Customer Reviews Of:
Inov-8 X-Talon 240 Extreme Trail Running Shoes - Lightweight (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Inov-8 X-Talon 240 trail running shoes are amazingly lightweight and supply serious all-terrain traction courtesy of an aggressively lugged outsole.

  • Ideal for trail running and cross country
  • Extremely light and breathable mesh upper
  • Meta Flex technology for added overall flexibility
  • Removable, lightly cushioned insole
  • Padded collar
  • Abrasion-resistant toe rand for durability
  • All-terrain lugged rubber outsole
  • Height: 5"
  • Weight: 1 lb. 2 oz. pr.
  • Medium width
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Shoe Sizing
  • Guide

Average Rating based on 12 reviews 4.666666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Squisha from Denver, CO on Wednesday, August 24, 2011
    I'm a fan of the Inov8 line. I prefer more lightweight, minimalist shoes in general but it's hard to find a good trail shoe that fits the bill. These do.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Trail Running
    • Cons: Wears Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by zippetydude from San G and San J Wilderness, SoCal on Saturday, August 13, 2011
    For trail running, either in slippery conditions or up super steep rocky terrain, these are sweetness. I just got them, tried them on, tried them out, and they're some of the best shoes I've come across. They're lighter than normal low tops, as grippy as cleats, and fit like a glove the first time I put them on. [...]. Because of the super light construction, I don't expect them to last real long, but at crazy STP prices, who cares?
    • Best Uses: All Weather Conditions, Mixed Terrain, Trail Running, With Orthotics/Inserts
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Terminate the Trails from Danville, PA on Saturday, July 9, 2011
    Got these for a messy trail race coming up in the spring (mud, ice, snow, rocks, etc.). Unlike my running shoe based trail runners, these are designed only for trail use (in fact the rubbery, cleat-like soles feel odd on pavement).
    I've only got one test run in so far, but on a rainy day with mixed terrain (jagged rocks, uphill, downhill, mud, tree roots, etc.) these performed amazingly well with NO SLIPPING. I thought the mid-top would be annoying, but it actually helped with balance and ankle support. It's like a super-lite and flexible version of a hiking boot. If you are looking for waterproof- look elsewhere.
    I'm not ready for the barefoot thing yet, which inov-8 tries to transition you in to, so I added a pair of sofsole insoles and that did the trick.
    Be aware that these absolutely run a half size too big (I always wear an 11 or even occasionally 11.5 and had to send them back and get a 10.5).
    The manufacturer's website claims that the sole is super sticky, but the cost is that they wear quickly. Other reviewers on the internets didn't have that problem.
    I took off a star for hideocity and my wife laughing at me. The question is, who will laugh last on game day?
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Mixed Terrain, Trail Running, Wet Weather, With Orthotics/Inserts
    • Cons: Wears Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Pros: Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MavenSpeed from Bend, OR on Wednesday, July 6, 2011
    I have never used a high-top running shoe before, but I've been intrigued by Innov8 shoes for a while, and have been doing a lot of trail running, so I decided to give these a try. WOW! Super lightweight while being supportive and grip-y. Really like these shoes. I'm curious to see how long they last, so far so good!
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Mixed Terrain, Trail Running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Good Arch Support, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frank from Kansas City, MO on Wednesday, July 6, 2011
    These shoes are very light, and they really grip well and dry quickly. They are a bit on the wide side though, and my narrowish feet slide around inside the shoes a little on uneven rocks. That, plus the fact that they have virtually no arch support, is enough to more than negate the ankle support you'd expect from them being high tops. On rocks, I am much more comfortable running in heavier, firmer shoes.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Cons: Poor Stability
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fed88 from Portland, OR on Tuesday, June 28, 2011
    Great trail runners, extremely light and comfortable, extremely good traction. Not super stiff and probably won't last a long time but that's the flip side of its qualities. Highly recommended
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Trail Running
    • Cons: Wears Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold Wind from Johnstown, PA on Monday, June 27, 2011
    I am an avid trail runner and have spent the last two years enjoying minimalist shoes. With hundreds of miles on Vasque Transistor FS and NB MT101's, I was intrigued by the Inov-8 X-Talon's light weight. Today I was finally able to get my first six miles in these shoes. Awesome! The fit is solid without being constraining. The higher cut isn't noticeable but keeps debris from getting in without the need for a gaiter. The agressive lug pattern was stable on everything from dirt trails to road edges to scree piles. The grip of the rubber is phenomenal. With half of my year's running in wet and snowy conditions, I'm anxious (but in no rush) to see how they perform in the snow. I'll obviously wear my Gore-tex socks to keep the feet dry. Overall a great shoe particularly for the Sierra Trading Post price.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Mixed Terrain, Trail Running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GEEHAD from Denver, CO on Monday, June 27, 2011
    Wore these this past weekend in the "Tough Mudder" Beaver Creek and was blown away by the performance of these shoes. Never felt a loss of traction over the course of 10 miles of mud and mountainous terrain, and oh yeah 20+ crazy obstacles... Awesome shoes!!!
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Mixed Terrain, Trail Running
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by by from oregon on Tuesday, June 21, 2011
    mountain runner with high top that keeps out scree. very aggressive lugs are good on snow and scree but not so nice for climbing on rock.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Mountain running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Nick from Folsom, Pa on Tuesday, June 21, 2011
    I bought these for a mud run I just did. They were perfect. they are super light, did not soak up water and they cleated traction helped me just tear up extreemly muddy hills. they were perfect for this event!
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Trail Running
    • Cons: Poor Arch Support, Poor Cushioning
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Traction, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2