Customer Reviews Of:
JanSport Klamath 68 Backpack - Internal Frame

Closeouts. You can rack up some big mileage on the trail when you have the support, stability and durability of JanSport's Klamath 68 backpack to see you through each mile in comfort.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews 4.307692 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by 50's hiker from NY on Friday, January 31, 2014
    Really love the many pockets, access points, and abillity to adjust to my size.
  • Reviewed by Bargain shopper from Colorado on Monday, April 29, 2013
    Don't see how these other reviews could be for this pack, as not only does it NOT have a lot of pockets, the 2 side pockets are ridiculously small (much smaller than would fit on the pack, so makes no sense) The pack itself was also smaller than I expected. While it is as much as I would want to carry on a backpacking trip, I use a pack mostly for travel abroad, and I'm not sure it will carry enough for that. There is no rain cover, which surprised me - I thought all serious packs had them. And the foam padding on the shoulder straps and waist is very stiff. While the waist probably will be okay, having these "stiff-as-a-board" masses pressing on your neck, arms and shoulders is bound to be uncomfortable for any serious carrying. And the last thing is that it's virtually impossible to release the waist clip. So far I've had to find a table edge to get the thing off - my 59-yr-old fingers can't do it . I can just imagine needing to pee in a hurry out on the trail and [...]! - no table edge!. I did get this pack at a good price (I'm sure all these issues are why it's a closeout), and am still trying to decide whether to keep it or not - it's been sitting in the box while I was away for a month. It will very likely be my last pack, and I don't want to use it and then wish I had sent it back. So - probably a decent pack for the money, but - I'd keep shopping if you are a serious pack user.
  • Reviewed by Dinosandra from Colorado on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    Absolutely perfect! I am 5'4 and 130 lbs. It is the perfect size and will do wonderfully for short backpacking trip. It expands great! Has a lot of pockets for many little items of use. Gonna start backpacking soon when the snow melts a little bit. Extremely excited to use it!
  • Reviewed by Molly--Scout mom from Texas on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    The backpack arrived quickly and as described. I bought it for my son to use on a Boy Scout backpacking trip this weekend. We have yet to use it, but he has tried it on and seems pleased with it. He likes the fact that it has many pockets, loops for hanging last minute items, and an airflow padded insert for his back to keep him cooler. The buckles are a little tight (difficult to undo hook), but we're hoping that's only because it's brand new and they will be easier to use as he breaks it in. I'll try and update more after his trip this weekend.
  • Reviewed by Ron Camper from TN on Monday, February 11, 2013
    Fist off let me say im a 6'2" man with a wide chest and shoulders. I have a 36" pant size and thins pack fit fine. The waist adjusted to fit and tighten up around me to support the weight of the pack. The shoulder padding can be about 1" longer than whats there for extra comfort. But if you are carrying it on your hips as you should be its just fine.
    The material is very waterproof and the zippers are all seamed but are not very water proof. I tested this out with a water bottle. The seamed zippers did keep the water out but i would say if you were in a down pour get a rain cover to be extra safe. But this would do great in a light rain. The main compartment is totally water proof with two tightening straps to lock out water.
    Of note: The straps are really cool looking being off white against black but they do get dirty kinda easy. Have to wash the straps after your adventure.

    For half the price of Osprey try this out. !!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lee from RV from Rural Valley PA on Thursday, November 15, 2012
    Not a heavy duty pack. Zippers are small as compared to heavy duty packs I own.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jcva from richmond on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
    I took this backpack on a 14 mile overnight hike. It is highly adjustable, though it might be intended for smaller people. I'm 5'10" 160lbs. I had it adjusted near it's maximum size. If you're a big guy, I would avoid this pack. Otherwise it's a fantastic backpack... sturdy constuction yet lightweight, lots of pockets and compression straps, highly adjustable, and very comfortable. The padding has grooves that allow airflow between you and the pack
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by aubryholman from Tallahassee, FL on Thursday, October 13, 2011
    I was slightly nervous about buying based on other reviews about it being made for small framed individuals, but once I got it on, I loved it. I'm 5'9", 180 lbs and my spouse is 5'9", 170 lbs, both of us wore this bag and found it fit nicely and was comfortable. This pack has plenty of room and easily holds gear/food/water for a 10 day trip. Plenty of straps for holding wet rainfly or something you want to remain within easy reach. The top is removeable and fully adjustable, so I can cram a lot at the top of the bag without worrying about closing the bag or squishing to items. Overall, it's a fantastic pack, at a fantastic price, and it has a lifetime warranty.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes, Heavy Loads, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiking Hunter from Northern Arizona on Saturday, August 27, 2011
    Used for 2-3 day hikes in Colorado. Plenty of room, plenty of ways to adjust it for the perfect fit. I am 5' 4" smaller frame man, good fit for me. I have owned another Jansport day pack for the past 20 years and used it avidly, it has now been passed onto my son for school and continues to hold up well. Durability is a good definition for the Jansport items I have owned.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Grand Rapids, Michigan on Thursday, August 25, 2011
    The backpack was a gift and he couldn't be happier.
    • Best Uses: Extended Hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2