John Partridge Classic Duffle Coat - Virgin Wool (For Women)

Closeouts. Nothing even comes close to the quality of a genuine English duffle coat, and John Partridge spares no expense in crafting this magnificent specimen in a gorgeous double-sided virgin wool milled in Italy.

  • John Partridge apparel is designed with passion, made with pride, and sought after by customers who love the country lifestyle and the distinctive clothing styles that come with it
  • Handmade in London
  • Gorgeous double-sided fabric milled in Florence, Italy
  • Two-piece pancake hood with side adjustment
  • Leather horn-toggle closure with full zip underneath
  • Fixed saddle shoulder
  • Beautifully finished plaid interior with bound seams
  • Interior zip pocket and phone pocket
  • Designed to be worn oversized
  • Length: 39" (based on size 38)
  • Fabric: 80% wool, 20% nylon
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Classic Fit
  • Made in UK

Average Rating based on 59 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 59 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HawkMoss from Chicago, Illinois-USA on Friday, March 23, 2012
    This duffle coat is a tried and true classic. If ordered a bit large one can wear a light sweater or blazer beneath. It is a coat that I would travel with in both urban and country exploration. Pockets can hold quite a bit without bulging, the hood is correctly sized, and the length allows freedom of movement.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Classic Style, Comfortable, Good Weight, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lynn from Long Island from Long Island, NY on Tuesday, September 20, 2011
    I just received the coat. Haven't worn it yet so i can't comment on durability, The fabric feels wonderful. It's 100% wool which is a rare find these days.
    I am 5'2" tall, the coat hits me just below the knee. I wear a size 10/12. My coat is a size 10 and fits perfectly. There is room to wear a mid-weight sweater under it.

