Helly Hansen Velocity Jacket - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Helly Hansen's Velocity jacket is ready for high-speed descents in chilly temps. The waterproof breathable shell boasts 100g of PrimaLoft® synthetic insulation and a detachable insulated hood for comfort on cold and stormy days.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Reviewed by Rob from Calgary Alberta canada on Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    Nice and warm needs a dual zip zipper for the days on the lifts, well it seems like days. when the hood is up it is nice and snug on the ears. I am using this as an everyday coat also. Lots of pockets and storage great coat overall.
  • Reviewed by cpwalt from Canada on Tuesday, August 6, 2013
    Upon build quality alone I could give a five star rating. Looks well constructed. Around these parts Helly has a good name. Light weight and the medium fits my slim 5' 10' frame o.k. However, without testing it in the rigours of our winters I cannot go above a three star. Will update when put to use on Ski hill, and out and about.
  • Reviewed by woodsiders from New Zealand on Monday, August 5, 2013
    Bought for my 13 year old son 165cm tall. Fits well. Sleeves great length - bit long but can be pulled in at wrist which is good as it doesnt have thumb sheaths that we are used to with older ski jacket. Havent tried in the rain so not so sure about waterproof rating which described on jacket as between 5000K to 17,000K so not to sure what this is about but does have fully sealed zips so hoping it is on the high end of the rating.
  • Reviewed by Tough Mom from Pennsylvania on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    Alpine skiing is an expensive sport. Finding products like this jacket help ease the pain for parents with kids training in Downhill Skiing.
  • Reviewed by Puddintown from Northeast on Thursday, June 27, 2013
    The sleeves may be a bit long, but until winter, worn with big mitts and stretching for something, that remains to be learned. I should wait on the review until that issue is settled, but there's also the issues of my forgetfulness and the never ending push further down the stack of email that will likely never be seen and responded to.

    How common is an insulated jacket with pit zips? This has 'em. The insulation seems right for coldish (we don't see much below 0 F) snowy/rainy windy days on the windward side of a Great Lake. That's where I live. And the sealing looks awesome. I pulled this in for <$90 (w/ shipping and tax). It replaces a bunch of separates, which are just too much a bother when you merely want to put on your coat and walk a couple blocks. The color scheme is a bit strange, but it won't attract attention. (The black one is "better" but wasn't available.)

    Also: Thank you S T P for taking the initiative and collecting state sales' tax. I mean it.
  • Reviewed by OregonGil from Oregon on Wednesday, June 26, 2013
    Coat is everything noted in description. Very warm and PrimaLoft insulation does not add much bulk. Very attractive and lots of pockets. High quality materials. Form fitting. Tight fit at waist so buyers should be sure to look at sizing table especially waist and not expect much leeway. I really like coat.
  • Reviewed by Deni K from Ft Drum, NY on Sunday, June 2, 2013
    Got this in a medium for my 13 year old son. He's 5'4" and 110 lbs. The arms and body are a little long but he'll quickly grow into them. It's lightweight, great zippers, plenty of pockets for his stuff, and easy enough to layer under for the bitter (20 below) days. He's worn it in 30 degree temps with pouring rain and stayed dry and warm.
  • Reviewed by SkiVT from Boston on Friday, May 24, 2013
    I ski in Vermont primarily and I think this jacket will do the trick. The season is over here, so I 'll have to wait until next year to put it through the paces, but it fits well (I got a small - I'm 5'4", 140 lbs) and isn't bulky, has pockets where they should be and has all the closures, velcro, and elastic waist liner to keep snow out. Also has a zip off hood. I doubt I'll need more than a base layer under it on most days. All of the seams, zippers, closures, etc., feel very substantial.
  • Reviewed by EW from Washington State on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    I am an avid Helly Hansen fan and when I saw this jacket on sale at Sierra Trading Post, I had to have it. It is warm, fits perfectly, extremely waterproof and looks great. My only complaint is that the powder fly cannot be removed. I leave it unbuttoned for minimal impact. This jacket keeps me warm in the cold harsh Pacific Northwest winter weather, even when I am wearing only a t-shirt underneath it. Overall, this may be one of my favorite purchases from Sierra Trading Post. I hope to see more Helly Hansen jackets like this for sale here in the future!
  • Reviewed by FL man from St. Pete on Friday, March 1, 2013
    I was hesitant at first with this unknown brand to me. Do not be! It is everything I wanted and more. Along with STP awesome prices. This was a steal. I'm 5'11, 145 lbs. Medium fits perfect. Love that the sleeves are not short.The only negative thing I can think of is the torso is a little more wide than I would like. BUT the jacket has adjusters and you can tigthen the bottom. The insulation is not bulky. I'm a very happy customer.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.