• John Partridge Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 120
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ThriftyGranny from Texas on Tuesday, November 17, 2015
    Ordered in size 0 for tall women (even though I am not tall, but do have long arms). Except for the hips being very narrow the fit was good (and I am not hippy at all). The coat is beautiful and well made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Linda Shopper from Los Angeles on Monday, November 16, 2015
    Got this coat for my son. It is beautiful, well made, fits great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oldbailey from Alabama on Wednesday, November 4, 2015
    The coat arrived on time it was well packed,the package also contained a return label,in the event there was a problem.
    The coat is fairly heave,tightly woven wool making it waterproof.I ordered the coat a size larger in order to us it as a foul weather overcoat.The coat fits fine over a suit coat.
    The only thing I would change is,I would put a strip of velcro down the front in order to fasten the coat quickly,without dealing with the buttons.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deb from New Hampshire on Tuesday, April 14, 2015
    I have wanted a duffle coat for decades,and this is perfect.
    What a price!I got the navy which I am happy with. I am 5'2"115 lb. The 32 short worked-I could not have gone smaller,and larger would have been more baggy which I did not need.Coat hit right at top of my knee and sleeve came to just below wrist bone. Love the horn- toggle front.I was comfortable in a 28 degree windy day where I was standing around- wearing a blouse-no sweater underneath--yeah!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by we track in everything... from WNC on Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    Only reason we did not give this five(5) stars is because husband has not worn the coat yet! Grew up with these style coats in Yankee Land and glad to see them back available to us in the 21st century at such a good price. Wife wears old one from high school(60's) for working in the yard; and that is why husband was envious and had to find one for himself. Thank you, Sierra!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MMHESQ from Baltimmore, MS on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    Originally ordered the Navy in 44, thinking that it would give me a bit of room for my size 42 suit/sport coats/heavy sweaters. The 44 was HUGE, and my kids actually fit inside it with me. Was able to exchange, effortlessly, as always for the last camel coloured duffle coat in a size 40. Fits perfectly, not too long, not too short. The quality is super and the value is outstanding, so together you have a win-win. More pockets, perhaps, but then it takes away from the "old school" traditional look and feel of the duffle I wore as a kid too many decades ago to state here. the two outside pockets are roomy and well sewn. I recall reading reviews about the leather fasteners tearing. A word to the wise, when you get into your vehicle, bus, plane, or whatever mode of transportation, unbutton the bottom horn and you have alleviated the issue of ripping the leather. The hood is substantial, though a little Red Riding Hood for me. The storm flap is a nice touch and the 30% blend of nylon etc. adds to the resiliency of the wool and a bit of rain/snow repellant. I found it warm for blustery Baltimore and equally at home in Washington, DC where I received numerous comments on the coat and the colour. It brought smiles to the faces of the "Old Washingtonians" who said things like, reminds me of the coat I wore at Andover and such. I really love the coat for all the reasons above and it true quality and yes, I do relish in the nostalgic feel of wearing one after all these years. My 25 year old green waxed Barbour is finally getting a break this season!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NewMeme from Victoria, Texas on Sunday, March 1, 2015
    Love the fit, color, and style. I will buy another in a different color.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jon from Mass on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    This is my first duffle coat and it's a great one. I typically wear 38R and usually need to shorten the sleeves. With this coat, the sleeves were just perfect. There is plenty of room inside for a thicker sweater underneath. Recently, we had 10 degree weathers in New England, with below zero wind chill factor. This coat with the hood over my head kept me warm. The only thing that I would ask for is to relocate the inside pocket. Currently, it's in the lower left side. If it's at chest level it would have been great for a cell phone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Top Mom from Minnesota on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    I just bought my third duffle coat, and this is the second one from John Partridge. Because this coat accommodates layers, it serves me well at temperatures at 0 and above. If it had an insulated lining, I would rate it at a full 5 stars, but it is not quite able to keep me warm during the coldest MN winter days. I like the length, the sturdy hood, and the double closure--zipper and toggles. Sizing is accurate, as long as I remember that the coat is made to allow a heavy sweater or blazer to fit comfortably under it.
  • Reviewed by ploeg from Central NJ on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    The most useful way to think of this coat is as a substantial, well-constructed wool-blend blanket with arms and a hood. It's not a parka. It doesn't have a nylon shell to repel wind and rain, and it doesn't have poly-fill to keep you toasty during arctic blasts. It's wool/polyester blend and more wool/polyester blend. Depending on how warm you typically run and how active you are, it's probably good enough to keep you warm to about 10deg Fahrenheit by itself, or to even colder if you wear appropriate layers underneath (and you purchase a size to accommodate those layers).

    Size 48 of this coat is 42" from neck to hem and weighs 2kg even (4lbs 6oz). I'm 6'3", and the coat hits my leg just above the knee, and the lowest toggle is approximately level with my navel. This allows me to sit down with the lowest toggle fastened. If I had a shorter torso, I probably would not want to have the lowest toggle fastened when I sit down. The toggles are sewn securely to the coat, but if you break a toggle, it would be a lot harder to replace the toggle than it would be to replace a button.

    The hood has no drawstring, so the only way to secure the hood to your head is by using the throat latch. You probably want some form of head covering in addition to the hood (such as a watch cap or beanie).

    The coat has two external patch pockets and one internal patch pocket. More pockets would be good.

    The sleeves don't have a smooth lining, so your arms don't slide into the sleeves so easily if you have a think layer on.

    I don't know that I would call this a $600 value. If you could buy only one winter coat, this is a little too casual to be a good choice, but if you already have a primary winter coat, this makes a nice alternative.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 120
;