Customer Reviews Of:
Ivanhoe Underwool Thin Base Layer Bottoms - Merino Wool, Lightweight (For Women)

Closeouts. Ivanhoe's Underwool Thin base layer bottoms warm you with breathable, itch-free merino wool -- a fabric that also naturally regulates temperature to keep you warm when it's cold, and cool when temps rise.

Average Rating based on 56 reviews 4.285714 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3 ... 6
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dot from Canada from Along the Grand River, Ontario, Canada on Thursday, January 12, 2012
    Picked up these Ivanhoe bottoms for a friend of mine who would rather bike than take a bus even in the middle of a great Canadian winter. The merino bottoms are breathable and lightweight enough to take the edge off the cold without being so airtight that you are dripping hot after a bike ride.
    Can't beat the cost. I have a pair or Smartwool's that I love ... but they don't come anywhere close to the price for the Ivanhoe's. This is excellent value and a great investment.
    • Best Uses: Everyday - three seasons
    • Cons: Leg length a bit long
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Pros: Breathable, Can't beat the price, Cozy, Fits snuggly, Great stitching, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold in OH from Springfield, OH on Friday, December 30, 2011
    I wear under jeans, dress pants, and cords. It is perfect for layering. Very comfortable, warm, and soft. I'm very happy with purchase.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Layering, Snow Sports
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KB from Morgantown, WW on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    I bought these for my daughter after buying the same for myself and loving them.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZGrace from Prescott AZ on Saturday, December 24, 2011
    These are wodnerful and I am forever a fan of wool long johns. However, they did shrink a little in cold wash and hang dry, so i'd probalby get a size up next time.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking
    • Cons: Restricts Movement
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Petite woman from Iowa on Friday, December 23, 2011
    I only tried them on and they were too long for me, as a Petite woman
    • Cons: Too long legs
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Work Out
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Northern Arizona from Flagstaff, AZ on Friday, December 9, 2011
    I am 5'11 and weigh 155 pounds. I wear a true size 10 (except for length), or a medium. I ordered these in L to make sure they were long enough. The length is perfect for me; most leggings are more like capri leggings on me, but these fit my entire leg to ankle.

    The ankle band does not feel too tight to me, and the leggings are not tight, but allow freedom of movement. The waist band is about 1.5" wide and rides comfortably just below my natural waist, and there is plenty of room in seat and crotch without being baggy. I love this product and am glad I did not order the medium which may have been too short and tight for my size. These leggings fit well under my pants without grabbing the material and they keep me plenty warm when outdoors walking or cross country skiing. I prefer the qualities of wool to those of synthetic base layers.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by winter cyclist from Minneapolis, MN on Tuesday, December 6, 2011
    I got these to use as a base layer for winter cycling in Minnesota. I swear by merino wool for intense outdoor activity in extreme cold - dries fast and keeps me really warm, and these definitely meet that standard.

    I am 5'5" and weigh 120 lbs with larger cyclist thighs/calves, and the small is roomy on me and a bit on the long side, but I'm overall happy with the fit. I love the high waist as a cycling base layer, also. These definitely sit at the natural waist, so if that bothers you, you'd have to either roll them down or go with a different style.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow Sports, Winter cycling
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by franken trotter from northern state on Saturday, December 3, 2011
    I have tried them all...everything from calida (swiss company, too thin, too much lace and poor fit), medima (germany, warm but a bit on the shorter side), to smartwool (US brand, too thick and smells funny), and Ivanhoe is by far the most comfortable, the most lightweight, hypoallergenic (good for my eczema), and delivers the best quality warm long underwear. It is truly silky smooth, and I like the fact that it has generous rib edge at the waist and and the ankle which makes for a better fit, and it is made a bit on the longer side. I am ordinarily an size xs-0, but I bought a pair of S, and i like the roomy feel of these pants. I like this a lot and would buy more.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZgrace from Northern Arizona on Sunday, November 20, 2011
    I had my first experience of wool long johns on a visit to my daughter in Massachusetts. Came home and ordered these and love them! Warmer than silk. Far greater comfort than Polypropylene. Jeans were soaked from snow and I was warm and dry. Will buy again.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Snow Sports, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Running Girl from Baker City, OR on Tuesday, November 8, 2011
    I loved these. They are plenty long which I usually have trouble with (I'm 5'8"), but they bothered me being so tight around the ankles (I'm small boned). The legs were comfortable, neither tight nor too loose.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3 ... 6