High Sierra A.T. Gear Rolling Backpack - Removable Daypack, 20.5"

Closeouts. Versatility meets durability with High Sierra's A.T. Gear rolling backpack. Roll it through airports, carry it like a backpack to your hotel and when you're ready to hit the street, zip off the comfortable daypack.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
  • Reviewed by JR from Colorado on Tuesday, April 01, 2014
    Have had a year now and several trips with this bag. Yes, it doesn't hold quite as much as a traditional 21" carryon with wheels. However, I manage to cram a lot of clothing in this pack, stuff the zip off front pack with my small laptop, travel docs, glasses, a snack, etc., and then zip it off just as I'm getting on the plane. Rolling pack goes overhead easily, and smaller pack under the seat in front of me. It's a whole lot easier in a crowded plane than traditional size, and everything fits with room to spare overhead and underneath. I have loved being able to roll it all through the airports -rolls smoothly and easily; it can even be pushed in a pinch. Have had no trouble zipping off/on the smaller pack. One must really pack every nook and cranny, and this means the inside is less organized, but I pretty much unpack everywhere I go anyway. It makes my life easier being able to roll my bag. I have had no trouble with the airlines, as zipped apart these two pieces are way undersized for the requirements.
  • Reviewed by Jess the Mess from Savannah, GA on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    I was so excited to get my bag in the mail. I thought this would be the most versatile and useful weekend bag ever. I was hoping for a suitcase that could be carried as a backpack when needed but what I got was a backpack that is being sold as a suitcase. I have several 21" hardcase carry ons so I was expecting this to hold realatively the same amount of luggage. However, it only holds about 3/4ths as much as a standard 21" hardcase carry on. The straps are awkward on both of the packs and I didn't realize until it arrived that the lower front pouch on the day pack is made for a walkman! Yup, that's all that really needs to be said about the design of this suitcase. I plan to return mine.
  • Reviewed by Frequent Traveler from Tennessee on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    Perfect solution to a 1 or 2 or 3 day getaway piece of luggage without having to check baggage. Well constructed and rollers are heavy duty.
  • Reviewed by Lady with spiffy new Pjs from Alaska on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
    Had an earlier version of this I relied on for at least 5 yrs. of travel. Ultimately the retractable handle faltered/gave out. Current version appears slightly smaller, though still well made and functional for carry on purposes. Never used the zip on pack that comes as a part of it, though it's a handy add-on.
  • Reviewed by Cee from Charleston on Friday, September 06, 2013
    Bought for trip to Europe. Very light weight. The zippers do seem a little rough and don't move smoothly. It does roll very easily and the detachable backbag was great for day tours. I do wish it was a bit larger.
  • Reviewed by rustymarquis from WA State on Tuesday, July 30, 2013
    Just took this bag on my first trip and I love the size, design, & comfort. Its slightly smaller than I would like - measuring 20.5 inches in length - but I wanted it so I could avoid the awkwardness/clunkiness of larger luggage. My wife & I bought two of these for our trip to Thailand next month and I am confident that they will work out very well. Plus I think they will make excellent travel bags for my children when they get a little older.
  • Reviewed by Ianstuart from Frederick MD on Sunday, June 23, 2013
    I bought TWO of the backpack/suitcase bags from High Sierra. The zip on the first one broke the first time I used it and the back of the second one broke before I even got a chance to use it. Moreover, the second one had no way to attack a lock to the zips.

    Very badly made and I would warn against buying anything from High Sierra in the future.
  • Reviewed by Older Happy Traveler from Utah on Monday, June 17, 2013
    My carryon bag seemed to weigh 60 pounds by the time I finished a two-week tour recently. I started looking for a wheeled replacement and came upon this bag. I'm traveling right now and have used the day pack every day so far as we explore ayellowstonemand Glacier Parks. Can't wait to pop the whole wheeled unit into an overhead bin!
  • Reviewed by alohachar from New Jersey on Wednesday, April 10, 2013
    My duaghter just used it on a week long trip to Hawaii. Very durable and easy for her to manage. Wished it were a little bigger to hold more for the week's trip but still be able to be used as a carry-on/backpack. Definitely would recommend it.
  • Reviewed by Capturing Life's Magic from Seattle on Monday, April 08, 2013
    I'm an avid photographer with high-end equipment and I'm taking a trip to Europe in September of 2013. I needed a rolling carry-on backpack for my travel essentials and a detachable daypack for my photo gear. This combo has been tried and tested under a variety of circumstances and is just perfect for my trip
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.