Ivanhoe Boiled Wool Vest (For Men)

Closeouts. A sophisticated layering piece that wears well in any casual environment, Ivanhoe's boiled wool vest keeps your core warm with dense, wind-resistant fabric.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by pieman from Omaha on Friday, February 28, 2014
    I nice built basic vest. wool is much more stylish and unique thand standard fare fleece vests. well constructed and fit is spot on (med, i'm 70" and 165lbs, 40" jacket)
  • Reviewed by Mark from Takoma Park on Wednesday, February 5, 2014
    This has been an excellent layering vest, very warm and comfortable. Has enough style to wear as a top layer as well
  • Reviewed by new england from massachusetts on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    Nice comfortable vest. Very lightweight and soft feel
  • Reviewed by sierradmd from Colorado on Tuesday, January 7, 2014
    Years ago, I asked two members of Denmark's vaunted Sirius Patrol (a military group which makes winter dogsled patrols of north Greenland's coast) which layering fabric they preferred "at work," with their extremes of activity and inactivity. Although I expected some variation of polyester, they unhesitatingly replied, "boiled wool." Well, if it works for these folks, it should work for me, and it's worth a look as a cold-weather garment.

    I found Ivanhoe's vest a curious mix. Yes, it was boiled (felted) wool, but except for the thicker collar it was a thinly woven fabric seemingly comparable to a light warm up suit. Its appearance was elegant and well-made (although the stitching on the sleeves and the nametag are quite conspicuous), far better suited to an evening at the ski lodge than on the trail getting there where it might stretch or get snagged on branches or equipment. In 20^ weather, I compared it with a heavier polyester vest (it seemed just as warm) and with a down vest (which was warmer). It traps still air nicely but I don't think it would block wind at all well, so it seems best as an internal layer or an external indoor layer on a cold day. Sure, the fragile appearance might well be deceptive, but this seems to be a garment which will respond well to the care you give it.

    It's a good-looking addition to a cold-weather wardrobe, and I plan to keep it even if it wasn't what I expected (some of the best purchases are like that).
  • Reviewed by Duaine Priestley from Houston on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    A beautiful and efficient piece of clothing. I bought one for myself that met all of my expectations - it is especially warm as I expected it to be. I also bought one for my wife for Christmas, but UPS lost it in transit! An excellent buy with a unique style.
  • Reviewed by Grun the tree guy from Seattle on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    I got this vest with one of Sierra's great coupons
    It cost about $60 once I added some things to get free shipping at $100
    I hoped to wear this vest at work, but i am afraid it might be too nice
    Maybe after a year or two of civilian wear it'll find its way into my workwear
    No regrets with this purchase
    Wish I could give everyone I know one for X-mas

  • Reviewed by George from Iowa on Monday, November 18, 2013
    Warm, lightweight, perfect fit = fabulous!
  • Reviewed by Marguerite Yourcenar from Eugene, OR on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    I bought this vest in black for my husband who loves it. Like all products of this company, it combines high quality material with a simple, elegant cut. The vest looks much more elegant than on the picture.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.