High Sierra A.T. Gear Wheeled Duffel Bag - 30"

Closeouts. Extremely spacious, versatile and easy-rolling thanks to tuck-away shoulder straps, inline skate wheels and a telescoping handle, High Sierra's A.T. Gear wheeled duffel bag is the perfect choice for long vacations and air travel.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
  • Reviewed by Explorer-Missionary Doc-Disaster Worker from Rural Oklahoma on Saturday, November 8, 2014
    I've travelled all over the world with this bag, mostly to remote areas of the world working disasters and with medical mission trips to very remote areas, and have owned it for several years, so I have an older version of it. It has been a very good bag with one exception. Some people have mentioned that the handle broke on their bag, but I have not had that problem --- I've experienced the problem of the OTHER end tearing open, because there is NO carry handle on that end, so the baggage handlers at the airports, and while hauling luggage thru jungles and high in the Andes and Himalayas, the handlers grab that end by the edge of the bag, so it eventually tore. The bag was pretty much the perfect size, and usefulness, so I temporarily "repaired" the torn end with ---- yep, you probably guessed it -- DUCT TAPE. That was 2 years ago, and I'm still using the bag. I put duct tape on both sides, then using a slightly warm iron, pressed them so the glue would stick together better. If you have to do this, do not get the iron very hot; that will melt the plastic coating on the tape. Just get the iron mildly warm. I plan to do a better fix by putting a piece of hard resin or plastic on the inside, and put grommets in the end of the bag, then run a small nylon rope thru with knots on the inside of the bag -- this should make a decent handle for that end. Don't know why the manufacturer didn't do that in the first place. Hope this info is of help for some of you all.
  • Reviewed by KalymnosDove from Massachusetts on Thursday, September 25, 2014
    The quality of workmanship in the cloth part of the bag is excellent: it compares well to the LL Bean duffle with wheels that my husband has. The separate compartments are handy for packing and if they not used the center compartment gets the extra space. But, after two trips, involving a plane change, the handle broke. The button used to activate the retractable handle does not press in fully; the handle does not come out. One can feel the problem is on one end of the button and it probably is related to a spring inside. I can pull the bag using the soft fabric handle also attached but it is at an odd angle to my wrist and the arm soon gets tired. The retractable handle is really needed. Will look into returning or exchanging the bag. The bag is of high quality in other parts.
  • Reviewed by Elena from NYC on Friday, August 8, 2014
    I got this for my teen daughter's work trip to Central America last month. The pull-up handle for the wheels broke as soon as she got there, so she had to struggle with the handle or lug it around. Then she used it for a family trip, and hers was the only bag we had to keep stopping to readjust or carry. Annoying.
  • Reviewed by ML from PacNW on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    Bought two of these for a 6½ week trip to Scotland. Held up well. Plenty big and reasonably well constructed. Wheels were put to the test on some rough stone streets and held up well. Side and end compartments were handy for dirty shoes and laundry. Zippers are large and seem strong. They do unzip pretty easily so I added hitch pins to all of them so they wouldn't spill contents accidentally. The fabric is NOT water resistant. Leaks like a sieve so keep a garbage bag handy in the side pocket or put stuff in plastic bags that must stay dry. Compresses well when not full so I added a couple of straps. Will not stand on its own and must be leaned up against something but it's a soft bag so understandable. Overall we were pretty happy with these bags and they were a bargain. Don't buy 'em for a rainy climate though. Not going to hold up in a tropical downpour.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Davidup from Houston on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    Great size and just right for most trips. Easy to roll and it has shoulder straps bonus!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave from Dayton on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    Arrived a few days ago, and upon initial inspection looks good! A bit taller and narrower than most large rolling bags, it should be easier to maneuver. The backpack straps seem very well done, reasonably comfortable, and they zip out of the way nicely.

    A big main compartment, and a fair number of additional compartments. Seems well built.

    I'll let you know more after using it more.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Posse Mama from Beautiful Bucks County on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    Great items for everything. Long trip ready, great side compartments, good to go.
  • Reviewed by VanMan from Vancouver, BC on Friday, March 7, 2014
    This is a reasonably good bag. Smooth wheels, looks sturdy and the shoulder straps would be useful for those old cities with lots of stairs and cobblestone streets. A bit too compartmentalized for my needs so larger items won't fit but if you don't mind that it's good. Packs flat for easy storage.
  • Reviewed by Rico de la Cardi from Washington on Saturday, March 1, 2014
    I got this bag in blue for a great price. After reading reviews at Sierra and ebags, it seemed to fit my needs at a good price. I bought it at Sierra when the price was really good (~$30 less than ebags already good price). Seems to be well designed and well made. Has rivets at points of stress. It is a relatively large bag (can't imagine use for the 36" except to haul stuff to a drop point and continue with a smaller bag). I am very happy with my purchase.
  • Reviewed by LandscapeShooter from California on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    Purchased as a closeout so I hope they made something comparable. First outing was in and out of a vehicle through seven hotels in nine days. Held up beautifully and is easy to transport. I packed for two weeks and all weather conditions and had plenty of room. Used one of the side pockets to pack a pair of winter boots and two pair of hiking shoes completely separate from my clothes. These pockets can be pulled out to clean easily, too. Zippers move freely as do the wheels.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #