J. G. Glover began as a family run, hand-frame knitting business in the late 18th century. For seven generations the company was based in Wigston, Leicestershire, knitting and trading in hosiery and textiles. J. G. Glover now produces five and seven gauge knitwear that's finished to the highest standards and crafted of natural fibers and blends that bespeak the company's roots. Made for both men and women in classic and contemporary styles, J. G. Glover draws from centuries of artistic experience while keeping an eye toward future innovations.

About the J.G. Glover & CO. Brand

11 Likes
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 345
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by US GI from Western Montana on Wednesday, August 10, 2016
    Great sweater but runs small. Buy 1 size up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZAnn from Arizona on Friday, July 22, 2016
    I love the stitching in the sweater and the nice collar. The sleeve length makes it nice when working. The poncho style is very comfortable and looks great
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZAnn from Arizona on Thursday, July 21, 2016
    Great sweater. Love the stitching details. Back is really nice. comfortable fit and feel
  • Reviewed by US GI from Montana on Friday, July 15, 2016
    Wonderful material but runs a little small.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boisemom from Boise on Monday, July 11, 2016
    Liked the color & weave, but the sweater bunched in an odd way across the chest (at the edges, really) , despite the shoulders fitting. Returned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AZAnn from Arizona on Monday, July 4, 2016
    Really well made, super fit, and warmth+. Lots of compliments, too. This one should last forever. You can't beat Peregrine for quality [have a few of their other products] and this one is up to their usual high standards.
  • Reviewed by Laney from NL on Monday, June 13, 2016
    Liked the sweater so much a bought a second color which fit the same.I normally wear a large (38 in. bust) and the overall fit is amply roomy without being voluminous. I do like the versatility of charcoal and beige colors. The sleeves came just to my wrist. I am 5ft 6in. Excellent with boots and leggings. The XL (size 16) would definitely have been too big.
  • Reviewed by TT97 from VA on Saturday, May 21, 2016
    I worried about sizing and almost didn't buy it for that reason. I'm a 38S (5'9", 158 lbs) in suits and a 15/32 in dress shirts. The medium fits me very well. I have a thick chest and shoulders (lots of pullups) and flat stomach but am not at all "jacked"--and the fit for both areas is spot-on. Not tight at all but not blousy. It is sort of a relaxed fit down at the sides, but that works for this sweater, being so cozy and professorial.

    The sleeves on me are slightly long; I have to turn up the ends--but I have to do with just about every sweater I own. If my arms were any shorter, I could get a part on Game of Thrones. The hem (torso) hangs to the top 1/3 of my rump--right where it should. SO glad I didn't buy the large size! I suspect the small (had it been available) might also have worked.

    As someone noted, the material is soft (being new merino wool, as stated on the tag) and not super-thick, like some Nordic sweaters. More like a shaker knit; held up to the light, you can indeed see through it. But in my book, that's a good thing, because most office buildings are overheated in the fall and winter.

    The leather patches are a little far down, starting just above the elbow bone and extending partly down my forearm, but that also is not bad, because I'm always putting my forearms on the keyboard/desk/table. So this will probably prevent snags/wear. And you don't really notice them in this color; the brown patches blend in with the tan.

    The color of the tan version is almost a deep olive--not green at all but about the darkest tan you could imagine. I like it a lot.

    If there's a slightly weak point, it would be the buttons; close-up, you can tell they're not woven leather but a printed plastic, or perhaps wood. Not a big deal. They seem to be attached securely; time will tell.

    Very happy with this sweater!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold in California from CA on Monday, April 25, 2016
    I purchased one in each color, the sleeve length was shorter on one than the other. Niether could be rolled as shown in the picture. The model must have short arms . . . On a positive note the sweaters are a terrific weight and nice colors. I plan to keep both.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susan from Sacramento on Monday, April 11, 2016
    This sweater fits nicely, is excellent quality, and I expect it to last many years. I needed a warm sweater but did not want to be a made-in-China or otherwise poor quality item. The XS was perfect. I am 5'5", 112 lbs.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 345
;