Icebreaker Apex Base Layer Bottoms, Midweight, Merino Wool (For Men)

Discontinued. An "Editor's Choice Award" winner from Backpacker Magazine, Icebreaker's Apex base layer bottoms feature a silky-soft, performance-rated merino wool in a cold-weather, midweight design for additional temperature control in chilly temps.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alice from virginia on Saturday, December 27, 2014
    Purchased this for my son for Christmas. He loves it and says true to size and loves the Merino wool.Perfect for hiking or any outdoors activity!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by thebrucekim from Kansas City, MO on Monday, December 22, 2014
    I unapologetically wear my base layers for days on end during winter. They maybe get a wash between the end of November and the beginning of February. One. Wash. That's it.

    So, my base layers have to work or else they get rotated out of my wardrobe. Plain and simple.

    I've been a Patagonia believer for years and I love my Patagonia Cap 3's to pieces (literally) so I have high expectations for a base layer bottom.
    Icebreaker surprisingly exceeded them and have become my new go-to layer.

    My Patagonia's seemed to pill too quickly but these Midweight Icebreakers seem just as fresh as when I first bought (and wore) them. One month of consecutive day-after-day wear and look just as new as the first day I threw them on.

    KC winters are typically in the 20's and 30's, sometimes low teens. As long as I'm not wearing a light pair of pants, these Icebreaker Midweight is going to keep me warm. They definitely regulate better than my Capilene 3's did and when things get very warm the Icebreaker keeps me cooler than my Patagonia.
    Also, I'm a slim 5'10" 170ish lb, usually a size 32 waist, and the Mediums fit perfectly. Not too tight. Not too loose.

    After 30+ days of wear they don't smell a bit. Not one.

    Yeah, they're sort of pricey, but warmth and quality is worth the extra cost. If my Patagonia's were 4.5/5 stars, these Icebreaker Midweights are a 5/5.
  • Reviewed by James from South Carolina on Sunday, December 21, 2014
    I wore mine under Levi's on a recent trip to Siberia. It was 20 below zero every day.

    Legs didn't get cold once.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Band Geek from North Carolina on Sunday, December 21, 2014
    Marched in the Macy's Day Parade and I ordered these Midweight Bottoms and the Icebreaker Midweight Top to wear under my marching band uniform. They both did the trick and kept me nice and warm. I will be wearing them in the future when I go snow skiing. Highly recommend and fit true to size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bud42 from Las Vegas, NV on Thursday, December 18, 2014
    I ordered from the internet and was pleasantly surprised that Sierra Trading Post was the source. It's been many years since I dealt with them. I ordered these underwear based on a recommendation from a store employee, even over their brands. I am not disappointed. I wore these underwear for six days on a horseback deer hunting trip, and they performed admirably. They are warm, but not hot when the sun comes out, stretch is minimal, and they were odor free. I recommend these underwear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Harry from usa on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    had them on in grand canyon on cold weather they are great
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bicycle Gramma from Washington State on Friday, December 5, 2014
    These might be wonderful for someone with near "perfect" BMI but for me the hand of the fabric is too firm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PNW Hiker from PNW on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    I've been a big fan of synthetic layers for years. Hiking, hunting, and fishing in the rain is not fun if you're cold and wet. Merino wool has become my layer of choice. It wicks, it dries quick, and it's warmer than synthetic. Merino wool is not 'itchy' and I'm impressed with the comfort and warmth a thin layer can provide. I use them fishing up in Alaska under waders and under thin hunting shells here in the PNW.

    They even wash and dry (low temps) in the machine!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gumper from Cottonwood Heights, UT on Wednesday, December 3, 2014
    These are a gift so have not been worn. But, because I have quite a few Icebreaker brand base layers, I know they'll be great. Launder great, just follow "care instructions." Order usual size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ga Hiker from Georgia on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    Very warm, smooth, soft and comfortable. Used them on an elk hunt with temps in the teens. Great. Best Icebeaker product yet.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.