Customer Reviews Of:
Ivanhoe Underwool Thin Base Layer Bottoms - Merino Wool, Lightweight (For Women)

Closeouts. Ivanhoe's Underwool Thin base layer bottoms warm you with breathable, itch-free merino wool -- a fabric that also naturally regulates temperature to keep you warm when it's cold, and cool when temps rise.

Average Rating based on 56 reviews 4.285714 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by daisygirl from MN on Friday, January 16, 2015
    I ordered these not believing they would be long enough and to my delight, they are perfect!! I am 6' and 167 lbs and they fit like a dream - nice tight cuffs at bottom and not too baggie around the waist. I bought a second and use them often under jeans or layering for ice fishing... Minnesota winters can get to -30+ with wind chill so these are a must have!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tall Girl from Michigan on Wednesday, October 29, 2014
    Searched and searched for an warm undergarment for the legs. Being a tall 5'8" woman I had resorted to cold calves (when women's were too short) and using tall socks or men's (with unneeded fabric in the front) for years. Finally a pair that is just right. Seem to run true to size and the perfect weight for under my clothing. Thank you, thank you for not leaving the tall woman without.
  • Reviewed by NY woods girl from Western, NY on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    I ordered a small- 5'6 125 lbs. And these were too big for my liking. I prefer tight layering pants. The fabric felt nice- maybe a tad ichy compared to other brands. If you don't mind baggy they seem like they would provide a nice warm layer. Also the waist elastic was fairly tight for the baggy bottom part. I sent these back.
  • Reviewed by happy walker from North Carolina on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    I bought these bottoms to use when I walk my dogs outside in cold weather. I really like these. I like how they stay around the ankles and do not ride up. I've used them in very cold (32 degrees) and very windy weather under sweatpants. They're great and kept me warm. I can also wear them under my jeans. Highly recommend them.
  • Reviewed by Sally Ann from seattle wa on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    great item, fits straight, not baggy, washes great. wonderful under long skirts, jeans, outdoor wear, or even with casual skirts as leggings
  • Reviewed by SB from emerald city on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    I admit: I got caught up in the european ski bunny image and pictured myself toasty warm and zipping down the alps. Alas, it was not to be. These are an average baselayer at best. They are quite thin and see-through. The front and back are cut the same, so the waist comes high in front but dips in back due to junk in the trunk-- and my trunk is fairly small!! but they were not very stretchy at all and if they do stretch out, i don't think they'd bounce back to shape. I found these to be itchier and rougher feeling than my other merino brands. I'm normally a medium, but ordered a large and i would not want them any smaller in the hips/thigh/waist, but the legs were a bit baggy. the length was fabulous though-- so if you're tall and just want some longjohns to wear under jeans, these are it.
  • Reviewed by Trudi from Florida on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    Very happy with this purchase.
  • Reviewed by Kathryn from Indiana on Tuesday, November 19, 2013
    I really love this base layer and ordered a pair for my mother. I took some heavier icebreakers on an extended backcountry trip to Glacier NP this summer and discovered the advantages of wool - the odor-free wide range of comfort at different temperatures - . I will not go back to synthetics but the challenge was weight. These should fit the bill. They are very light and good for layering and while all wool has a bit of itch these are remarkably soft. They fit me rather like the picture. I am 5'3" 124# and they are long so they bunch a bit at the bottom but I don't really mind. The cuffs are snug but not tight on me. I like the fact that they will not ride up when I sleep in them. They are very well made and the gusset creates a good fit. They set at the true waist so the mid section is well protected from the cold no matter what your position.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marvy from Northern Minnesota on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    These are by far the best long underwear I have ever owned. And I have owned a lot! The bottoms fit beautifully. No sagging in the crotch.
    I even love to wear them to bed under my flannel gown. They are just perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Huntress from Powhatan, VA on Monday, November 26, 2012
    I hunt, and as far as added warmth, these do a decent job. I thought the fit was pretty good. Not as soft as other wool long johns I've tried, but not bad.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by walkabout from Manitou Springs, CO on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    I bought a pair of these and a pair of RedRam to compare. They are both really well-made. I love that these are not made in China and I feel the waistband sits a bit higher on these. My only beef with these is that, for me, the ankle band fits a wee bit snug...otherwise these are a great, great value. I wish they came in other colors!
    • Best Uses: Anytime
    • Cons: Tight-ish Around Ankles
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Retains Body Heat
    • Waist: True to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by mamasgirl from Vancouver British Columbia on Saturday, October 6, 2012
    I am 5'3, size small which fits perfectly. I wear with mid calf boots and long tops for everyday easy comfortable outfits. Lightweight but warm, soft.
    They wash beautifully. I don't wear them under other trousers, so the soft drape gives them the "softer than strangled look" of leggings . A-1 product.
    • Best Uses: Anytime, Much Better Than Leggings
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Leisure Lifestyle, Senior Doing Daily Errand
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breath-ability, Comfy Waistband, Cuffed Bottoms Great, Durable, Extremely Comfortable, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Waist: True to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sammie from Mammoth Lakes, CA on Thursday, September 6, 2012
    I ordered these in a Medium. I am 5'9" 35/27/40. They fit true to size. They are the only merino wool pants I ordered that had a true crotch area and not just a four way seam.
    • Best Uses: On The Mountain
    • Cons: Not Stylish
    • Describe Yourself: Snowboarder/Skier
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breath-ability, Comfortable, Retains Body Heat
    • Waist: True to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camp Happy from Minnesota on Thursday, August 23, 2012
    I will be using these long underwear for late fall and winter camping. SO happy to finally find a pair that fits long legged girls. Inseam is about 34". I want another pair.
    • Best Uses: On The Mountain, Sleeping, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoorsman
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Waist: True to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by X-girl from Seattle, WA on Tuesday, May 29, 2012
    I have long legs, so I really like the length- but these are not for the shorter person. I also like that they fit & if they shrink a little, they will still fit!!! The wool is so soft! I love it!
    • Best Uses: Around the House, On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Cons: Little long
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman, Snowboarder/Skier
    • Inseam: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breath-ability, Comfortable, Durable, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Waist: True to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GreenTara871 from Baltmore, MD on Tuesday, February 28, 2012
    Not at all itchy. Don't seem to breed odor like the man-made materials do.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Running, Snow Sports
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by older rider from Wyoming on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
    I needed some thinner long underwear for under my jeans to go horseback riding in the winter. I hate to be cold; didn't have a problem with my legs getting cold.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TJ the wimp from Hillsborough, NC on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    These are very comfortable, and very warm! I'm always cold and was looking for a warmer pair of long undies and these seem to be the ones. I would give 5 stars except for they are really long and bunch up around the knee - not a big problem for me, but if you wear your jeans/pants tight, it might be.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Running, Snow Sports, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Arkansas Traveler from Hot Springs, AR on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    Bought these for a fishing trip in Alaska. I am very cold natured and I think these will be perfect. I will also wear them under my jeans on cold days here in Arkansas. Love that they don't itch at all.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by royandronnie from Va. Beach, VA on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    The two best things about these base-layer bottoms are that they're super lightweight--about 5 1/2oz--and they fit at the natural waist, which means your stomach is covered in cold weather, and not exposed. The sale price also brings a pricey product closer to within reach. If you're counting ounces--hikers and competitive runners or skiers--you'll love this line.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Running
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Natural waistline, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dot from Canada from Along the Grand River, Ontario, Canada on Thursday, January 12, 2012
    Picked up these Ivanhoe bottoms for a friend of mine who would rather bike than take a bus even in the middle of a great Canadian winter. The merino bottoms are breathable and lightweight enough to take the edge off the cold without being so airtight that you are dripping hot after a bike ride.
    Can't beat the cost. I have a pair or Smartwool's that I love ... but they don't come anywhere close to the price for the Ivanhoe's. This is excellent value and a great investment.
    • Best Uses: Everyday - three seasons
    • Cons: Leg length a bit long
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Pros: Breathable, Can't beat the price, Cozy, Fits snuggly, Great stitching, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold in OH from Springfield, OH on Friday, December 30, 2011
    I wear under jeans, dress pants, and cords. It is perfect for layering. Very comfortable, warm, and soft. I'm very happy with purchase.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Layering, Snow Sports
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KB from Morgantown, WW on Tuesday, December 27, 2011
    I bought these for my daughter after buying the same for myself and loving them.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZGrace from Prescott AZ on Saturday, December 24, 2011
    These are wodnerful and I am forever a fan of wool long johns. However, they did shrink a little in cold wash and hang dry, so i'd probalby get a size up next time.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking
    • Cons: Restricts Movement
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Petite woman from Iowa on Friday, December 23, 2011
    I only tried them on and they were too long for me, as a Petite woman
    • Cons: Too long legs
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Work Out
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Northern Arizona from Flagstaff, AZ on Friday, December 9, 2011
    I am 5'11 and weigh 155 pounds. I wear a true size 10 (except for length), or a medium. I ordered these in L to make sure they were long enough. The length is perfect for me; most leggings are more like capri leggings on me, but these fit my entire leg to ankle.

