Customer Reviews Of:
High Sierra A.T. Gear Rolling Backpack - Removable Daypack, 20.5"

Closeouts. Versatility meets durability with High Sierra's A.T. Gear rolling backpack. Roll it through airports, carry it like a backpack to your hotel and when you're ready to hit the street, zip off the comfortable daypack.

Average Rating based on 35 reviews 4.228571 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alex from Austria on Wednesday, February 17, 2016
    Perfect backpack while traveling Europe
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ggbina from California on Saturday, February 13, 2016
    Just used this luggage last weekend to Solvang, CA. It was perfect! Loved that I had the day pack to zip off the front. Handle seems sturdy and so do the wheels. Can't wait to use it on my trip to Vegas!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from WI - Wisconsin on Monday, February 8, 2016
    Although somewhat smaller than most carryon bags, it will better meet the new carryon requirements being mentioned by the airline industry -- and it offers great flexibility with the zip-off backpack. Seems well made, with substantial zippers and solid materials. Hoping for years of service, as I've had with other High Sierra products.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Craig from Victoria, BC on Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    The extendable handle began acting up on the first trip and became useless before we even got home. I was thinking about getting a second one but doubt it now....hopefully it will be fixed under warranty.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Craig from Victoria, BC on Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    The extendable handle began acting up on the first trip and became useless before we even got home. I was thinking about getting a second one but doubt it now....hopefully it will be fixed under warranty.
  • Reviewed by Sonya from Louisiana on Sunday, February 22, 2015
    I've had this backpack for about 12 years now, and it is still going strong. I don't know if they still make them with the same quality today, but mine did thousands of miles of traveling. I mostly use small daypack separately as a backpack, and rolling part as a carry-on. Yes, carry-on does not hold as much as a regular 21", but enough for a few days trip. Both rolling part and daypack together definitely hold as much as a regular carry-on. Considering that I was using it as a roll-on through countless airports over the years, the wheels are still almost like new and fully functional. The handle works great after so many years. Daypack, even when fully packed, can easily fits underneath the plane seat, so you can keep it close during long overseas flights. All the zippers are still fully functional. Actual material is very durable and resistant to airports!

    It might be a little cumbersome if you want to re-attach daypack to the carry-on in a hurry, but other than that it is a great and versatile piece of luggage. You really get 2-for-1 with this. If the quality is still the same as it was when I bought it, I would buy it again. But I don't think that I will need to, because the one I have just won't quit!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maksie's Mommy from Bay Area, cA on Saturday, January 31, 2015
    I like to travel light (there is nothing worse than looking or feeling like a pack mule in an airport). I think this bag is going to work out well. I'm taking a trip this year, where they prefer you only take a carry on. This appealed to me as the daypack can come off. it's a good sized day pack. I will use the daypack part instead of a handbag. Zippers are nice and heavy. there are adjustments where you can somewhat modify the size by how much you have packed in size. It can be used as a roll around or backpack. Good value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dee from ohio on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    I bought this for traveling. It is well built and a great value for the price. It looks like it will hold up quite well. I'm very pleased with this purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by morepacksthanpurses from Atlanta on Sunday, December 28, 2014
    Great quality zippers, wheels, durability, concept. The main case has no interior pockets, but provides essential space. The zippers and clips that hold the day-pack to the main bag are strong. Unfortunately, the bottom of the day-pack is angled up toward the front so when you set it down it rolls forward onto its front face, even with two full, steel, vacuum-sealed travel cups in the bottle-holder pockets. That's a deal breaker. It does hold a 16oz Contigo AUTOSEAL nicely and a 16oz Thermos Travel Tumbler adequately, though. Also, the top-load zipper to the day-pack is slightly limiting in that it stops, on each side, an inch from the back of the pack resulting in less than total access, i.e.: the bag will hold items wider than will fit in through the top. The snug trim around the front pocket makes it a bit difficult to open unless kept folded back, which exposes a light colored border. The zippers tags are metal noisy, jangly (people will hear you coming) but I was going to simply put electrical tape over them. This pack would simply not suffice for my only pack on a short trip. I could work with everything except the pack laying on its face every time I set it down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JT from Washington on Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    High Sierra products are well made, this backpack is no exception. Especially like the removable day pack which is helpful when traveling. On a plane, it can be detached from the main unit and kept at your seat for essentials while the rest of the pack goes up above. Lots of pockets make organizing stuff easy. Pleased with the purchase.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4