Customer Reviews Of:
Julbo Dolgan Sunglasses - Spectron 3 Lenses

Closeouts. Just at home in the city as in the wilderness, Julbo's Dolgan sunglasses have removable side shields, Spectron 3 lenses and a high-wrap lens geometry for an extra-wide field of vision.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 4.100000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris in C-Falls from NW Montana on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    What I like:

    The Spectron 3 lens shade is excellent for all around conditions. It's just enough in bright sunlight, but I can still read terrain at a reasonable speed on my skis when it's overcast. The side shields effectively block extra sunlight when I'm not moving fast. They fit my medium/narrow face very comfortably and without slipping around. The optical clarity and lack of distortion is as close to perfect as I can assess. The temples fit well over a toque if it's really cold out.


    What could be better:

    My greatest dislike by far is that they fog pretty badly, which is compounded by the side shields when they are in place. I must note that this only takes place when performing aerobic activities like skiing, hiking with a pack, or the like. I use Fog-X on a small chamois that I keep in a ziplock in my ski/climbing jacket pocket, and that effectively cuts the fog, but these glasses are designed to fit very closely to the face, which nearly completely impedes air flow. Also, the straight design of the temples causes the glasses to raise from the bridge of my nose if wearing a ball cap, or brimmed hat (making them not useful at all for paddling).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tim from Michigan on Saturday, January 3, 2015
    Quality lens European made-not Chinese. Good for small faces. Side shields are removable for a normal glasses look.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maiterzz from Chicago on Wednesday, December 10, 2014
    I've tried these sunglasses indoors and outdoors and was very impressed. The side shields definitely blocked off any source of light that would be of annoyance. This product was comfortable and fit nicely.
  • Reviewed by Colinsdad from Longmeadow MA on Sunday, July 13, 2014
    I needed a pair of sunglasses that were equipped with much darker lenses, and these Spectron 4s fit the bill, performance wise- DEFINITELY the go-to lens for mountaineering however it does come with a caveat and that's that these MAY be too small for you. I'm like everyone else in that I read the specs but I don't sit there and measure my face to see what size frame works. So bottom line if I'm not doing something too active I'll wear these especially in ultrabright conditions. What happen was is the frame is just a bit too small for my face so I had to use a sunglass cord, cinched tight to keep these from sliding off my face during activities where I need to look down. I also think part of the problem is that, while these are extremely UltraLite frames there's nothing on arms to keep a good purchase to the side of your head (I.e. rubber overlays). That being said as far as performance is concerned innkeeping transmitted light away from your eyes, it does an outstanding job! Just too bad that they're too small for my head.
  • Reviewed by Zoltar from California on Saturday, April 5, 2014
    The spectron 4 version of these has great optical quality. Unfortunately these glasses were too shallow for my eyes, and my eyelashes hit the lenses. This caused a tickling sensation that drove me crazy so I had to return them. I own another Julbo product, the 2014 Montebianco, which I paid nearly one hundred dollars for. (I tried these because I scratched my Montebiancos) These glasses have the same lenses, and the sun blocks on them are better and more durable. If you have short lashes and a smaller face, go for these. With coupon, they area a steal.
  • Reviewed by JohnnyQ from PA on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    Great sunglasses for high glare situations with the Spectron 4 lenses. Fits my narrow face perfectly.
  • Reviewed by GIVIUS from Georgia on Monday, December 23, 2013
    I bought black one with Spectron 4 lens and that is what i need for ski and mountaineering.
  • Reviewed by Mike from California on Friday, November 15, 2013
    The Spectron 3 lenses are very good for general purpose wear. The lens size is on the small side, but I find they look nice. The thick frames do block some of my field-of-view, so they are not my go-to pair for driving or sporting activities. The thick frames and side shields would be good for mountaineering with the Spectron 4 lenses, but the Spectron 3 is not really dark enough for that. I use them for casual wear and find the quality very good.
  • Reviewed by Climber from Californai on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    These are first class sunglasses. The lenses are very dark, so they are good for high-glare situations.

    The only reason I did not give them 5 stars is that the case is pretty insubstantial. It works, but is made of what appears to be cheap plastic.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Redleg93 from Twin Cities, MN on Wednesday, May 23, 2012
    Great value for the price. The shades are great for outdoor use, especially around water and snow.
    • Best Uses: At The Beach, Trekking
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-Oriented
    • Pros: Adequate Tint, Comfortable, Good Polarization
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by: