JanSport Klamath 55 Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. You can rack up some big mileage on the trail when you have the support, stability and durability of JanSport's Klamath 55 backpack to see you through each mile in comfort.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by weekender from Colorado on Monday, March 23, 2015
    We took the pack out for a three day in the mountains. It was spacious and durable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Outdoorguru from NC on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    Superb for the money
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lmcclun from California on Sunday, February 8, 2015
    I should have actually looked at the measurements, as I assumed when it said 55, it meant it would pack 55 pounds. The packs are well made and for the price, I will make them work.
  • Reviewed by RamonVT from Vermont on Saturday, January 4, 2014
    Great backpack for day trips or short treks
  • Reviewed by Old Scouter from Kansas on Monday, November 4, 2013
    Online description was not accurate and a little misleading as to size and features. Other than that product seem OK. Loaned it to a Scout for a weekend hike, will know more when he gets back. I have purchased several packs online for my own use and family plus Boy Scouts in my Troop. Can't really compare until you live with one for a few miles. Bought it for a loaner,but seems like it would work for me if it were a little longer in torso.
    Worth the money and I am satisfied so far
  • Reviewed by Ed from Broadview Heights on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    http://www.jansport.com/js_product_detail.php?pid=TVU5
  • Reviewed by Ed from Broadview Heights on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    I bought this for my first year Boy Scout and, as a previous reviewer noted, the specs are incorrect. In addition to what they noted, it's a single aluminum stay and not dual. It definitely fits a shorter torso although the waist belt is almost a little too large for my son, although he's on the small side. He'll have time to grow into it before doing any serious backpacking.

    I also agree with another reviewer that the buckles are hard to open and the belt and shoulder strap foam is stiff. The foam and buckles may "wear in" to an acceptable feel and workability so we'll give it a try since the rest of the pack is solid for a starter backpack. The fabric seems pretty rugged, the pack comes with a lifetime warranty and it has most of the basic features.

    I wish it had a waist belt pocket, the side mesh water bottle pockets are small (you can fit a quart size Nalgene bottle through the top opening but the mesh pocket could be bigger/wider/deeper so it fits in better) and the bottom straps are *just* big enough to haul a sleeping pad.

    None of the shortcomings are deal-breakers (so far) and the price was right so we'll give it a try.
  • Reviewed by Climber M from NH and KY on Monday, February 11, 2013
    I have owned many packs by Dana, Marmot, BD, North Face, etc and am a rock and ice climbing guide. I bought this pack for a 12 year old just getting into backpacking since it would fit and has in theory enough capacity and features. Problem is, it takes all my finger strength and a full pinch and two hands just to open the belt buckle. No way could a kid do it. The smaller buckles are not much better. The general design of the pack is pretty good though. I could replace the belt buckle hardware but some of the other hardware is sewn on. The belt and shoulder strap foam is also VERY stiff and non compliant. Too bad a nice design is ruined by cheap materials. Will be sending back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grandma from St. Cloud,MN on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    good color, won't show dirt
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ilene Onyu from Michigan on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
    Perfect for Hiking the AT trail, Awesome price...
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #