Washington state on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    I am totally happy with these shoes. They are supportive, feel snug around my feet - but not too snug or tight - and they feel as though they are going to remain sturdy for some time. And they are made in Europe where hiking is a popular activity, so you know the Germans and Czechs, and other Europeans are going to construct a quality pair of hiking shoes. They fit true to size both in length and width.
  • Reviewed by Long Walk from Spokane, WA on Saturday, November 9, 2013
    Returned these shoes. These were intended to replace a two-year-old pair of Asolo shoes. The Hanwag didn't have the stable feel of the Asolos.
  • Reviewed by Mistrfix from Adirondacks upstate NY on Tuesday, October 1, 2013
    This is obviously a well made hiking shoe. Comfortable immediately and getting better with each wearing.
  • Reviewed by dr marc from nevada on Thursday, September 12, 2013
    what a great shoe. really, really well made. I use them in my work day at the office.
  • Reviewed by Shoe Searcher from Boulder, Colorado on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    Ordered two sizes (UK 9 and 9.5) that I thought would cover my normal shoe size (US 10). The shoes arrived today and unfortunately neither fit. I have a wide forefoot (EE), narrow heel and medium to high arch. The shoes have too narrow a toe box and too wide of a heel to fit my feet. My forefoot started to cramp as soon as I put on the shoes and my heel slipped out of the rear of the shoes when I walked. I tried some creative lacing but was still unsuccessful with getting the shoes to fit my feet. Note that in my opinion, the last eyelets for lacing seem very far forward. The shoes appear well made so if they had fit I would have definitely kept them. I am giving them 2 stars because they didn't fit my feet but that doesn't mean they wouldn't be a 5 star shoe for anyone else.
  • Reviewed by Kevin from Wisconsin on Thursday, August 15, 2013
    I will never again buy a Hanwag. After 1 day on the trail in the backcountry of Yosemite, my pinkies became crushed under my fourth digits and my big toes became numb from lack of toe box room. I developed pinky blisters, then blisters under the blisters. It almost disabled me. It's been 2 days since I got off the trail, and although my blisters are healing slowly, my big toes are still numb.

    I ordered the right size too, a UK 9 based on my US 10 foot. And I broke the shoes in over 2 months before my backpacking trip, not that it helped.

    My companion had a pair of low cut Keens. He loved them.

    STP is taking the shoes back, and offered me a full refund. Maybe I'll get some Keens. Thanks, STP. Boo, Hanwag.
  • Reviewed by Bob with bony ankles from Upper Michigan on Saturday, July 27, 2013
    Thought I'd try a pair of hanwags because of the founder's creds. They were extremely well built, solid - full board last - and probably great for the rocky, uneven trail. Unfortunately, my feet (narrow, high arch) didn't like the "ride" so I returned them (back into Asolos). I would recommend these shoes to someone with a wider foot platform. Additionally, they are a good looking shoe with great features. Not a kick around, out on the town shoe but a serious low cut hiker.
  • Reviewed by Rrrrr from reality on Wednesday, July 24, 2013
    I have three pairs of Asolos and two pairs of Adidas.. all good, but these are special. After a full day of really going.. what I notice... very light, cool (no sweat), very stable and precise footing. In all the technical stuff we do, it actually feels like everything's easier.. and safer.. and at the end of the day my feet are still good. I can't recommend them enough. I bought two pair just cause.. and I'd buy another pair if I didn't think these will last forever.
  • Reviewed by RunnerGirlNM from New Mexico on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    I haven't had the chance to wear these on a hike yet, but they are very nice, sturdy, good looking, and well made. I'm impressed right out of the box. I've had to return them twice to get the right size. UK sizing is a full size larger than US, so order appropriately. Sierra should include a UK-US conversion chart on their site - it would have saved me some time.

    http://www.safariquip.co.uk/all-categories/mens-footwear/shoe-size-comparisons-tables/
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2