Industrial Revolution Play & Freeze Ice Cream Ball

Closeouts. Enjoy ice cream your way in just 20 minutes with Play & Freeze's fun, portable ice cream ball. It's so easy to use! Just follow the included recipes: Place ice and rock salt in one end and the ingredients in the other, shake for 20 minutes and voila!

Average Rating based on 43 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 43 reviews
  • Reviewed by Dave from Wisconsin on Thursday, July 2, 2015
    Took this camping. It works. However, it doesn't make much ice cream and the amount it does make is usually pretty soft. I'm sure it depends on the conditions in which you use it. It was a hot summer night when we did it.

    Also... not that great outdoors... the outside of the ball sweats and dirt & grass will stick to it.

    So, if you want to entertain the kids for a few minutes and you don't have an aversion to eating soft ice cream out of a dirty plastic ball... this is the product for you.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Katie from Chicago, IL on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
    We bought five of the Ice Cream maker balls for a "Bring Your Child to Work Day" event. It was great! With some adult supervision, we were able to make ice cream for a large group of kids with minimal mess (and that is saying something for 50+ kids), and the kids were able to actively participate in the process - adding the ice and salt to the outer ring as well as adding the ingredients to the inner core for the ice cream. The kids sat on the floor, rolled the ball back and forth, took turns shaking it, and had a great time. One word of caution - you definitely need to make sure to check the ice cream often and scoop it off the sides as you go. With five containers going at once, we had a few moments when the lids "froze" closed because we didn't open and scoop as often as we should have; however, a little hot water over the top and some "elbow grease" and they opened right up. Again, great product, fun for all ages and the ice cream was delicious!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Holly from Portland, OR on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    We made ice cream in 15 minutes with this ball. My kids took turns rolling it down a grassy hill. They got the satisfaction of making it themselves--and eating it, of course. We will use this all summer long.
  • Reviewed by Bob D from Houston on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    A fun way to make ice cream with the kids
  • Reviewed by Jodi from Chicago on Friday, December 20, 2013
    We got this for our son. Works great and keeps little hands (and feet) busy with a treat at the end for all their hard work!
  • Reviewed by weekend warrior from california on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    really fun and easy to use - you and your kids will love it - adults at a party will love it too!
  • Reviewed by Mtn Chica from Big Sky, MT on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    I haven't made ice cream since I did with mom and dad before I can even remember. So I don't have much to compare it to. I've used this 1 time so far, and it seemed to do a pretty good job. Rolling is the easy part. The messy and more difficult part is getting the frozen ice cream unstuck from the metal of the compartment. It freezes around the outside, but the middle is still very liquidy. But still seems pretty good. I'm happy with it. Next time I might try a bit less than a pint to make it easier for things to not overflow when I unstick the frozen cream from the walls.
  • Reviewed by Nycjem from ny, ny on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    About halfway through the time listed on the instructions, you should open the ball and scrape the ice cream formed around the sides into the liquid in the middle. Otherwise you end up with really hard ice on the outer edges and much in the center.
  • Reviewed by North from Alaska on Monday, July 29, 2013
    I finally tried this out, prior to a camping trip to see if it works. It tended to leak a bit, but not horribly, and was heavier than anticipated (thought you could kick it around like a soccer ball but that was not recommended - likely to crack the plastic frame - and it would probably hurt your foot). Was able to get the kids to help roll it around. After 30 minutes of shaking/rolling, and opening the container to scrape the sides (mix the ingredients as it freezes), it made a pretty good product. I used half-and-half, directions say a heavier cream would take less time. This would be good for camping. Another poster said her kids liked rolling it down a hill. I would recommend that (less work on your part).
  • Reviewed by Napa Jim from Napa Valley on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    I bought three of these to use in a summer school program. Two of them cracked the first time we used them. I was told they were great fun in a pool, but they did not work in a gym. all it took was a drop on the hard floor and it cracked. after 20 minutes with the two that still held ice cream, they produced milkshakes not ice cream. Handle with care
  • Reviewed by Colleen from Merritt Island, FL on Tuesday, July 9, 2013
    My daughter (6) loves filling it up with salt/ice on the one side and the ingredients on the other. We just pick up organic half-and-half at the grocery store, add some chocolate chips and vanilla and she is in heaven 15 minutes later! The ice cream is actually very good and freezes pretty well. We have talked about bringing it out for picnics and the beach too. It really is a fun way to make ice cream!
  • Reviewed by Kim from Akron, NY on Sunday, April 14, 2013
    I initially bought one for my boyfriend and have since ordered 4 more to give as gifts. The first thing we made was the hot cocoa ice cream and we could not believe how simple it was to make and how good it tasted. Last night we made a fruit sorbet by adding a fruit/vegetable juice that had no added sugar, it was so good. The only drawback is that we wish there was a sleeve to place over the ball so when you use it outdoors it would keep it clean but we think next time we are going to put a plastic bag around it to make cleanup a little easier.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mrs. Claus from Montrose, Colorado on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    We used the products (we bought 2) for our annual New Years Eve Party, dividing group into two teams, with prizes for the winning team. It was hilarious fun, tossing them, rolling them back and forth, everyone got involved. The ice cream froze quickly and it was delicious. While the winning team had to freeze their's first, and eat the ice cream to win, the losing team got to eat their ice cream at a leisurely pace - no "cold heads."
