Named after its intrepid founder Hans Wagner, Hanwag has been making superior hiking boots and footwear in Bavaria for more than 90 years. Coming from a family of shoemakers, Hans began his bootmaking career in Munich in 1919 and opened his first workshop in Vierkirchen in 1921. Today, many Hanwag boot models are still crafted in Vierkirchen, with additional manufacturing facilities locates in Hungary and Croatia. In 2011, Hanwag celebrated its 90th anniversary. When you need rugged, extremely well-made footwear to conquer the great outdoors, Hanwag boots are always an excellent choice.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 40
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tender Foot from Massachusetts on Wednesday, July 13, 2016
    I have a narrow foot so I was hopeful for a good fit after reading other reviews about this shoe being on the narrow side. Unfortunately, they were too narrow, especially in the toe box (NO wiggle room) so returned them. The ordering and return process was a snap so no issues there.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Public Display Name from Rockville, Maryland on Thursday, June 30, 2016
    Love the Hans Wagner products and this is my third pair of their boots, and a pair of their Yak low top shoes. Good fit, excellent quality, great durability. Was especially pleased to get them at a closeout price. Recommend their boots and shoes anytime without hesitation or reservation.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Country Life from Ellensburg on Wednesday, March 23, 2016
    Hanwag fits my foot...narrow heal, but wide toe box... quality boots for women & men
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bobcat_pass from Montana on Monday, March 21, 2016
    Soles have good traction and stay relatively clean. I made new shoelaces from 79" of 420 para cord. For this to work the ends need to be melted and sealed smaller than the space between the ball bearing and the metal part of the eyelet. I watched some of the U-tube videos and started using a candle and a pliers with mismatched jaws (diamond shaped space) to compress the end of the string. Probably good idea to use a dust mask to keep from inhaling a nylon filament.

    This shoe seems to sized about 1/2 size too small. The shoes marked US 11.5 are actually about size 11. Roomy box toe.,. don't attract attention in the city...the way flamboyantly colored hiking boots make one appear to be a "mark" in the city center.

    A few years ago I wore some other German brand boots downtown and greatly appreciated that people I didn't want to notice the shoes, noticed the shoes and were aware they retail for $300..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karissa from New Jersey ... but longing to move back to Oregon. on Friday, February 19, 2016
    Got these for my husband. They appear to be durable, waterproof, comfortable, and ready for many adventures. I was unfamiliar with Hanwag, but they appear to be a great company based out of Germany and are known for quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bobcat_pass from Montana on Thursday, February 18, 2016
    These are great, made with high quality leather, have narrow heal and relatively wide forefoot; the sizing is creative; a size 11 US podiatric association approved Sole insole fits exactly in size US 12 shoe. The leather lining is more comfortable and makes for much dryer feet than the waterproof liner type boots.

    Non-marking sole with good traction. Used 79 inches of 420 para cord for shoes laces; these run through the ball bearing lower eyelets much easier than factory shoe laces.

    Have very good arch support. My plantar fascia has greatly improved since I started wearing these boots with Sole insoles.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karissa from New Jersey ... but longing to move back to Oregon. on Sunday, February 14, 2016
    I got these boots for my husband a few months ago. He has worn them only a few times, due to our lack of hiking in winter because of the extreme cold, but he reports that they are comfortable, fit great with his wool socks, are waterproof, and appear that they will stand up to beating over a long time. Great German-made boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bobcat_pass from Montan on Saturday, February 13, 2016
    The sizing is unique; the size 12 US / size 11 England seems to be a size 11 US. This shoe has a narrow heel and relatively wide forefoot.

    The sole has good traction outside; and doesn't seem to mark up the floor in the house.

    The factory shoelaces were replaced the shoelaces made from with 78 inches of 425 para cord. I like the leather lined "Tatra" model better; as due to having a plantar fascia foot injury and not needing the waterproof feature, I am wearing the Tatra around town.

    A size 11 unmolded Sole insole (American Pediatric Association "accepted") fits exactly in the size 12 boots. Theoretically the shape of the Sole insole should be anatomically correct.

    The factory shoelaces were replaced the shoelaces made from with 78 inches of 425 para cord; can be laced tighter than the factory laces. The ball bearing feature in the lower "eyelets also works better with the para cord; seems to help as I am back to running every other day.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WaveTrekker from Wash DC on Wednesday, February 3, 2016
    I bought these Hanwag boots for my wife, after being very impressed with a pair I bought for myself (Yellowstone model), but she found the leather ankle cuff too stiff. I told her to break them in, but she wasn't having it. She mentioned that they felt heavy, and too "clod-hopper-ish". She won't be carrying any more than 10 pounds on her back, so these boots may be overkill for her anyways. I like the cemented sole because the boots can be re-soled. The Vibram tread is awesome & beefy. The leather is good quality, and so is everything else.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WaveTrekker from Wash DC on Wednesday, February 3, 2016
    I had no prior experience with Hanwag boots, but the cemented sole appealed to me because I plan on re-soling these boots. The Vibram tread is awesome & beefy. On pavement, the boot rides tough, but once on dirt it really livens up, and I feel confident. I slipped a bit on ice, but without spikes I can't fault the shoe. The upper leather is good quality, and the vents in-between add for flexibility and breathability... but my feet are steamy after a long hike.

    I added my own insoles for comfort, because my big toe was getting irritated on the bottom (just not much cushion), and now the boot fits better. My heels move a little, but no worse than every other boot I've tried.

    Overall, a pretty solid boot. Magic? Not really, but I expect to break them in and have a long love affair.

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 40
;