Customer Reviews Of:
JanSport Klamath 55 Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. You can rack up some big mileage on the trail when you have the support, stability and durability of JanSport's Klamath 55 backpack to see you through each mile in comfort.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews 3.866666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker Mom from VA on Monday, June 1, 2015
    The tag says short-- I was a bit concerned / confused about that-- this backpack is a bit shorter than a standard sized one would be, I am sure. But it fits my 15 year old son, who is about 5'7'', perfectly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mathaytays from Ohio on Wednesday, May 20, 2015
    The 2014 Backpacker magazine's pack of the year...Bought it as a birthday present for my mother hoping it would live up to it's reputation. Took it out for the weekend and it worked great! Plenty of room for her stuff, lots of pockets for organization, seemed to hold up very well (though after only 1 hike it is hard to tell). Overall, I am very satisfied! Only downside is I wish it had a built-in pack cover, but I knew that it didn't before I bought it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by funny lookin flyfisherman from OR on Wednesday, May 20, 2015
    The material is thin, that's definitely the first thing I noticed but it seems like it will hold up Alright. The inside has a removable devider so that a sleeping bag can be stuffed in from the bottom or can be removed allowing you to reach packed items from the top of bottom zippers. I'm not sure if that's what it was designed for but it's kind of nice. The waist straps were surprisingly more sturdy than I expected, and I'm a huge fan of the many pockets and two water bottle pouches.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by weekender from Colorado on Monday, March 23, 2015
    We took the pack out for a three day in the mountains. It was spacious and durable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Outdoorguru from NC on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    Superb for the money
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lmcclun from California on Sunday, February 8, 2015
    I should have actually looked at the measurements, as I assumed when it said 55, it meant it would pack 55 pounds. The packs are well made and for the price, I will make them work.
  • Reviewed by RamonVT from Vermont on Saturday, January 4, 2014
    Great backpack for day trips or short treks
  • Reviewed by Fixer from Kansas on Monday, November 4, 2013
    Online description was not accurate and a little misleading as to size and features. Other than that product seem OK. Loaned it to a Scout for a weekend hike, will know more when he gets back. I have purchased several packs online for my own use and family plus Boy Scouts in my Troop. Can't really compare until you live with one for a few miles. Bought it for a loaner,but seems like it would work for me if it were a little longer in torso.
    Worth the money and I am satisfied so far
  • Reviewed by Ed from Broadview Heights on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    http://www.jansport.com/js_product_detail.php?pid=TVU5
  • Reviewed by Ed from Broadview Heights on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    I bought this for my first year Boy Scout and, as a previous reviewer noted, the specs are incorrect. In addition to what they noted, it's a single aluminum stay and not dual. It definitely fits a shorter torso although the waist belt is almost a little too large for my son, although he's on the small side. He'll have time to grow into it before doing any serious backpacking.

    I also agree with another reviewer that the buckles are hard to open and the belt and shoulder strap foam is stiff. The foam and buckles may "wear in" to an acceptable feel and workability so we'll give it a try since the rest of the pack is solid for a starter backpack. The fabric seems pretty rugged, the pack comes with a lifetime warranty and it has most of the basic features.

    I wish it had a waist belt pocket, the side mesh water bottle pockets are small (you can fit a quart size Nalgene bottle through the top opening but the mesh pocket could be bigger/wider/deeper so it fits in better) and the bottom straps are *just* big enough to haul a sleeping pad.

    None of the shortcomings are deal-breakers (so far) and the price was right so we'll give it a try.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2