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CJ from Oregon on Tuesday, January 8, 2013
    Had a great time playing with it- is a little heavy, for older kids
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JB from Pulaski, NY on Thursday, January 3, 2013
    This is something I bought to entertain and amuse the grandchildren. It certainly does that! They had a 'ball' making ice cream. I can see where it will be their favorite entertainment on camping trips, or whenever they are bored.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nifty product! from Murrieta, CA on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    I purchased this for a gift exchange. It was really sent around before it got into the hands that took it home. I got another for us. I will update after I try it! Looks like it will be lots of fun and easy to use.k
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dpmbeatty from north carolina on Sunday, December 30, 2012
    Fun for the whole family!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MUA from VA on Thursday, December 27, 2012
    Awesome!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MrsK from Imperial Beach, CA on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
    It worked very well. Our three year old boys had a blast rolling the ball down a hill over and over again. I did open it up and scraped the sides, then they played with it again. It was very sturdy and easy to hose down before we opened it up. The ice cream was delicious. Everyone was surprised, including myself. Easy to clean up afterward. Happy I purchased it and will use it again for sure.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunshine24 from Van Buren, AR on Sunday, September 9, 2012
    I made the basic reciepe and it tasted great. You do need to open it and scrap down the sides a couple time or it will not freeze the middle. I didn't have rock salt so it took a little time to freeze. It's a nice novelty way of making ice cream. Only draw back is it's pretty heavy once filled with milk and ice so not just anyone can shake. Seems Durable though and no leaking for me.
    • Best Uses: Campgrounds
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable, Easy To Set Up, Easy to Use
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tbod from Chico CA on Monday, July 16, 2012
    Fun to have fresh, homemade ice cream on a camping trip. Easy to use.
    • Best Uses: Campgrounds, Day Trips
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grandma from Las Cruces NM on Thursday, July 5, 2012
    I was quite disappointed. Rock salt water leaked continuously from seam in ball and from sealed fill area. Ice cream took over an hour and was still liquid in middle while ice cream along sides of container were so frozen it was difficult to remove for serving.
    • Cons: Hard to Clean, LEAKS, Poor Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Swim mom from Kansas on Friday, June 29, 2012
    Bought this to take camping, but it may be too hot to waste my ice on making ice cream. My kids thought it was great when we made ice cream at home. We put bananas in the recipe and it was yummy. Would like the bigger version as this only makes a pint.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable, Easy To Set Up, Easy to Use
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by magstermoose from west springfield, massachusetts on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
    really anxious to try this out
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Online Shopper Mama from Cerritos, CA on Thursday, June 14, 2012
    A lot of fun for kids, and homemade ice cream is pretty tasty! Easy to use, easy to clean. Sure beats the mess of making ice cream in salty, soggy plastic zip bags...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MiMi from Fayetteville, AR on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
    The kids love this. They are 2 and 6 and we all get outside to make ice cream together. 15 minutes later we have delicious ice cream, with just the simple recipe on the package. This is excellent for kids, and the price is so great. You could spend 20 on some cheap plastic doll, or give this gift that they will NOT be getting from anyone else and they can make memories. LOVE THIS!
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy To Set Up
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Goldie from Hong Kong on Saturday, May 12, 2012
    Used it for a kids part and the kids loved it.a. Found it was much better if rolled.... too heavy to shake for long periods of time. Although you tube video indicated that it can be thrown... it cannot.
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable, Easy To Set Up, Easy to Use
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KD from Dairyland, USA on Thursday, January 5, 2012
    Cant wait to help the gift recipients make some ice cream!
    • Best Uses: Campgrounds, Trips
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Compact, Durable, Easy to Use, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sierra fan from Iowa City IA on Sunday, January 1, 2012
    I wanted something fun to put under the tree for my ball loving 'boys'. Our 20ish kids had a great time rolling it down our hill Christmas eve. It held up and made delicious ice cream. Fun for all ages
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Easy to Use
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the dad from Forestville, Ca on Thursday, December 29, 2011
    kids love to make ice cream!
    durable construction will withstand the excitement and anticipation of hands on fun for the family
    • Best Uses: Campgrounds
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 43 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #