Customer Reviews Of:
Hi Mountain Jerky Cajun Rice and Beans

Closeouts. There's no need to suffer through another bland backcountry meal when you can have Hi Mountain Jerky's Cajun Rice and Beans. The dehydrated contents make three servings and can be prepared in the included pouch or a pot.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews 3.500000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by HuntingHiker from Idaho on Wednesday, September 21, 2016
    While you can eat this I don't think you can call this food. More like a way to desiccate yourself from the inside out. Come to think of it maybe you could use these to preserve hides with it, after you strain the rock hard "beans" from the salt. You could use the beans as ammo for your slingshot.
    If you do have to eat these like I did hope the wind is in your face so it blows the smells of you digesting this far far away.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Timbo from N. Carolina on Wednesday, August 31, 2016
    To salty and over spiced. Not the best meal to buy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bobcatcheese from WI on Wednesday, July 20, 2016
    Nice little bean dish for the backcountry, pairs well with some fresh fish.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Preston from Colorado on Monday, June 27, 2016
    It's a good meal, but it has so much spice. It's not bland, but goodness, so much spice.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JJCA from Louisiana on Sunday, August 16, 2015
    Put away for survival bag
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeff from Ohio on Monday, May 11, 2015
    I probably wouldn't order this flavor again. It was eatable, but not the best.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adirondack Ace from Northernmost NY State on Monday, May 5, 2014
    I read other reviews before buying, but thought it worth the chance. Ditto what others said about deep pouch making it hard to stir, some beans not quite softened, serving two rather than three, and saltiness. The package says 3 servings/pkg, and each serving give you 34% of recommended sodium. With two people eating, each gets 51% of daily sodium. ~14 grams of protein each if split two ways..

    I tried it out in the kitchen, so I had extra containers to use to try to separate the seasoning from the beans and rice, and then separate the salt (dissolve it) from the rest of the seasonings. The rice was very light and tended to hide in and get spooned up with the seasoning, which was very fluffy. It was a tedious and non-rewarding effort, and certainly not one you're likely to make in the field. Maybe you could put it in a coffee filter and rinse it? I don't think I removed much salt.

    The package says let it sit 15 minutes. I checked four other brands of freeze-dried backpacking food and times given are 10, 10-12, and 13 minutes. Despite the extra 2-5 minutes for this meal, the beans were still a bit Al-dente. I stirred it very well one time, and it was sitting in a home-made cozy [bubble wrap & a bit of cheap space blanket] for those 15 minutes, so it was still hot afterward. But the beans were what they were.

    Aside from being salty, it was spicy. It was mild-to-medium in heat, which is how I like it. But there was so much going on flavor-wise (read the ingredients under the Specs tab), that nothing in particular registered with me. I didn't really care for the flavor, but it wasn't bad, and I ate it all. I'm just not a fan of cajun, but that's just a matter of taste, nothing wrong with it, so I gave it two stars instead of one.

    NOT VEGETARIAN. The ingredients list may be longer than a Leo Tolstoy novelette, so here are highlights: ...salt (in the TVP)...salt:...rendered chicken fat...salt (in the Worcestershire sauce)...disodium insanity*... disodium guanylate...pork stock...salt (in the natural flavoring). *a plausible misreading.


    SHELF LIFE/STORING FOR EMERGENCIES. The package didn't have a "Best by" ur Use By date, just a lot number. 003713. Hmm, made in 2013, I guessed. I asked Hi Mountain Seasonings customer service to help me understand the code, what's the shelf life, and why so much salt. All they said was it was made in 2013, and the shelf life was 2-3 years. I wrote back, carefully pointing out that 2013 was a whole year long, so the difference between it being made in January or December, and the shelf life being 2 or 3 years could mean a 2 year difference in when I need to use it. Early 2015 or late 2016. Then they gave the full explanation of the lot #: 37 = the 37th day of '13. And 2-3 years has more to do with loss of flavor. After 3 years, some nutritional value will be lost. I suggested that they post the lot number explanation on their web site, which I had looked for. So for best flavor results, this lot should be enjoyed by Feb. 2015, only 10 months after I bought it. Clearly this is not food to be stored for when the apocalyptic eggs hit the eschatological fan. STP stated plainly that this is a closeout, which usually means something was made a while ago and wasn't selling. Because they made that clear, and the price was great, I'm not deducting any stars for this.

    I tried it out at home ASAP, so I'd know if I should order more while I can still get it for ~$4.16. No, I won't order more. I will save the Green Chili for backpacking, and hope it's more to my taste. (despite 58% (IIRC) sodium in half a package)
  • Reviewed by bardbu from nj on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    You know what i mean...
  • Reviewed by Kimster from Kenai Peninsula, Alaska on Friday, November 8, 2013
    As other reviewers have stated, the bag is rather deep for stirring and serving, partly as a consequence the food is not always fully hydrated, a longer soak time than indicated and good stirring helps more of the beans to soften but some of them will still be chewy, the seasoning may take a little getting used to and won't agree with everyone. With that being said, it is a pretty good meal for two whether camping or at home. My friend enjoyed it and a meal of Chili Macaroni while moose hunting, which also benefited from a longer soak time and additional stirring, and I shared some with my 17 year old son which I cooked on the stove with a little extra water, allowed to sit for 22 minutes, then adorned with buttered saltine crackers stacked around the edge of the bowls. We both thought that it was very good. If one doesn't like the amount of salt or other seasoning in the bag, it would not be difficult to sift some of it out to modify the flavor a bit. I have stored Mountain House, Alpine Aire, Wise and a few other brands of dried foods. While this product is not nitrogen purged nor has an added oxygen absorber for long term storage, it can have a substantial storage life if stored properly and I intend to re-package some of this to enhance that capability. Long story short; in a tough situation, this is a food that would be good to have around and I think that most complaints that folks have with this product can be mitigated or would melt away with hunger.
  • Reviewed by shari the swimmer from Minnesota on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    Bought 4 packages to share between 8 people out in Boundary Waters. While the meal was filling it was very salty and we were glad to have vanilla pudding for dessert to soak up the salt. If I bought it again I would make some plain rice to tame the flavor pack.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2