Icebreaker Original Zip Base Layer Top - Merino Wool, Zip Neck, Long Sleeve (For Men)

Discontinued. Icebreaker's Original Zip base layer top features a thicker, midweight merino wool knit that's a perfect performance piece to cozy up your active wintry ventures, with a versatile zip neck included.

Average Rating based on 43 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 43 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Mahoot from Northern Illinois on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    This is one of my favorite tops and Icebreaker pieces. I knew it wouldbe heavy so I bought it as a quarter zip sweater top, not as a base layer top. It is far to heavy to be warn as a base layer, but it is great for wearing on it own in moderate temps (high 30's, low 40's) with no wind. Where this top really shines is for casual wear and with it's Icebreaker quality and good looks it is certainly acceptable in the office.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MADMAX from WI on Tuesday, January 20, 2015
    love this top. I'm 5' 11" -190lb and I ordered a xl. It fits nice, but with that said I'm bigger in the chest and shoulders.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mary from Salt Lake City on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    As usual, Icebreaker sweater is high quality. However, this is cut larger than usual for a "base layer." Rather, as some of the other reviews have suggested, this is a nice pullover sweater to wear over another layer ... and nice enough to wear to work.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by APSeattle from Seattle on Monday, December 15, 2014
    As mentioned in the description the fit is not slim/body hugging and hence this is more of a warm mid layer than a base layer. Certainly warm!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jon from COLORADO on Tuesday, December 9, 2014
    Very well constructed ...can be used as an outer layer ... warmth at 40 degrees
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Renegator from Middle of New York state on Saturday, December 6, 2014
    This is a very nice piece. I am 6'1, 180 lbs. I got the small probably because they didn't have the medium. Someone wrote that these run a bit big... This fits well, but there isn't much to tuck in. Looks sharp and has a moderately hefty weight to it. I like it a lot. Use it for a layer hiking in the cold and around the house etc. Ice Breaker makes really nice stuff. I have been buying merino for about a year and IB is generally the best of what I have gotten, having bought Ivanhoe, Smartwool etc,,,
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by greg from NY. NY on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    almost too nice to wear as a base layer...you could use as casual work day sweater
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pgb2 from Carlisle, PA on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    Like the experience of some other reviewers, this base layer has a bulky fit in the upper body/shoulder area for me though this could have been due to circumstances. I'm 6'1" and 155 Lbs and would have purchased a medium but as that size was unavailable had to go with large.

    Otherwise, the material is of high quality and workmanship is excellent with no loose threads initially nor after one hand washing so far. It has not shrunk noticeably after that washing and line drying. The wool is slightly scratchy but not really noticeable in use. It is VERY warm as a base layer for cycling in temps below 30 degrees. I wear it under a heavyweight jersey and shell jacket from 15-25 degrees and the only issue I have is that maybe it is too warm such that it gets soaked with sweat and becomes clammy about halfway through the ride, inducing some chill when riding fast or into a headwind. In temps closer to 30 I wear it alone under an insulated jacket and I guess the additional breatheability prevents it from getting soaked.

    Overall, very pleased with purchase and probably would have given it 5 stars if the fit was better.
  • Reviewed by Doug West from New Mexico on Saturday, November 8, 2014
    This is a wonderful sweater that recalls how Icebreaker built a reputation for garments that were extremely useful, warm, comfortable, down to earth, and yet nice-looking. The 'new' Icebreaker is far more fashionable, sometimes regrettably so. If you get the right fit, then this top will work very nicely as a sweater, as many reviewers have noted, or it will work very well under another layer or two. The fabric is a really nice knit, and the plain "gravel" color is almost eloquent in its lack of pretentiousness. Extremely comfortable. Now, the hard part: getting one that fits--the reviews are full of comments about this. Normally, I would wear a medium. Being of relatively slight build (5'10" and 38" chest), I ordered a small. It fits perfectly. My guess is that if you're of a very solid build, order your usual size. But if you're not built like a tank, try a size small. In any case, all the reviewers who said, "Get one," were right.
  • Reviewed by Wheeler Canyon Ted from Ventura CA on Friday, October 24, 2014
    Read the reviews and several people noted that it was so nice that they ended up using it as a sweater. Well, that's exactly how I felt and what I did. Wow, what a nice quality base layer and it will be replacing my Patagonia expedition weight caplene base layer that I use for cold skiing and other super cold winter activities. I liked it so much I just wore it out with a black t-shirt underneath and it looked nice enough to wear around town. Can't go wrong with any of Icebreakers stuff, but this will end up being one of my favorites. If you are even thinking about getting it, don't hesitate.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 43 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #