Customer Reviews Of:
Hawksley & Wight Wool Gabardine Skirt (For Women)

Closeouts. Go with this worsted wool gabardine skirt from the master tailors at Hawksley & Wight... for a classy look that holds its own at dressier engagements and professional office environments.

Average Rating based on 29 reviews 3.344827 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gardener from Redmond, Washington on Sunday, December 30, 2012
    I usually wear an 8, but the 6 fits perfectly in this skirt. The waist is incredibly small, even for me. I had to set the button over. I also hemmed it up about 8 inches. After all that I have a wonderful, timeless skirt.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by j.kay from Washington, DC on Tuesday, December 4, 2012
    Super narrow at the hem but perfect around hips and waist. Not comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bargain Shopper from Washington, DC on Sunday, May 22, 2011
    I'm pleased with the quality fabric and the workmanship is just outstanding. Yet, I'm also puzzled about the snug waist line, even with the elastic added that should have provided a little more room. The waist and hip measurements just don't seem to match in size. But overall I consider this to be a good buy and the price was more than fair. With the $$ I saved in price, I'll take this skirt to my tailor for a little tweeking and then I'll be good to go.
    • Best Uses: Special Occasions, Wear to Church
    • Comfort vs Style: Style Driven
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Nice Color, Nice Fabric
    • Waist: Feels too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NoleGirl from Tallahassee, FL on Wednesday, April 6, 2011
    Waist on the skirt required it to sit too high on my body; nice fabric and skirt, but I'll be returning it because of the fit in the waist.
    • Best Uses: Wear To Work
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Figure Flattering, Nice Color, Nice Fabric
    • Waist: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deb from NH on Wednesday, November 10, 2010
    The waistband is too tight for me, but I'm not a perfect size. If I remove the elastic it will probably be okay. The material is a nice weave. It is lightweight wool; can wear for 3 seasons. The back inverted pleat at the hem is a nice feature.
    • Best Uses: Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Nice Color, Nice Fabric
    • Waist: Feels too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joan from Boston, ma on Tuesday, October 19, 2010
    [...]
    • Best Uses: Wear To Work
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Nice Color, Nice Fabric, Nice hand
    • Waist: Feels true to size
  • Reviewed by akkeeperathome from Eagle River, AK on Saturday, October 2, 2010
    Loved the look of the skirt, the pockets, and the fabric, but it was too small both in my usual size and in the next size up; also too short for me.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Too tight all around, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Nice Color, Nice Fabric
    • Waist: Feels too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by butterfly 11 from mn on Sunday, September 26, 2010
    Was hoping to be able to wear this skirt to work. But the waist was to tight and the area in the hips was to big for me. Did like the color.
    • Best Uses: Wear To Work
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Nice Color
    • Waist: Feels too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandy from Juneau AK on Tuesday, July 20, 2010
    This was not the skirt I was looking for. The waist was way too small for the skirt. The skirt looked huge, especially around the hips. I think it would balloon when you sit down; although the waist was almost too small to even zip up.
    • Best Uses: Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Comfort vs Style: Style Driven
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Nice Color, Nice Fabric
    • Waist: Feels too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jed from las cruces, nm on Tuesday, June 29, 2010
    I wanted this skirt, this style, this fabric for business meetings/interviews. I like traditional, simple, elegant. The waist was too tight, though the skirt fit perfectly in the hips/length (below the knee). I am 5'4", 126 lbs., and typically a size 6. Too bad b/c everything else about this skirt is perfect.
    • Best Uses: Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Comfort vs Style: Comfort Driven
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Nice Color, Nice Fabric
    • Waist: Feels too small
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3