Customer Reviews Of:
Jacob Siegel Commuter Coat - Wool (For Men)

Closeouts. Office commutes are wearying enough; surround yourself in the warmth and luxury of Jacob Siegel's Commuter coat, a basic dress-coat style made from an indulgent blend of wool and cashmere.

  • Button front
  • Welted pockets
  • Center vent
  • Length: Short 37", Regular 38", Long 40" ( based on size 42)
  • Fabric: 70% wool, 20% nylon, 10% cashmere
  • Lining: Body is polyester; sleeves are 49% polyester, 51% viscose
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Made in Haiti

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.777777 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Government Bureaucrat from Washington DC on Monday, January 23, 2012
    I'm 5' 11" and 42 regular, with slightly wide shoulders for that size, and this fits me well; I'd enjoy better freedom of movement if the shoulders were cut slightly bigger, but this is true with most things I buy. It fits fine over a suit jacket and comes to just above my knees.

    This replaces a similar but not as nice coat; the other was heavier fabric, but this is just as warm, mainly because it fits better. It is not very heavy, but over a suit with gloves hat and scarf, it's hard to imagine needing more in DC, even when it's in the 20s outside.

    The material is nice--it feels sturdy yet soft. The only thing I'd change (aside from custom tailoring!) would be a bigger collar that turns up against the wind.

    Overall it's a strong buy; I've seen similar coats on department store sale racks for nearly twice as much.
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Work
    • Pros: Fits Well, Looks great, versatile weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by climberdude from new mexico on Friday, December 23, 2011
    this is a nice coat. I'm not used to things this fancy, but my wife loves it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gomersni from small town Iowa on Monday, December 19, 2011
    This is a classic coat without looking as though I'm wearing my grandfather's clothes. It's long and warm enough to do the job of getting me from a light fall coat to the huge and heavy down job I'll get out of the closet when winter really sets in. However, this is not a heavy coat and it's agreeably soft to the touch; it doesn't feel as though you're wearing a horse blanket. I've given the product four stars rather than five only because I've had it for less than a month; to earn five stars, the buttons will have to stay on after a year's wear, a stiff test for any garment :-)
    • Best Uses: Over jacket to office
    • Cons: None yet
    • Pros: Comfortable, Looks good, Warm but not heavy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Proud mother-in-law from Birmingham, AL on Tuesday, December 6, 2011
    Ordered a 44L for my son-in-law, and fit was perfect. Medium weight, not bulky, knee length on his 6'2" frame.
    • Best Uses: Good for any occasion, Winter in the south
    • Pros: Boxed well not wrinkled, Medium weight, Right overall length, Right sleeve length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kmj from minneapolis, mn on Saturday, December 3, 2011
    used for going to and from work. It is a little longer than expected
    • Best Uses: Work
    • Pros: Classic, Warm
  • Reviewed by Jscott from Central Kentucky on Wednesday, November 16, 2011
    I own several wool coats and this is most definately one of my nicer ones. The fabric is extremely soft and the lining is a very nice satin. It's a light to medium weight, which is perfect for me. Not a big fan of heavy coats. I'm a 42R and this coat in a 42R fits perfectly. Usually, the sleeves are too long, but not the case with this one. This coat is quite a bargain, if you're able to get one in your size.
    • Best Uses: Out on the town, Over a suit
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Excellent Length, Fits Well, High quality fabric, Sized correctly
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by "Old Greg" from Greenville, SC on Thursday, November 3, 2011
    Great find! The coat is well made--the price is definitely a good value.
    • Best Uses: Wear to templechurch, wear to work
    • Pros: Good design, Length is just right
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by amc from NJ on Tuesday, November 1, 2011
    The coat is perfect for the "in between" weather that is too cold for a raincoat and not cold enough for a parka. Has plenty of room to fit over a sweater or sportcoat. I saw comparable coats in stores and on line for $500 and up!
    • Pros: Good Fit, Right weight, Well Made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PeterH from Los Angeles on Tuesday, October 25, 2011
    Great looking coat, well-made. A steal for the price. I had the sleeves shortened a bit at a tailor. I am 35" shirt sleeve, ordered a 46L coat. The sleeves went almost to the ends of my fingers.
  • Sort by: