Icebreaker Apex Base Layer Bottoms, Midweight, Merino Wool (For Men)

Discontinued. An "Editor's Choice Award" winner from Backpacker Magazine, Icebreaker's Apex base layer bottoms feature a silky-soft, performance-rated merino wool in a cold-weather, midweight design for additional temperature control in chilly temps.

Average Rating based on 34 reviews 4.676470 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 34 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Seattle Shredder from WA on Friday, March 6, 2015
    Love merino wool, it lasts longer, stays less stinky than polypro, and feels great. This piece is no exception. Ibex and Icebreaker personally make the most bomber merino stuff.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bike me from St. Louis, Mo. on Thursday, March 5, 2015
    I am normally strictly a Patagonia Capilene user as they have always worked well for me. I tried an Icebreaker midweight top last year and like the fit and performance, so I tried the bottoms this year. They performed up to the same level as the top.
    They fit tighter than the Patagonia's, more like tights, they have ample freedom of movement and were as warm as a midweight layer should be.
    I am 5'11 and 178lbs. and I bought the size large, they fit great, snug but not the least bit restrictive or cutting off any circulation.
    I will try some of the Icebreakers in an expedition wt. if I see them. Great quality piece.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by david from east coast on Thursday, February 19, 2015
    these are incredible and among the nicest base-layer i've ever owned - I liked my first pair so much that I ordered two more. Wore them all week skiing and really keep you warm and dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cell from P.R.China on Thursday, February 19, 2015
    it fits me very well and warm enough for me .i like it very much
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chelle from North dakota on Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    I work in subzero temps and these are amazing
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shuytza from Philadelphia on Monday, February 9, 2015
    We went skiing when it was high 9F (real feel -2) and with this base layer and hand and feet warmers we were fine. It keeps you warm, but when you sweat it wicks away the moisture. And does not get stinky. We were able to wear them the 3-day weekend without washing them. But on a warmer day - above 25 may be too warm with it. So I strongly recommend it for colder days. And it is not itchy or otherwise unpleasant in any way,.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Florida on Saturday, February 7, 2015
    Very good comfortable snug fit and surprisingly light in feel, soft and smooth against the skin. I purchased the brown shade and reality looks better, more of a deep navy brown. I do wish they made a V neck version for the top base layer as a crew neck can be too warm for me. I also wish that the zip type top with the slight upstand collar had a different color range than just gray. Other colors are available but with a 'mock zip'. Why make a mock zip?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by R Outdoors from Montana on Thursday, February 5, 2015
    After years of Smart Wool, I broke down and tried a new brand. So far, I am pleased with Icebreaker. These bottoms are mid weight however, they are a lighter mid weight than Icebreakers 260 version. If you want something heavier duty and warmer go with the 260's which are heavier than Smart Wool's mid weight base layer. If it's chilly out, these will do the trick. Tops run true to size and bottoms seem just a bit on the snug side for the Small's and mediums. As far as how they hold up, I'll let you know in ten years since it took my mid-weight Smart Wool that long to break down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RBest Photos from Upstate NY on Thursday, January 29, 2015
    I used my Icebreaker Apex Base Layer Bottoms, Midweight last weekend on a very cold photo shoot outdoors. I wore them along with another pair of long underwear and lined pants. I did not overheat, nor was I cold in the least. They were very comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick from New York City on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    Bought it this winter and can say that it is very comfortable indoors & outdoors.Very pleased with it and already placed an order for another one.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 34 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #