Customer Reviews Of:
J.G. Glover Hampton Dry Waxed Cotton Coat (For Women)

Closeouts. Inspired by the classic riding coat, J.G. Glover's Hampton coat is the perfect addition to days spent outdoors. Dry, waxed cotton offers exceptional thorn-proof and waterproof qualities while maintaining its easy-care properties.

  • Interior thigh straps hold coat close to body on windy days
  • Corduroy-lined collar
  • Gusseted cuffs with zip
  • Two-way partial zip front with snap storm flap
  • Flannel-lined chest pockets
  • Snap flap pockets with corduroy trim
  • Back vent with snaps
  • Center vent
  • Length: 45-½"
  • Weight: 2 lb. 3 oz.
  • Fabric: Waxed cotton
  • Lining: Upper body is cotton; lower body and sleeves are nylon
  • Care: Machine wash/dry
  • By J.G. Glover of England
  • Classic Fit
  • Made in England.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews 3.823529 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by jetmarch from Wenatchee, WA on Friday, November 30, 2012
    This is a beautiful coat. Some other reviews say the coat it too small, but it is way large for me. It seems to be more similar to a men's medium. I got a medium, wear a size 8-10 or med shirt/sweater, and I could get lost in this coat and never found again. Sadly, I must return it. This would be the perfect coat to wear for horsepacking. Light, sturdy, all the snaps and buckles to protect the chaps and most of the saddle.
  • Reviewed by Leslie the horse rider from Ann Arbor, Michigan on Sunday, December 4, 2011
    I plan to use this to ride my horse in the rain, the use it is intended for. However, even though I am small on top and usually wear a medium and sometimes even a small (6-8), I find the large to be a bit tight on top. My friend, who also got the coat, sent hers back to get an extra large. I would too but they seem to be out of extra large size.
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Runs Small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by iluvdogs from midwest on Wednesday, March 30, 2011
    I wouldn't pay $20. for this on a sale rack. Poor cut, cheap feel to the fabric. I'm used to the Barbour brand this is defintely not in the same league. Save you money [...]don't bother with this one.
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Poor Quality, Unattractive, Unflattering Shape
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gael from Boston, Ma on Monday, January 10, 2011
    See above. It's difficult to rate the product accurately w/o a good fit.
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Runs Small
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NaNa from Seattle on Monday, December 6, 2010
    Attractive lightweight brown fabric. Doesn't feel at all waxy (and no wax odor). Torso area is an attractive style, except for the fit of the shoulders. Garment shoulders very sloped, much more than mine, so that it felt a little uncomfortable and the pulling created a few wrinkles. Skirt of the coat looks odd because doesn't meet in the front. Probably good for horseback riding. I'm returning it.
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Claire from Washington, DC on Thursday, April 1, 2010
    I have wanted one of these raincoats for years. The classic design never goes out of style. It wears like iron and goes well a full range of casual clothes, from jeans to wool trousers.
    Very well made.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Outdoor Activities, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Good Cut
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Horse Gal from Larkspur, CA on Tuesday, March 2, 2010
    Runs small, decent fit everywhere but shoulders, where coat pulls down and can be uncomfortable. Those with slight shoulders should do fine. Nice brown color, looks good on.
    • Best Uses: Bad Weather, Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Flattering shape
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dog lover from New York on Monday, March 1, 2010
    I anticipate enjoying the coat in spring/rainy weather. Other colors available would be great.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Outdoor Activities
    • Cons: Runs Small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by two ys from Iowa on Thursday, February 18, 2010
    This is a very stylish coat although the sizing runs small. I wanted it for rainy cool days in the outdoors. Great for this.
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cut, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Willy from Michigan on Monday, February 1, 2010
    One of the most versatile, all-around coats I've EVER had. Classy. Chic. Dress it up. Dress it down.Stylish. This one's special. As my Grandma used to say: "You won't meet yourself comin' down the street in this one."
    • Best Uses: Anytime, anywhere, Daily Use, Going Out, Outdoor Activities, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Good Cut, Lightweight, Versatile, Warm, Well Made
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2