    The only reason i gave it 4 rather than 5 stars is because i haven't worn it yet. If it wears like it looks it will be a 5 star winner.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Too early to tell
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kateryna from Ocala, FL on Saturday, August 27, 2011
    Very cood communication. [...]. Thanks for your business.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Special Occasions
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by catlady from Charlestown, RI on Monday, May 09, 2011
    Loved the coat, I am in-between sizes, 38 too big in the shoulders, 36 was snug in the hips. Loved the quality of the material and the extras in this coat.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Margaret Mary from Oak Brook, IL on Monday, May 02, 2011
    The double layer with the plaid inner design and blue outer color.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to Church, Wear to School
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Nice Color, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Slowcooker from Boston, MA on Tuesday, April 19, 2011
    I had ordered the Gloverall Duffle coat, but returned it because it was tight. (Otherwise it was just what I wanted). Because it was not available in the next size, I ordered the John Partridge Classic Duffle. The descriptions were almost identical, so I was unhappily surprised to find a light weight "jacket" missing all the detail that I had come to expect in English duffle coats. It did not have a plaid self lining, the material feels like felt, the sleeves are plain, no buttoned tabs, flimsy hood [...]I cannot recommend this coat. It was not worth the "bargain price"!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Not Warm, Poor Quality
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by catlady from Charlestown, RI on Monday, April 18, 2011
    Loved the coat, I usually take a size 12(us) the coat fit in the hips and waist but was large in the chest and arm length, loved the extras on the coat, sent back the size 12 will try a size 10(us).
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Sizing is inaccurate
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DC10 from Narragansett R.I. on Monday, April 18, 2011
    By other reviews I was afraid this coat would be to small so I ordered a 12 , I would have been fine with a size 10. I am 5'6 and weigh 135. Hope this helps others. Nicely made but not tapered.
    • Best Uses: Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aussie shopper from Victoria Australia on Tuesday, March 29, 2011
    I am extremely happy with my purchase. The coat is a beautiful quality and I anticipate many varied occasions where I will be able to wear this beautiful coat proudly.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Capo from New Brunswick Canada on Monday, March 28, 2011
    This is mt second coat, just new colour. My mom bought one as well after she saw mine.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom in IL from Aurora, IL on Wednesday, March 02, 2011
    I am so glad I bought this coat. I read the reviews and got a size up and couldn't be more pleased. It fits well over a sweater and keeps out the wind and cold. The quality is fabulous and it is such a classic style I will have it for years.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sheltielove from Lehigh Valley, PA on Sunday, February 20, 2011
    Very classically styled. Not trendy at all. Wondering if I should have gotten one of the lighter colors (I got the coat in Navy) but I was worried about it showing dirt. I'm sure I will grow to like this high quality coat. It's just not terribly stylish and a little hard to get used to the lenghth and cut.
    • Best Uses: Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jan from WI on Saturday, February 19, 2011
    Great classic coat at a great price. I will have this coat for many years.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunny Skies from Charleston, SC on Tuesday, February 15, 2011
    The coat is very well made and has wonderful tailoring details. I ordered my size and it felt tight for a winter coat. I took the advice of another person and ordered two sizes up. Now I can wear a bulky sweater underneath with comfort. One size up may have worked as well, but with the coat design, the extra room is welcomed.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ellie from Sacramento on Monday, February 14, 2011
    I wear EURO 36, to I ordered size 34 and 36 and thought I would keep 34 because ppl said it runs large. They were both large and then I researched more and found on some British site claiming the size is "chest" size (eg. 34", 32", etc). So of course the 36" won't fit. I returned both and excharged for 32", which is my chest size. It fits like charm and I don't look boxy in it. I can even wear sweater and many layers in it. But if you live in snow blizzarding states, you can order one chest size up so you can fit more under the coat.I ended up returning my coat because the removeable throat tab was missing ( I noticed mine was a return since there were dog hairs all over the coat)[...]I would recommnd this coat to others because this coat is truely becautiful. But please bear in mind the size is referred to chest size, not euro size.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LB from VA on Monday, February 14, 2011
    It is a great product. I have one myself and this is for my wife.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cool in the Mid-Atlantic States from Greenwood, DE on Wednesday, February 09, 2011
    This coat feels and looks great.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick9651 from Anchorage, AK on Tuesday, February 08, 2011
    Very nicely finished garment.
    Suggest buying actual size needed as the fit does not seem generous. First coat sent was returned for size larger.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work, WinterStormy Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, classic styling, Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jan from Wisconsin on Tuesday, February 08, 2011
    Just a warm. classic coat that can dress up or down but will keep you warm, and dry, in the worst of snow storms.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm, WONDERFUL
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Queenie from Mankato, MN on Monday, February 07, 2011
    [...] it was too snug around my hips. This coat is exceptionally well tailored. My gentleman friend was so impressed with it that he ordered the men's version for himself, and it fit him like a glove. He is so happy, and I am so sad that there wasn't a size 16 available for me. Please tell the company to make some bigger sizes for women!
    • Best Uses: Best all around coat, Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Sizing too small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Tailoring and quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Slowcooker from Boston, MA on Wednesday, February 02, 2011
    I was told the coats (duffle) were over-sized, but I didn't find it so. I will be returning this coat for the next size up as I anticipate that will fit correctly.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunny Skies from Charleston, SC on Tuesday, February 01, 2011
    This is a beautiful coat but it seems to run small from the shoulders to the hips. I ordered my regular size and it was not comfortable. [...] So, I returned the coat and am trying 2 sizes larger. Hopefully that will give me plenty of room for layered winter wear. If not, the returns are expensive.
    • Best Uses: Wear To Work
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by out and about from Vancouver, WA on Tuesday, February 01, 2011
    Classic casual coat for daily use.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ely from Philly, pa on Monday, January 31, 2011
    Nice coat, wool inner and outer, remarkable stitching and seams.
    • Best Uses: Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elle Belle from NY on Saturday, January 29, 2011
    A beautiful wool coat, nice and thick and warm to block out the wind in upstate NY. I did not rate this with 5 stars because the hood is a little small and slightly pulls on my big head. However, the overall quality of the coat outweighs this one very small annoyance. Such a deal!
    • Best Uses: Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shopping girl from Dudley, MA on Thursday, January 27, 2011
    I was concerned because I normally wear a petite size. The sleeves were perfect for me (I'm 5'3") but would probably be short for taller women.
    The length is perfect but I did go up a size after reading reviews and that worked out perfectly.
    The quality of the wool is very good.
    I've been looking for a good duffle coat for a couple years so I was thrilled to find one of such good quality. I think she might want to change the leather on the toggles to be a bit softer though.
    Another good feature is the zip front in addition to the toggle buttons. I would also like to see knit cuffs on the under side of the sleeves for added warmth. Overall, the coat is great!
    I would definitely recommend it. I wear it nearly every day.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, every day wear
    • Cons: No knit cuffs under sleev, Stiff leather on toggles
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Nice quality wool, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by A friend from Rangeley , ME on Wednesday, January 26, 2011
    Wonderful investment! Totally pleased! A classic style that will last and made better than any piece of clothing I have purchased in years.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tm from Buffalo, NY on Tuesday, January 18, 2011
    [...]
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Ohio Finn from Cleveland, Ohio on Monday, January 17, 2011
    This coat is high quality that we seldom see in ready to wear. Good plaid lining with useful inner pockets. Had to order a size up to feel comfortable in the hip area.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Slimmer than most coats
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Small around hips, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tee from Valley Forge PA on Wednesday, January 12, 2011
    Good basic coat. Warm, all occasion winter weight outerwear. This and a coat for winter active wear covers all of my needs.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Cons: No cons noted
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 59 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.