    The ankle band does not feel too tight to me, and the leggings are not tight, but allow freedom of movement. The waist band is about 1.5" wide and rides comfortably just below my natural waist, and there is plenty of room in seat and crotch without being baggy. I love this product and am glad I did not order the medium which may have been too short and tight for my size. These leggings fit well under my pants without grabbing the material and they keep me plenty warm when outdoors walking or cross country skiing. I prefer the qualities of wool to those of synthetic base layers.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by winter cyclist from Minneapolis, MN on Tuesday, December 6, 2011
    I got these to use as a base layer for winter cycling in Minnesota. I swear by merino wool for intense outdoor activity in extreme cold - dries fast and keeps me really warm, and these definitely meet that standard.

    I am 5'5" and weigh 120 lbs with larger cyclist thighs/calves, and the small is roomy on me and a bit on the long side, but I'm overall happy with the fit. I love the high waist as a cycling base layer, also. These definitely sit at the natural waist, so if that bothers you, you'd have to either roll them down or go with a different style.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Snow Sports, Winter cycling
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by franken trotter from northern state on Saturday, December 3, 2011
    I have tried them all...everything from calida (swiss company, too thin, too much lace and poor fit), medima (germany, warm but a bit on the shorter side), to smartwool (US brand, too thick and smells funny), and Ivanhoe is by far the most comfortable, the most lightweight, hypoallergenic (good for my eczema), and delivers the best quality warm long underwear. It is truly silky smooth, and I like the fact that it has generous rib edge at the waist and and the ankle which makes for a better fit, and it is made a bit on the longer side. I am ordinarily an size xs-0, but I bought a pair of S, and i like the roomy feel of these pants. I like this a lot and would buy more.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZgrace from Northern Arizona on Sunday, November 20, 2011
    I had my first experience of wool long johns on a visit to my daughter in Massachusetts. Came home and ordered these and love them! Warmer than silk. Far greater comfort than Polypropylene. Jeans were soaked from snow and I was warm and dry. Will buy again.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Snow Sports, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Support, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Running Girl from Baker City, OR on Tuesday, November 8, 2011
    I loved these. They are plenty long which I usually have trouble with (I'm 5'8"), but they bothered me being so tight around the ankles (I'm small boned). The legs were comfortable, neither tight nor too loose.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Hiking, Snow Sports
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Moisture Wicking
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2