Industrial Revolution Play & Freeze Ice Cream Ball

Closeouts. Enjoy ice cream your way in just 20 minutes with Play & Freeze's fun, portable ice cream ball. It's so easy to use! Just follow the included recipes: Place ice and rock salt in one end and the ingredients in the other, shake for 20 minutes and voila!

Average Rating based on 43 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 43 reviews
  • Reviewed by Dave from Wisconsin on Thursday, July 2, 2015
    Took this camping. It works. However, it doesn't make much ice cream and the amount it does make is usually pretty soft. I'm sure it depends on the conditions in which you use it. It was a hot summer night when we did it.

    Also... not that great outdoors... the outside of the ball sweats and dirt & grass will stick to it.

    So, if you want to entertain the kids for a few minutes and you don't have an aversion to eating soft ice cream out of a dirty plastic ball... this is the product for you.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Katie from Chicago, IL on Tuesday, June 30, 2015
    We bought five of the Ice Cream maker balls for a "Bring Your Child to Work Day" event. It was great! With some adult supervision, we were able to make ice cream for a large group of kids with minimal mess (and that is saying something for 50+ kids), and the kids were able to actively participate in the process - adding the ice and salt to the outer ring as well as adding the ingredients to the inner core for the ice cream. The kids sat on the floor, rolled the ball back and forth, took turns shaking it, and had a great time. One word of caution - you definitely need to make sure to check the ice cream often and scoop it off the sides as you go. With five containers going at once, we had a few moments when the lids "froze" closed because we didn't open and scoop as often as we should have; however, a little hot water over the top and some "elbow grease" and they opened right up. Again, great product, fun for all ages and the ice cream was delicious!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Holly from Portland, OR on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    We made ice cream in 15 minutes with this ball. My kids took turns rolling it down a grassy hill. They got the satisfaction of making it themselves--and eating it, of course. We will use this all summer long.
  • Reviewed by Bob D from Houston on Saturday, March 15, 2014
    A fun way to make ice cream with the kids
  • Reviewed by Jodi from Chicago on Friday, December 20, 2013
    We got this for our son. Works great and keeps little hands (and feet) busy with a treat at the end for all their hard work!
  • Reviewed by weekend warrior from california on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    really fun and easy to use - you and your kids will love it - adults at a party will love it too!
  • Reviewed by Mtn Chica from Big Sky, MT on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    I haven't made ice cream since I did with mom and dad before I can even remember. So I don't have much to compare it to. I've used this 1 time so far, and it seemed to do a pretty good job. Rolling is the easy part. The messy and more difficult part is getting the frozen ice cream unstuck from the metal of the compartment. It freezes around the outside, but the middle is still very liquidy. But still seems pretty good. I'm happy with it. Next time I might try a bit less than a pint to make it easier for things to not overflow when I unstick the frozen cream from the walls.
  • Reviewed by Nycjem from ny, ny on Tuesday, September 24, 2013
    About halfway through the time listed on the instructions, you should open the ball and scrape the ice cream formed around the sides into the liquid in the middle. Otherwise you end up with really hard ice on the outer edges and much in the center.
  • Reviewed by North from Alaska on Monday, July 29, 2013
    I finally tried this out, prior to a camping trip to see if it works. It tended to leak a bit, but not horribly, and was heavier than anticipated (thought you could kick it around like a soccer ball but that was not recommended - likely to crack the plastic frame - and it would probably hurt your foot). Was able to get the kids to help roll it around. After 30 minutes of shaking/rolling, and opening the container to scrape the sides (mix the ingredients as it freezes), it made a pretty good product. I used half-and-half, directions say a heavier cream would take less time. This would be good for camping. Another poster said her kids liked rolling it down a hill. I would recommend that (less work on your part).
  • Reviewed by Napa Jim from Napa Valley on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    I bought three of these to use in a summer school program. Two of them cracked the first time we used them. I was told they were great fun in a pool, but they did not work in a gym. all it took was a drop on the hard floor and it cracked. after 20 minutes with the two that still held ice cream, they produced milkshakes not ice cream. Handle with care
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 43 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #