Icebreaker Athena Sweater - Merino Wool, Boat Neck (For Women)

Discontinued. Indulgently soft and lightweight, Icebreaker's Athena sweater hails from the Black Sheep collection -- noted for its exceptionally fine-gauge merino wool fibers -- and features cozy thumbhole cuffs.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 3.750000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by TP_chica from washington, dc on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    I love this sweater. The style is loose fit around the body but the neckline is comfortable (not too loose). I'd like to get the white now as well. Price is a bit high, but the quality appears to match the price.
  • Reviewed by Lynn from NYC on Monday, November 25, 2013
    The material was thin, the color a dirty white.
    The sleeves were baggy.
    Just not a goodlooking sweater at all.
  • Reviewed by Karma83 from Minnesota on Friday, November 22, 2013
    I love this sweater!!! I wear it almost every morning on my way to the gym. I was a little skeptical at first because it says "boat neck" in the title, but I wouldn't call it a boat neck by any means. There is a hoody sweatshirt style pocket in the front... If you have a belly it won't work.
  • Reviewed by Lula from Boston on Friday, November 22, 2013
    The thumbholes on this sweater are fantastic! I wish more casual clothes would use this feature. The sweater is nice and soft, but like others have mentioned, it has this weird kangaroo pocket. The openings are hidden in the side seams, but there's nothing holding the top of the pocket up from the inside, so after awhile it just gets bunchy around your middle. I like the sweater enough to put my hands in the pocket and smooth it out every time I stand up, but this might drive some people crazy. I just don't understand why it's there.
  • Reviewed by Lil'Pao from the Mountains on Friday, November 8, 2013
    This is the only "Black Sheep" piece I own and am very happy with it. The material seems softer than the regular Icebreaker pieces and the fit is a little looser unlike the fitted technical pieces. Perhaps the one thing about it and the reason why it didn't get the 5 stars is the fact that the "kangaroo" pocket tends to open on the sides making one look a little wider. Then again I am a fan of "kangaroo"pockets so I am going to wear it as I would a comfy - loose sweatshirt.
  • Reviewed by Alissa from Columbus on Thursday, October 24, 2013
    I'm in love with this sweater. The merino is not itchy, it's a perfect fit and shape for me, and I can wear it with anything.

    I'm 5'4" and wear a size 6-8. I ordered a medium.
  • Reviewed by bluroo from San Francisco on Saturday, June 22, 2013
    This is truly the creme de la creme of the Icebreaker world. Love it so much, I bought 2 different colors. It does an even better job of regulating to your body temperature.
  • Reviewed by designogirl from North Carolina on Monday, June 10, 2013
    I love this brand and was really disappointed in the sweater. Above the waistband is a pocket that extends the front width of the sweater. It creates a weird effect--too much fabric around your stomach adds unnecessary bulk. Not flattering at all!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews