Industrial Revolution Play & Freeze Ice Cream Ball

Closeouts. Enjoy ice cream your way in just 20 minutes with Play & Freeze's fun, portable ice cream ball. It's so easy to use! Just follow the included recipes: Place ice and rock salt in one end and the ingredients in the other, shake for 20 minutes and voila!

Average Rating based on 41 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Holly from Portland, OR on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    We made ice cream in 15 minutes with this ball. My kids took turns rolling it down a grassy hill. They got the satisfaction of making it themselves--and eating it, of course. We will use this all summer long.
  • Reviewed by Bob D from Houston on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    A fun way to make ice cream with the kids
  • Reviewed by Jodi from Chicago on Friday, December 20, 2013
    We got this for our son. Works great and keeps little hands (and feet) busy with a treat at the end for all their hard work!
  • Reviewed by weekend warrior from california on Tuesday, November 05, 2013
    really fun and easy to use - you and your kids will love it - adults at a party will love it too!
  • Reviewed by Mtn Chick from Big Sky, MT on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    I haven't made ice cream since I did with mom and dad before I can even remember. So I don't have much to compare it to. I've used this 1 time so far, and it seemed to do a pretty good job. Rolling is the easy part. The messy and more difficult part is getting the frozen ice cream unstuck from the metal of the compartment. It freezes around the outside, but the middle is still very liquidy. But still seems pretty good. I'm happy with it. Next time I might try a bit less than a pint to make it easier for things to not overflow when I unstick the frozen cream from the walls.
  • Reviewed by nycjem from ny, ny on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    About halfway through the time listed on the instructions, you should open the ball and scrape the ice cream formed around the sides into the liquid in the middle. Otherwise you end up with really hard ice on the outer edges and much in the center.
  • Reviewed by North from Alaska on Monday, July 29, 2013
    I finally tried this out, prior to a camping trip to see if it works. It tended to leak a bit, but not horribly, and was heavier than anticipated (thought you could kick it around like a soccer ball but that was not recommended - likely to crack the plastic frame - and it would probably hurt your foot). Was able to get the kids to help roll it around. After 30 minutes of shaking/rolling, and opening the container to scrape the sides (mix the ingredients as it freezes), it made a pretty good product. I used half-and-half, directions say a heavier cream would take less time. This would be good for camping. Another poster said her kids liked rolling it down a hill. I would recommend that (less work on your part).
  • Reviewed by Napa Jim from Napa Valley on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    I bought three of these to use in a summer school program. Two of them cracked the first time we used them. I was told they were great fun in a pool, but they did not work in a gym. all it took was a drop on the hard floor and it cracked. after 20 minutes with the two that still held ice cream, they produced milkshakes not ice cream. Handle with care
  • Reviewed by Colleen from Merritt Island, FL on Tuesday, July 09, 2013
    My daughter (6) loves filling it up with salt/ice on the one side and the ingredients on the other. We just pick up organic half-and-half at the grocery store, add some chocolate chips and vanilla and she is in heaven 15 minutes later! The ice cream is actually very good and freezes pretty well. We have talked about bringing it out for picnics and the beach too. It really is a fun way to make ice cream!
  • Reviewed by Kim from Akron, NY on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    I initially bought one for my boyfriend and have since ordered 4 more to give as gifts. The first thing we made was the hot cocoa ice cream and we could not believe how simple it was to make and how good it tasted. Last night we made a fruit sorbet by adding a fruit/vegetable juice that had no added sugar, it was so good. The only drawback is that we wish there was a sleeve to place over the ball so when you use it outdoors it would keep it clean but we think next time we are going to put a plastic bag around it to make cleanup a little easier.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.