Icebreaker Oasis Base Layer Leggings - Merino Wool, Lightweight (For Women)

Discontinued. A veritable paradise for your legs, Icebreaker's Oasis base layer leggings feature a cozy, performance-rated lightweight merino wool, an articulated fit and softness that's nearly unbelievable.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kate from Minnesota on Friday, August 29, 2014
    These are well-made, lightweight, and very soft. They will be my first choice for layering if I need added warmth this winter. I'm a big fan of wool. Synthetics have come a long way, but nothing else comes close to all the benefits and comfort of real wool.
  • Reviewed by Ramblin Rose from Northern California on Sunday, April 06, 2014
    I wanted to love this base layer, I really did. When it arrived I wasn't quite sure about the fit - they were a little bulky in size small (I am 5'2", 105 lbs), but STP was out of XS. I kept them in the packaging for a couple months trying to decide if I should bother sending them back before wearing them.. well push came to shove and I needed a base layer. These made it through the washer twice before developing a hole in one of the legs - such a disappointment! My other pair of Icebreakers is the Sprite legging, which is weighted less at 150, and has gone through numerous washes without a run or tear to be seen.
  • Reviewed by Girl on the Run from Vermont on Friday, March 14, 2014
    I live in my long janes November- April, and merino wool at this price just can't be beat. I really like the color of these too.
  • Reviewed by Suzielu3 from Mississippi on Sunday, March 02, 2014
    I love these! When it is 14 degrees, these leggings really help to keep me warm!
  • Reviewed by Merino Lover from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    Yes, merino wool is wonderful, and yes, these are very soft. However (and this is a big HOWEVER), these are meant to keep you warm while you are doing athletic activities (hiking, jogging, skating, etc.), but the fabric is so stiff you can't even bend your knees, never mind try to do anything athletic. One can't even walk comfortably. This fabric is very soft, but it has zero stretch. The sizing is not the problem, merino NTS (next to skin) is supposed to fit snug so that you wear whatever other pant over (ski pants, hiking pants, etc.) - these fit snug, and you feel like you are wrapped in a swaddle. I own other merino pants (SW, RR) and they stretch beautifully. Not these. Back they went. I guess I could have kept them as pyjamas.
  • Reviewed by SoCalGirl from Los Angeles, CA on Friday, February 07, 2014
    I ordered these for a winter trip to the East Coast. They seemed nice enough but then once I put them on, I felt itchy. For some reason, the outer side of the leggings is smoother than the inside, shouldn't it be the opposite? Had to return them.
  • Reviewed by azul from Mid-Atlantic on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Short version: These fit small (and slim). Great for an extra layer of warmth, whether for cold-weather exertion or just staying warm around town.

    I ordered this first in a S and then exchanged for a M, as the S was too snug. (I wear an S in Icebreaker baselayer tops, am 5 feet, curvy, and currently 125#.) These definitely fit slim and would go well under trousers (i.e. garments that are more structured/form-fitting). In comparison, I have a pair of Smartwool leggings (in small) which have a more "relaxed" cut and have a slightly softer "hand" to the fabric - the SW bottoms work with jeans but might be a little loose to wear under dress slacks. (Why yes, I do wear my technical gear in non-tech settings sometimes! :))

    I don't see the numerical designation for what weight these are but the leggings shown on the Icebreaker site are the 200-weight material, similar to the long-sleeved tops I have. My one caveat would be that if you are the sort to get dressed in a big rush, you might want the Midweight and presumably slightly more robust version (260 weight)... not that I've damaged these leggings, but the heavier fabric seems less likely to get the sort of holes that one gets in the top of hose when pulling them on. (...or is that just me? ;P)
  • Reviewed by CHB from WA on Monday, December 09, 2013
    It arrived just in time for the cold weather. The temperature is around 25 during the day and below 20 at night. I wear it under my corduroy pants and it is warm and still stylish. The leggins are a bit thicker than those I have ordered before and they are wonderful! I will order more.
  • Reviewed by Lover of the Tetons from Alabama on Friday, October 04, 2013
    I purchased these for a trip to Jackson Hole for New Year's because I figured it's going to be pretty chilly. However, I don't think the Oasis Leggings would hold up to the cold. They are very thin. I think if I were backpacking in the south, they would be just fine. Other than that, they felt great.
    I am returning these for another pair of SmartWool NTS Midweight Base Layer bottoms.
    I love Icebreaker, but Sierra just didn't have my size in the 260 level base layer bottoms, which would have been ideal. Oh well, maybe next year!
  • Reviewed by Sue M. from MN on Friday, July 12, 2013
    I am 5'4'' and 120lbs (on a good day!) I got the smalls and they fit pretty snug when I fit put them on, but then they contoured to my body and turned into a perfect fit. Highly recommend!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.