Icebreaker Carve GT 320 Zip Shirt - UPF 40+, Merino Wool, Long Sleeve (For Men)

Discontinued. Crafted of ultrafine, heavyweight merino wool with just a touch of stretch, Icebreaker's Carve GT 320 zip shirt can double as a cozy base layer or light jacket. Outfitted with articulated seams, a full-coverage mock neck and thumbhole cuffs, this baby is ready to go where you go and do what you do... just bring it on!

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Shua from Oceanside, ca on Friday, January 2, 2015
    Reading the other reviews I was a little worried about this not fitting properly. The color I wanted was in my size but reviews said it runs small and to order large. I went against the grain and ordered my size.
    When I first put the jacket on it fit like a glove. I'm 5'11" 145 lbs and ordered a size medium. Icebreaker does make an athletic fit cut and I guess I'm lucky enough to have them fit my long skinny body so well.
    Now for the details. On most long sleeve icebreaker garments they include thumb holes at the end of the wrist. On this jacket the thumb holes are on an extention at the end of the sleeve. You can have them out over your thumbs and tucked in a glove or have them folded under the sleeve out of the way. Its kind of annoying but at the same time a great feature to have in the snow. It is between this extention piece and the jacket that you have the "watch window" the other reviews mentioned. There is no noticeable hole to mention when wearing the jacket regularly. The thing that through me off was the zipper and something I'm surprised no one has mentioned. Icebreaker offset the zipper on this jacket. At first I thought this jacket was a seconds and was messed up from the factory. Then I learned they did it to prevent the zippers from bunching up on your neck when layering. I must say its actually a really nice feature but took a minute to get used to having an offset front zipper.
    All in all I'm very pleased with my purchase. There are many features to this jacket that are unique and forward thinking. It is a jacket I could wear out to dinner but loaded with features for my back country uses. I find the fit to be perfect if you are an athletic build. I usually have a hard time finding shirts that are not too baggy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Raoul from NYC on Monday, October 6, 2014
    I really want to keep this jacket, but the sizing is so off, they literally don't make one big enough not to fit me like a sausage skin. I have over a dozen icebreaker garments and am happy with L or XL in all of them. I ordered this in XL and it was absurdly small, returned and re-ordered in XXL and it fits like a Medium or large.

    I recognize that this is supposed to be an "athletic fit" but that doesn't mean that a garment that is supposed to fit a 44-46" chest is actually 38-40.

    All I can think is that these are actually sized for the Japanese or Korean markets.

    Order at least 2, maybe three sizes larger than you normally wear in Icebreaker
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Paul from Birmingham, AL, USA on Monday, May 5, 2014
    I first saw this line of Icebreaker clothing which traveling in Australia recently. They were fantastic! This particular type of athletic pullover/jacket/hoodies that they make are made with tremendous quality! They are finished both inside and out--most garments are relatively unfinished with free fabric ends on the inside, but not this one. Very warm (but allows you to ventilate well if only a cool day), not bulky, light weight! Slim fit with great articulated shoulders so it doesn't ride up with big shoulder movements. Stiffer but soft neck fabric to keep its shape and appearance. I really love the thumbhole wrist covers...initially I thought it was defective as I noticed the top of the left wrist cover was left separate and I sent it back for an exchange...only to discover it was done this way on purpose...so you could look at a watch! The unnecessary exchange was easy as a breeze through Sierra Trading Post's immediate credit! The replacement was perfect (like the first), and I absolutely love it! Will be my primary pullover in the fall and winter when they come back! Fantastic product! I can't think of a single improvement.
  • Reviewed by pjj1951 from Catharpin, VA on Thursday, February 27, 2014
    The first one I bought, there was a 1" hole where the wrist gator attached on the left sleeve. Returned it and asked for exchange The next oen had the same problem, and it wasn't the same one since it was sent out before the first one was returned.
  • Reviewed by pdx flyer from Oregon on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    When I opened the box and I took one look at this jacket I jumped for joy ........ Beautiful ........ It's actually very heavy weight . I am normally a large, but with this piece I'm an extra large.
  • Reviewed by Raoul from NYC on Monday, January 27, 2014
    I'm a big fan of Icebreaker stuff and have numerous shirts, jackets, etc.

    Love this jacket but ultimately it fits too closely and tightly for me so I returned it.

    I'm 6'2", 225 and I used to be an XL in Icebreaker, but on recently designed and released items XXL works better for me
  • Reviewed by pjj1951 from Catharpin, VA on Friday, January 24, 2014
    Has every feature you could want: upper zippered pocket, hand zippered pockets, wrist gators.
  • Reviewed by Peter from Wisconsin on Thursday, November 14, 2013
    The asymmetric zipper makes turning your head to the right side awkward, all and all great for base layer and for active sports. Wore it through a Marathon and didn't have much issues, except too warm to run in for long distance unless the temp is sub 30 F.
  • Reviewed by gto88 from san jose,ca on Saturday, August 31, 2013
    I have noticed this jacket when it was first out, but it is pricey back then.
    But in Derailed online store, I found the best price ever, and I purchased it without waiting.
    This jacket is the best among my collection of merino wool cloth including icebreak and smartwool.
    The fabric is the thickest by its weight class, the construction maintains high quality as other
    Icebreaker clothes.
    Its xl size fit nicely on me (190lb, 5'10").
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.